How Gun Owners Are Portrayed In Our Society Essay

How Gun Owners Are Portrayed In Our Society Essay

Length: 1672 words (4.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview


Our society forms their own beliefs on groups of people based on what only a small percentage of that certain group is like. They rarely ever look past the popular stereotypes. Our society judges anything based on what their first experiences were like. If a person were to be bitten by a dog they may feel uneasy around dogs for the simple reason that they fear what they have experienced and do not want to repeat their experience. Unfortunately this is the case with gun owners and they need to be better understood.

The three most common misconceptions and stereotypes that are given to gun owners is that they are Irresponsible, rednecks, and that they are paranoid,. I believe that this group of people needs to be better understood for the simple reason that they are not anything close to what they are perceived to be. They are a community that not only consists of gun owners, but everyday people. Everyday people that consists majorly out of law abiding citizens. I believe that gun owners should be given a second opinion by the public instead of being criminalized only for practicing a right that was developed by our founding fathers years ago only to keep it alive for others to enjoy. People are quick to judge what they do not understand, and do not understood that not every gun owner is irresponsible and even unworthy of owning something that brings them joy. A common misinterpretation of the gun community is that they are just a bunch of uneducated rednecks and are simply a degeneration to our society. Another stereotype that gun owners are given is that they are a bunch of paranoid rights activists who feel the government is out to get them, at times they may even be called preppers (Things That Kill People, 2013). These are t...


... middle of paper ...


...graphics. Statistic Barn. 28 April 2013. Web 03 February 2014. http://www.statisticbrain.com/gun-ownership-statistics-demographics/

History of the Firearm. Wikipedia. 28 January 2014. Web 03 February 2014.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_the_firearm


Things That Kill People More Than Guns and Why I Don’t Care. Logical Outlook. 13 June 2013. Web 02 February 2014. http://thelogicaloutlook.blogspot.com/2013/06/things-that-kill-more-people-than-guns.html


Chavez, Robert. Personal Inverterview. 02 February 2014.


Barrett, Leah. “Safe Storage of Guns.” New York Times. 09 February 2014. Web 09 February 2014. http://www.nytimes.com/2014/02/10/opinion/safe-storage-of-guns.html?ref=guncontrol&_r=0


Beckman, Ralph. “Gun Safety.” Chicago Tribune. 23 January 2013. Web 06 February 2014. http://articles.chicagotribune.com/keyword/gun-safety



Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

In Favor of Gun Ownership in the US Essay example

- The ownership of a firearm should not be illegal when most gun owners are law-abiding citizens who use guns in a responsible manner. Our country’s founding fathers ratified the second amendment as a part of our Constitution in order to protect citizen’s right to bear arms and to be prepared for foreign invasion. However, currently the views on gun ownership are beginning to differ even more in urban and rural communities across America because of how each society is individually affected by the use of firearms....   [tags: Gun Control, Second Amendment, School Shootings]

Term Papers
1953 words (5.6 pages)

Gun Control and Regulation Essay

- Gun Control and Regulation The idea of gun control and regulation is becoming more and more popular throughout the U.S., although it may still bring up resistance among some people. Guns are sort of a foundation of American culture. This country's freedom was won over bloody and "heroic" wars with guns. Guns are portrayed throughout television, movies, and video games. Guns are a popular symbol of power, control, authority, dominance, and can be associated with security and defense....   [tags: Second Amendment The Right To Bear Arms]

Term Papers
1729 words (4.9 pages)

Essay about The Safety Of The Gun Owners

- CLIPFORT delivers the primary benefit Respondents seek from a gun lock -- the guarantee of safety from accidents. It puts it right next to me safe and secure – Influencer with kids, N It’s a safeguard made simple for a bad or worse moments waiting to happen – Influencer with kids, N This is safe AND secure – Gun Owners with kids, N It brings security and safety to the forefront for firearm users – Male Gun Owners no kids, D It would give me more peace of mind, like when I take my car in - Female Gun Owner no kids, N This makes me feel like I would have it on me, everyday carry – Female Gun Owner, N CLIPFORT also provides readiness -- the secondary benefit that is most often sacrificed in...   [tags: Gun, Cannon, Firearm, Handgun]

Term Papers
752 words (2.1 pages)

Gun Control And The Rights Of Gun Owners Essay

- Everyone is talking about it, it’s all over the news, in the headlines of countless stories and articles, it’s so big it’s even made its way into politics. Gun control is a very controversial topic, and currently there isn’t any solution in sight. Over the past couple of years the U.S. government and news have worked up gun control to the point that it’s becoming difficult to talk about it without upsetting someone. During all of this controversy, two main sides have become apparent. The first of which would be those that support the 2nd amendment and the rights of gun owners, and the second being the group of people that are against the 2nd amendment and the rights of gun owners....   [tags: Firearm, Crime, Gun, Law]

Term Papers
1023 words (2.9 pages)

How Technology Has Changed Today 's Society Essay

- Technology is evolving rapidly in today’s society. Different types of technology are coming into the scene. One piece that has been revealed and is used by millions of people is 3D printers. In the documentary “Print the Legend,” viewers can learn about the process of making a 3D printer and the marketing behind this piece of technology. However, there is a hidden message in the documentary “Print the Legend.” That message is no matter what obstacle you may face you can always overcome it through hard work....   [tags: Inkjet printer, 3D printing, Stereolithography]

Term Papers
828 words (2.4 pages)

Gun Control: A Big Issue in the World Today Essay

- In the past year, I am sure that you have heard about the issue of gun control. Well, do you really know the full story behind the debate. My goal for this essay is to fully explain everything to you behind this issue and why it is such a big deal in our world today. There are many different problems behind why gun control is such a big issue in the world today, and why some people want gun control and others do not. Through these contrasting opinions on gun control, the world will never fully decide what is completely right....   [tags: gun owners, self defense, gun violence]

Term Papers
913 words (2.6 pages)

The Impact Of Modern Technology On American Citizens And Responsible Gun Owners

- The New York Times states that there is approximately 33,000 plus annual gun deaths (and more than double the number of wounded). This has been a problem for some Americans because guns can sometimes end up in the wrong hands; as a result, many people die and even young Americans, who were unable to live a long life like many others because of bad ownership or sell. But it is also unfair to accuse those who are responsible owners. Likewise, American citizens have the right to own a gun and it is protected under the 2nd Amendment....   [tags: Firearm, Gun, Projectile, Handgun]

Term Papers
1003 words (2.9 pages)

How Gun Control Affects Us All Essay

- The United States wants to embrace its right to bear arm, but manage it in a way as to not affect the rights of the people. Elected officials have their work cut out for them because, as it stands right now, the changes that have been made have not stopped people from committing mass shootings and using guns in violent crimes. Recent incidents of violent gun crimes present a need to address laws pertaining to self-defense, background checks, and Second Amendment rights, without affecting the economy....   [tags: second amendment, gun owners]

Term Papers
1439 words (4.1 pages)

Should There Be Gun Control Of Our Current Day Society? Essay

- Should there be gun control in our current day society. Individuals who support the idea of gun control believe that legally acquired guns only generate further chaos in our society. The laws are simply not secure enough to prevent the guns from falling into the hands of criminal minds as well as inadequate individuals. There have been countless cases throughout the years in which homicides and massacres have been the result of legally owned guns. The fact is that people are placed at even higher risks in society due to the unpredictability of the people who own guns legally....   [tags: Firearm, Weapon, Citizenship, Gun]

Term Papers
1386 words (4 pages)

Essay on Gun Control And Gun Violence

- There are more than 44 million Americans own guns, implying that 25% of the adults in the US own guns and that 40% of the American households owning a minimum of one firearm. These gun owners normally possess 192 million firearms whereby 65 million of these firearms are handguns of all the legal owners of the guns, the main reasons for their ownership of the gun include sporting, hunting as well as home protection (McLeigh, 201-202). Among all the individuals who own the guns, 75% of them allege that self-protection is their chief reason for owning the firearm (Seabrook, 2014)....   [tags: Firearm, Gun, Firearms, Handgun]

Term Papers
1019 words (2.9 pages)