The Homeland Security Act Essay

The Homeland Security Act Essay

Length: 825 words (2.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Homeland Security Act of 2002 impacted the American people without many of them realizing it. The act called for increased monitoring of computer networks, phone lines, and online history inside the United States and allowed the government to deport suspects (ACLU). What was created by the act has snaked its way into all aspects of our lives, creating a sense of order and restricting some freedom. However, some say that this imposition into our daily lives limits our freedoms and actions allowed us by the Constitution. Many interest groups voice strong resentment for the act while others try to demonstrate the strengths and triumphs of the Homeland Security Act. This paper will show the differing viewpoints of those that feel that the act has increased order and those that feel it has not done what it was intended to do.
The Homeland Security Act was created in 2002 to try and improve coordination among the security related bureaucracies after September 11th. The act created an overarching organization that directed smaller bureaucracies such as the Transportation Security Administration, U.S. Secret Services, and the U.S. Coast Guard (Janda). As established in the act, the Department of Homeland Security’s primary mission is to “prevent terrorist attacks…reduce the vulnerability of the United States to terrorism...and…monitor connections between illegal drug trafficking and terrorism” among many other points of interest. The act gave powers to the Secretary that were to be carried out through the different subagencies (THOMAS).
There are many that find that the act is too restrictive of the freedoms of citizens. For example, the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) provides cases of what they feel is the Homeland Securit...


... middle of paper ...


...hich side is correct based on their own beliefs and the factual information that is available.


Works Cited
Albanesius, Chloe. “ACLU Sues DHS over Laptop Searches.” PCMag.com. 26 Aug. 2009. Web. 10 Feb. 2010.
American Civil Liberties Union. “Homeland Security Gave Pentagon Information on Anti-War Student Groups in California.” ACLU.com. 18 Jul. 2006. Web. 10 February 2010.
Chaddock, Gail Russell. “Security Act to Pervade Daily Lives.” Csmonitor.com. 21 Nov. 2002. Web. 10 Feb. 2010.
Fowler, Daniel. “Lawmakers Praise Obama’s Moves to Beef Up Cybersecurity.” Cqpolitics.com. 29 May 2009. Web. 10 Feb. 2010.
Global Security. “National Strategy for Homeland Security.” GlobalSecurity.com. Web. 10 Feb. 2010.
Homeland Security Act of 2002. House Rep. 107-609. 25 Nov. 2002. Web.
Linder, Doug. “Exploring Constitutional Conflicts.” Law.umkc.edu. 2009. Web. 10 Feb. 2010.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Homeland Security: The Patriot Act Essay

- The Patriot Act has been under scrutiny and opposition since its creation following 9/11. When 9/11 struck it was clear that Americas intelligence was lacking in some specific way, but it was translated that America needed greater allowance for gathering information. The Patriot Act was signed on October 26, 2001, very close to 9/11. It can be concluded that the Patriot Act was signed with such extreme ability’s applied, because of how close it was signed after 9/11. The Act Greatly expands the liberty’s if law enforcement in their efforts to gather information, which in turn imposes on the privacy of the American people....   [tags: a necessary evil?, ]

Better Essays
1103 words (3.2 pages)

Aftermath of 9/11; Congress Acts Essay

- On September 11, 2001 a national tragedy struck the nation. The terrorist group, al-Qaeda, hijacked 4 passenger airlines and performed multiple suicide attacks at locations such as New York and Washington, D.C. This event struck fear in the American people as this was the largest event that caused the highest lost of lives from a foreign attack on the country. Following the event, the national government was forced to act quickly. The incumbent president at the time, George W. Bush, was left with a difficult task on how to deal with this threat and possible future threats....   [tags: terrorism, al-Qaeda, Homeland Security Act]

Better Essays
1023 words (2.9 pages)

The Attacks on September 11th 2001 Essay

- September 11th of 2001 is a day in history that will be remembered forever. What was first thought to be a freak accident turned into a horrific nightmare for our country, America was under attack. On the morning of the attacks a group of al Qaeda terrorists took control of four commercial jetliners headed to California and purposively crashed two into the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center. The last plane fell into a Pennsylvania field never reaching its final destination, The White House. These attacks on the United States were formulated by the Islamic culture that has been planning this for many years....   [tags: twin towers, patriot act, homeland security]

Better Essays
2075 words (5.9 pages)

The Department of Homeland Security and Border Security Essay

- Over the course of the history of the United States of America, the country has had struggles with its own borders and the protection of those borders. Illegal immigration is a big problem and the smuggling of drugs, weapons, and cash over our borders into our country has evolved into a bigger problem. The United States has over seven-thousand miles of border to cover each day. That is quite a bit of land, but the only problem with this is there is a lack of manpower to cover every single mile of border....   [tags: Homeland Security]

Better Essays
1130 words (3.2 pages)

Role Of The Intelligence Community And The Homeland Security Plan Essay

- Final Assignment The role of the intelligence community, in the overall homeland security plan, is no way plays a small part. The intelligence community, in its many incarnations, takes on a significant role in the prevention, deterrence, mitigation and response to incidents of all levels. This includes crime in its various states such as murder, kidnapping, hijacking and especially terrorism. The United States government has implemented several initiatives from the lowest levels of government, to spearhead the collective use of intelligence to ensure the safety of its people....   [tags: Federal Bureau of Investigation, USA PATRIOT Act]

Better Essays
1789 words (5.1 pages)

Essay about Al-Qaeda and the US Patriot Act

- Abstract This paper is on the terrorist group Al-Qaeda and the US Patriot Act. This paper will discuss the history, ideology, structure, targets and tactics of Al-Qaeda. I will discuss the history and goals of the US Patriot Act as well as the controversy that surrounds it. Finally I will discuss how the US Patriot Act serves as a deterrent to Al-Qaeda by enhancing domestic security against terrorism, enhancing surveillance procedures and removing obstacles to investigate terrorism. I hope that after you complete your review of my paper that you will have an appreciation for the creation of the US Patriot Act, because it protects Americans by making it difficult for terrorist groups like Al...   [tags: Homeland Security ]

Better Essays
1738 words (5 pages)

The Transportation Security Administration and Airport Security Essays

- ... The only time the airport uses this type of x-ray is when a passenger is deemed suspicious or the first x-ray the passenger went through went off. If this happened a passenger would have the choice to get a pat down or get screened by the 2 Backscatter x-ray machine. The traditional x-ray machine the airport uses to check luggage is called the duel energy x-ray machine. This x-ray machine is less revealing and send out a single x-ray beam. This x-ray usually doesn't detect any organic materials such as skin, bananas and peanuts (Layton, 2007)....   [tags: homeland security, terrorist attacks]

Better Essays
1579 words (4.5 pages)

The U.S. Patriot Act and the Risk of Losing Our Civil Liberties Essay

- The U. S. Patriot Act and the Risk of Losing Our Civil Liberties Terrorism has drastically affected our recent way of life. It has disrupted our way of life by just the thought of at any moment we could be hit again. We as a people to counter act this threat we turned to laws and policies that would change our thoughts on civil liberties forever. Becoming and staying a free society is a very difficult balance in which we must maintain or security by not limiting our freedoms. Liberty in America rests on our complex constitutional system of checks and balances....   [tags: terrorism, homeland security]

Better Essays
1524 words (4.4 pages)

Securing Our Country: The Department of Homeland Security Essay

- 1.) The major laws and regulations that direct the operations of the Department of Homeland Security are as follows; the Homeland Security Act of 2002, Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004, and the Implementing Recommendations of the 9/11 Commission Act of 2007. The Homeland Security Act of 2002 was introduced after the September 11, 2001 attacks and mailing of anthrax. It was signed into law by then President George W. Bush in November 2002. It created both the United States Department of Homeland Security and the cabinet-level position of Secretary of Homeland Security¹....   [tags: National Security, Politics]

Better Essays
1518 words (4.3 pages)

Office of Homeland Security Essay

- Office of Homeland Security Just as our parents and grandparents remember where they were and what they were doing when President John F. Kennedy was shot, so will it be with this generation when asked the same questions pertaining to September 11, 2001. This horrific event will be a scar on the body of our wonderful nation until the end of time. Parents lost children, children lost parents, spouses lost their heartmates – so much anguish and emotional devastation demands that something be done to prevent tragedy like this from occurring in the future....   [tags: Homeland Security Governmental Essays]

Better Essays
1430 words (4.1 pages)