Essay on Hockey: Canada's Game

Essay on Hockey: Canada's Game

Length: 1422 words (4.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

In 1994, the Canadian Federal government compromised and voted to make hockey Canada’s National Winter Sport and lacrosse Canada’s National Summer Sport. Which Sport should be named Canada’s true national sport? Hockey is in the blood of all Canadians. Millions can vividly remember the first time they put on a pair of skates and stepped onto the ice. Providing nation-wide entertainment, Canadians are overcome by emotional realization that “Canada is hockey.”- Mike Weir. Generations of Canadians were brought up listening to Hockey Night in Canada every Saturday evening on the radio. It is more than just a sport in Canada, it defines the culture. Look no further than the five-dollar bill. One will observe a group of children playing a game of hockey on a frozen pond. The sport is part of Canada’s national identity.
The defining moment of the importance of hockey in Canada was “The Goal of the Century” in 1972. It was the evening of September 28th; the site was Moscow – U.S.S.R. In the midst of the Cold War, a game-winning goal by Canadian hockey player Paul Henderson at the end of the third period with only 34 seconds left on the clock vaulted Canada to a victory at the Summit Series and put them on top of the hockey world. The heart and character of Canadian hockey internationally began. “The exact moment of that spectacular goal has become a reference point in our national collective consciousness.”- R. Eagleson (Foreword). It was the climatic goal watched by almost every Canadian, and their pride swelled to amazing heights. Hockey is more than just a game in Canada, it is a celebrated history. Hockey is Canada’s identity. “Hockey captures the essence of Canadian experience in the New World. In a land so inescapably and inho...


... middle of paper ...


...ecord revenue." Last modified April 13, 2011. Accessed January 8, 2012. http://www.nhl.com/ice/news.htm?id=559630.
Global BC, "The NHL in Winnipeg: the economic impact." Last modified May 31, 2011. Accessed January 8, 2012. http://www.globaltvbc.com/the+nhl+in+winnipeg+the+economic
Condotta, Bob. The Seattle Times, "US-Canada hockey game most-watched sporting event in Canadian history." Last modified February 22, 2010. Accessed January 8, 2012. http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/talkofthegames/2011156169_us-canada_hockey_game_most_wat.html.
Jackson, T., "NHL's Heroes and History - 1880 -1926 ," July 2, 2011, Web, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bg9qBRs8sX4&feature=related.
Fitzpatrick, Jamie. About.com , "Hockey History: The Time Line, 1917-1945." Last modified 2012. Accessed January 8, 2012. http://proicehockey.about.com/od/history/a/history_timelin.htm.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Analysis Of The Dutch Playing On Ice Hockey

- Ball-and-stick diversions are very nearly as old as human progress itself. Its most punctual starting points may be from Persia, Egypt or China, while archeological confirmation demonstrates an early ball-and-stick diversion played in Greece in the 400s BCE. As progress spread, so did the recreations. Furthermore, in the end, as the socialized world went north, ball-and-stick moved onto the ice. Depictions in the Netherlands in the 1600s demonstrated the Dutch playing an adaptation of golf on the ice; Scotland 's Edinburgh Skating Club, shaped in 1642, is viewed as the most established on the planet, and records from Ireland 's Dublin Evening Post have a report of men playing throwing on ic...   [tags: Ice hockey, Stanley Cup, National Hockey League]

Powerful Essays
1817 words (5.2 pages)

The True Satisfaction Of Not Only Being A Hockey Fan Essay

- Fans in the crowds experience all the exciting and nail-biting moments each game with modern sports such as hockey. Throughout the years an evolution in the game has been witnessed; there have been new technologies introduced to the equipment, near death experiences, and bias on in-game violence. The true satisfaction of not only being a hockey fan, but a soccer fanatic myself is watching teams come together, and strive to complete the objective in a proper healthy way; where violence is seen less as a necessity and more as a catalyst to bring the crowds to their feet with excitement and emotions....   [tags: Ice hockey, National Hockey League]

Powerful Essays
948 words (2.7 pages)

The 1972 Hockey Summer Series Essay

- (it is a bit to long man take out what hockey means to canada or leave it ) “Here’s a shot. Henderson makes a wild stab for it and falls. Here’s another shot. Right in front. They score!. Henderson has scored for Canada!” “The goal heard around the world.” (F. Hewitt, 1972). For Canadians, hockey is a way of life. "Canadian hockey is more than just a sport. It’s our national game, a part of our culture, our history, our national identity. Hockey is one thing about which we have always been able to say we are the best"(Gruneau 4)....   [tags: Canada vs Russia, the Cold War]

Powerful Essays
962 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Is Hockey A Hockey Game?

- While it could be debated if Bettman 's theory is correct, there is no denying that the exposure the NHL has gotten, sending and risking their best players to the past five olympics has no transcended into bringing in new fans or higher television viewer ratings. But for all of Bettman 's arguments he failed to mention the 'Moral Argument ' for not going to South Korea. This one reasoning alone should be enough to persuade players from ever setting foot in South Korea, much less playing a hockey game there....   [tags: Olympic Games, Winter Olympic Games]

Powerful Essays
753 words (2.2 pages)

Youth Hockey Growth in the United States Essay

- I. Introduction Youth Hockey Growth in the United States is the main focus of this research. The sport of hockey has been around for nearly 200 years. The game was produced from a form of stick and ball games started by immigrants. These immigrants were British soldiers who brought their type of hockey to Canada. Paintings from the 1830’s depict the sport of ice-hockey taking off in Canada.(Garth, Vaughan) As the sport grew so did the age groups in which it was played. Many sports start their growth from the elders down to the youth....   [tags: NHL, united states hockey, games]

Powerful Essays
1487 words (4.2 pages)

Lacrosse and Hockey in Canada Essay

- The importance of Lacrosse has diminished since the uprising of Hockey. It is often forgotten the significance of Lacrosse has on the developing of Canada’s culture and identity of sport. Before the creation of hockey, Lacrosse was played all through Canada. By the 1890s any given person who loved sport had a Lacrosse stick or two. Dr William George Beers is deemed “the father of Lacrosse” however there is a whole nation behind him who deserve the credit for creating Canada’s national sport....   [tags: culture, identity, sports]

Powerful Essays
597 words (1.7 pages)

Taking a Look at Ice Hockey Essay

- Ice Hockey is a fast-paced physical team sport played on ice. In hockey skaters use hockey sticks to hit a hard rubber puck into the opponents net. Hockey is popular in North America, Europe, and Russia. Hockey is an official winter Olympic sport and is the national winter sport in Canada. Hockey is nicknamed “the fastest sport on earth.” There are many theories of where and how hockey was originated. But modern day hockey is believed to originate from the game of field hockey which was first played in ancient Greece, Egypt and Persia....   [tags: team sports played on ice]

Powerful Essays
598 words (1.7 pages)

Essay on Hockey Should Be Canada’s Official Sport

- Hockey Should Be Canada’s Official Sport There are many well-known sports in Canada. Some examples of these are Hockey, Lacrosse, Curling, Soccer, Speed skating, Basketball, Track and Field, and so on. These are all popular sports in Canada, and some of them were even developed in Canada, like basketball and Lacrosse. However, hockey is unique with other sports and is often the one sport that people from other countries automatically associate with Canada and being Canadian....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
608 words (1.7 pages)

Essay on Hockey is the Greatest Sport

- Hockey and its modern roots date back to the late nineteenth century. Interestingly, one of the considered fathers of hockey, Lord Stanley, came to Canada and showed great interest in the amazing sport. He then donated a steel mug of his to the sport which was to become The Stanley Cup. It is the oldest trophy in all of sports. Hockey is the sport of all sports and there is not a quality of another sport one will not find in hockey. If so, it would be a more boring version of something similar that hockey already has to offer....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
372 words (1.1 pages)

My Childhood Memories of Hockey Night Essay

- Ever since I can remember watching television my Saturday nights included Hockey Night in Canada. I can't remember the players or specific details about the games but I do remember watching hockey. It aired at 8 pm. I was so lucky to see the first ten minutes of the game because every other night of the week I had to be in bed much earlier. I was old enough to realize that this was a treat. From October until May I knew what I was doing on Saturday before bed. Maybe that's why I was so well-behaved in church on Sunday morning; I didn't want my hockey games taken away....   [tags: Personal Narrative 2014]

Powerful Essays
710 words (2 pages)