How Technology Changes Education Essay

How Technology Changes Education Essay

Length: 1512 words (4.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Technology in the classroom can be a good thing for many students. For example, it gives students easy access to information, but it isn’t always the best thing. Technology helps raise the illiteracy rate higher as it is used in school. In 2009, about 97 percent of classrooms had at least one computer in the classroom everyday, although approximately 54 percent could bring their own computers to their class. There was internet access available for almost 93 percent of the computers in the classrooms. Otherwise, 96 percent of the computers were brought in to the students. The average ratio of students to computers was 5.3 to 1. Since 2006 the spending rate for each school in the United States has increased about 1,250 dollars. It’s rate in 2011 was almost 10,250 dollars per pupil. Although technology can help many students and teachers, due to the fact that the use of it gets abused by some students therefore it isn’t the greatest to have at our fingertips.
Technology in classrooms is affecting our culture in great ways. A lot of people who can not go to college at the sites can do classes online. More than three-quarters of America’s colleges and universities now have online classes available. Approximately one in four college graduates, or 23%, have taken an online course. This helps you get the degrees you need at your own time rate. This is helping people get better careers day by day. Technology is not only great for the purpose of people who are out of high school, it’s great for high school students as well. During class time some students tend to fall behind and end up not understanding the subject matter completely. At this point in time with the use of computers that schools and families have students can use the comp...


... middle of paper ...


...14
"Education Spending Per Student by State." Education Spending Per Student by State. N.p., June 2013. Web. 06 Jan. 2014.
"Educational Technology." Fast Facts. N.p., n.d. Web. 06 Jan. 2014.
Elkerdi, Oubai. "Why Technology Is Not Always the Solution for Better Education." Wamda. N.p., 14 Oct. 2013. Web. 02 Jan. 2014.
Hamilton, Diane. "New Studies Show Technology to Blame for Increase in Plagiarism." - Technorati Lifestyle. N.p., 17 Sept. 2011. Web. 02 Jan. 2014.
"Pros and Cons of Allowing Digital Devices in the Classroom." Concordia University'sOnline Education Degrees. N.p., n.d. Web. 05 Jan. 2014.
Whiteside, Ragan. "Tech Learning TL Advisor Blog and Ed Tech Ticker Blogs from TL Blog Staff – TechLearning.com -." Tech Learning TL Advisor Blog and Ed Tech Ticker Blogs from TL Blog Staff – TechLearning.com -. N.p., 23 Nov. 2009. Web. 02 Jan. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

How Technology Changes Education Essay

- Technology in the classroom can be a good thing for many students. For example, it gives students easy access to information, but it isn’t always the best thing. Technology helps raise the illiteracy rate higher as it is used in school. In 2009, about 97 percent of classrooms had at least one computer in the classroom everyday, although approximately 54 percent could bring their own computers to their class. There was internet access available for almost 93 percent of the computers in the classrooms....   [tags: online classes, tutoring, plagiarism]

Powerful Essays
1512 words (4.3 pages)

Changes Brought Forth by the Second Industrial Revolution Essay

- Throughout the decades America has seen many changes in technology, social standards, fashion, and education, but no time proves to hold as much change as the era of the second revolutionary period. The second industrial revolution changed America in countless ways, and is in important reason why America is the way it is today. Thanks to the second industrial revolution we were able to invent billions of new things that led us to the technology we all know and love. The second industrial revolution brought many changes to America as you will see from the social progress, inventions, and workforces....   [tags: technology, social standards, fashion, education]

Powerful Essays
1021 words (2.9 pages)

Technology and Ethical Changes Essay

- In this paper I will discuss how Information technology has brought about significant societal ethical changes. Users of technology in society and business today need to be increasingly aware of the need for the ethical use of technology. Information technology (IT) users need a code of ethics developed, so that they can navigate through the ethical issues they confront while using information technology. When ethical violations occur, enforcement of the ethical standards is required. With the advancement of online education, there is a need to interpret how a code of ethics would be established within this academic environment....   [tags: societal changes, the internet]

Powerful Essays
1789 words (5.1 pages)

The Overuse of Technology Within Education Essay

- Our world is changing gradually bringing these changes into people’s daily life styles; consequently, a person’s potential to embrace these challenges and revolutionize with them has become an important factor to analyze people’s way to prepare themselves for the future. According to Gilbert Valdez, educational technology, especially computers and computer-related peripherals, have grown tremendously and have permeated all areas of our lives. It is incomprehensible that anyone today would argue that banks, hospitals, or any industry should use less technology....   [tags: technology, education, ]

Powerful Essays
1603 words (4.6 pages)

Education and Technology Essay

- Assumptions, Limitations, Scope and Delimitation The study will help establish whether participating teachers are curious and eager to learn new skills that will provide additional teaching opportunities. It is assumed that teachers are curious and eager to learn how to infuse advanced technology and also develop an understanding of instructing with available technological tools such as wireless laptop technology (Marino, Sameshima, & Beecher, 2009). The limitations are as follows: first, the amount of time available for the researcher to conduct this study, which may also limit the study’s scope to a smaller group of respondents....   [tags: Education, Computer and Technology]

Powerful Essays
1467 words (4.2 pages)

Review of Clifford Stoll's Article "Cyberschool" and Proposed Changes to Improve My College

- Many students realized that within their first two years semesters of college, the workload is inevitably heavier and even overwhelming than when they were in high school. After reading “Cyberschool” by Clifford Stoll, there is a shocking point that he makes very obvious to his readers. Stoll implies that what his essay is about is not to be taking into consideration because he pokes fun at the idea of the cyber-schooling. Cyber-schooling consists of each student having their own computer; all teachers are fired and retrained to become data entry clerks that answer student’s emails....   [tags: higher education, technology]

Powerful Essays
1106 words (3.2 pages)

Changes in the Classroom and Education System Essay

- Going to school and getting a great education is important for a successful future in today’s world. Years ago, many children did not go to school and many young adults opted to work instead of attending college. In today’s society, gaining a high level of education is almost always mandatory for many jobs. There are many changes being done to the education system along with new items and ways of teaching in the classroom. There is a growing amount of changes in the classroom such as technology, teaching time, teaching styles, and freedom of space....   [tags: extending the school year ]

Powerful Essays
1302 words (3.7 pages)

Technology in Education Essay

- How to best educate youth is a question that has been around forever and will never go away. There have been many debates about what way is the most efficient, the most effective. What is the best class size. What student-to-teacher ratio works best. How long should students be in school each day. Should students have a summer break or attend school year round. Education is an immensely vital subject, and thus one that will always create questions. These questions change as the world transforms....   [tags: Educational Technology ]

Powerful Essays
1804 words (5.2 pages)

Technology and Education Essay

- Technology and Education When I first stepped foot into a Towson University classroom I was surprised by what I saw. What I saw was something I thought only belonged in corporate meeting rooms. This device I speak of was a digital overhead projector. For me this was something new and very exciting. Where I went to school the idea of technology was a television with a VCR on a rolling stand. This change in technology was far superior than I had ever imagined and this is why I was I chose this topic to research....   [tags: essays papers]

Powerful Essays
1184 words (3.4 pages)

Technology in Education Essay

- Technology in Education In our lives today we expect technology to make a difference, and particularly in furthering our education. We see technologies effects as beneficial. We look for it to change, and improve, what has come before it. Technology is the set of means without which certain kinds of constructive activity would be almost impossible. It supports our efforts to appeal to different learning styles which give us a way to interact with each other and extend the learning experiences. It is a good way to extend the essential skills and knowledge of students....   [tags: Technological Classroom Computers Essays]

Powerful Essays
2613 words (7.5 pages)