Hydrogen: Is it worth it? Essay

Hydrogen: Is it worth it? Essay

Length: 642 words (1.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Hydrogen, number one on the Periodic Table of elements, and the most common element on our planet Earth. It may come as a surprise to many, or maybe not at all, that hydrogen could be used as a form of fuel for things such as trucks and cars.
It is no new news that Hydrogen can be used as a fuel, since it has been on rockets as they are pushed out of orbit. Now all we have to do is figure out a way to be able to use it in our everyday lives. The good thing about Hydrogen is that it can be used in internal combustion engines like the ones we use today with our gasoline-powered cars. Hydrogen has a high amount of energy in its chemical bond, liquid Hydrogen boils at –252.77 degrees Celsius, and has a density of 70.99 g/l. Because of these characteristics, Hydrogen has the highest energy-to-weight-ratio of all fuels; one kilogram of Hydrogen has the same amount of energy as 2.8 kilograms of gasoline.
As of right now, gasoline is the main source of fuel for the transportation we use in the United States, and the world. Gasoline comes from petroleum that we mine from outside of our country and then have shipped back, and refined to make the clear substance we fill our cars with. Once in the system, the way it powers the vehicle is through the internal combustion engines all of our cars are equipped with. What the engine does is pretty simple once you think about it. It compresses a mixture of air and gasoline into a small and enclosed space, then ignites it, which releases energy for movement, but results in carbon dioxide as a by-product.
Hydrogen can be used in one of two ways. The first, the same way as you would use gasoline, in an internal combustion engine. The other would be in a fuel cell to produce electricity. When in a...


... middle of paper ...


...Cell Electric Vehicles." Alternative Fuels Data Center:. U.S. Department of Energy, n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013. http://www.afdc.energy.gov/vehicles/fuel_cell.html

Lampton, Christopher. "How Hydrogen Cars Work." HowStuffWorks. Discovery, n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013. http://auto.howstuffworks.com/fuel-efficiency/hybrid-technology/hydrogen-cars.htm

Brain, Marshall. "How Car Engines Work." HowStuffWorks. Discovery, n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013. http://auto.howstuffworks.com/engine1.htm

"Hydrogen Fuel Cost vs Gasoline." HES Hydrogen RSS. Hydrogen, n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013. http://heshydrogen.com/hydrogen-fuel-cost-vs-gasoline/

Preston, Benjamin. "How an Internal Combustion Engine Works." Wheels How an Internal Combustion Engine Works Comments. The New York Times, 27 Sept. 2013. Web. 12 Nov. 2013. http://wheels.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/09/27/how-an-internal-combustion-engine-works/?_r=1

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on The Hydrogen Economy

- 1. Hydrogen Economy 1.1 Introduction Coal, oil and natural gas have been at the forefront of powering the world since the industrial revolution. Whether this power is used for new technology, transport links or energy the threat that fossil fuels has on the environment is colossal. Energy availability for the masses is the main dominant challenge in the 21st century and is driven by the world’s forever increasing population and the industrialization of developing countries (Crabtree, Dresselhaus, Buchanan, n.d.)....   [tags: coal, oil, natural gas, power]

Better Essays
1492 words (4.3 pages)

Hydrogen Vehicles and Their Delay in Production Essays

- Our Air is Our Future. Hydrogen. The latest craze these days is hybrid cars. People are looking for alternatives to their gas-guzzlers and are opting for more fuel-efficient vehicles. With the rise of gasoline prices and the ever-increasing dependence on foreign oil, something has to be done, and quick. At last, we may have finally found a solution, the hydrogen car. Will it surpass the electric and battery cars we have today. In his first term President Bush proposed $1.2 billion in research funding for hydrogen-powered automobiles....   [tags: Electricity, Expensive, Costs]

Better Essays
592 words (1.7 pages)

Essay on The Hydrogen Secret

- The world is developing at a faster rate than ever before. As a result natural resources continue to be exhausted worldwide. Oil, once an abundant resource in the earth, is depleting at an ever growing rate. Oil costs continue to rise as the world depends on it more and more. Governments are investing billions of dollars every year into alternate energy research with hydrogen as the front runner. This is free money companies are receiving to research and develop hydrogen-powered vehicles. It's no wonder why people are lured into the hydrogen revolution....   [tags: Alternative Fuel Power Energy]

Free Essays
1057 words (3 pages)

The American Auto Industry Essay

- The American auto industry has had a turbulent time now with an ever constant momentum towards vehicles that are cleaner for the environment, without sacrificing the prices the consumers have grown to love, it is going to get even harder if they are unable to adapt. The marketplace for vehicles in the United Sates is insatiable, and the manufacturing of automobiles is of crucial importance to the overall financial stability of the state. However, the paradigm is under attack by foreign threat. Automobile manufactures in the US have mainly focused on their own domestic market whilst other foreign companies have begun forming in the US....   [tags: Automobile, Automotive industry, Hydrogen vehicle]

Better Essays
745 words (2.1 pages)

Essay about Fukushima Daiichi: Is It Worth it?

- The world needs to be powered. And the ever- present question in today’s world is how to get the power we need. There have been many solutions to this need for power. One of the most revolutionary was nuclear energy. Nuclear energy is created when In 2011, a tragedy struck. On March 11, 2011, an earthquake struck. Measuring at an 8.9 on the Richter scale, it was the largest earthquake in history. This earthquake was off the eastern shore of Japan, and caused a 15 meter tsunami to wash over the city of Fukushima, killing 19,000 people there....   [tags: nuclear energy, earthquake, japan]

Better Essays
1451 words (4.1 pages)

IEE Article Review: The Nuclear Fusion of a Hydrogen Atom Essay

- ... Characteristics of such a process would be clean, safe, efficient, and cost effective. The “should be” value of this process is clean energy from a resource that is not usable for any other purpose. A “should be” system would look like is obtain nuclear rod, put it into system, convert nuclear materials to energy, no waste left over. Now for the “as is” section of this process starting with understanding our purpose established in the “should be” section. The reason for the purpose is that we are slowing destroying the earth with the massive amounts of CO2 emissions and if we don’t find an alternative source for energy we will have to either give up harnessing energy all together or keep...   [tags: nuclear plant, laser, alternative fuels]

Better Essays
1821 words (5.2 pages)

Storing the Impossible: Hydrogen Essay

- Storing the Impossible: Hydrogen ("Thinkquest internet challenge," 2000) The earth’s supply of gasoline is slowly diminishing along with the cleanliness. In a desperate attempt to save precious gas, scientists have been attempting to find new ways to store and use energy. One way that scientists are consistently trying out is storing hydrogen. According to Demirbas(2001), “Because hydrogen can be easily generated from renewable energy sources and water, it has great potential as an energy source” (p....   [tags: Hydrogen]

Better Essays
1276 words (3.6 pages)

Essay Alternative Engines: Are They Worth The Struggle?

- OVERVIEW: SHOULD ENGINEERS BOTHER. Whether you drive or not, I'm sure you've noticed the sudden jump in gas prices. From hurricanes ravaging the gulf coast to the war in Iraq, and a supposed gasoline shortage, many people are left to wonder if there is any end in sight to the drastic hikes. Many people cannot afford to be driving on three dollars per gallon, so they are looking for alternatives. The development of hybrid engines, further development of diesel engines, and the possibility of hydrogen powered vehicles has brought a glimmer of hope to people around the world....   [tags: Energy Fuel Efficiency]

Free Essays
986 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on Oxides of Hydrogen

- Oxides of Hydrogen Introduction: Hydrogen atoms can react with oxygen atoms forming different compounds. There are mainly two types, one is water and the other is hydrogen peroxide. Structure: A water molecule is made up of two hydrogen atoms and one oxygen atom joining together by covalent bonds. The shape of it is bent and its bond angle is of 105°. The structure is shown below. [IMAGE] A hydrogen peroxide molecule consists of two hydrogen atoms and two oxygen atoms joined together by covalent bonds....   [tags: Hydrogen Oxides]

Better Essays
733 words (2.1 pages)

Development Of The Hydrogen Bomb Essay

- Development of the Hydrogen Bomb In the world there is little thing called power. Many countries want to have great power, few get it. Powers gave the Soviet Union and the U.S. the ability to dominate in wars. In the 1950’s during the Cold War these two countries had a race to se who could create the most powerful weapon the world has ever seen, the Hydrogen Bomb. Edward Teller, an atomic physicist, and Stanislaw Marcin Ulam, a mathematician, "who together developed the Teller-Ulam design in 1951" for the Hydrogen Bomb (Teller-Ulam Design)....   [tags: Hydrogen Bomb]

Free Essays
978 words (2.8 pages)