Ho Chi Minh: Freedom Fighter and Patriot Essay

Ho Chi Minh: Freedom Fighter and Patriot Essay

Length: 1585 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Before WWII, during the French rule in Vietnam, the French used the Vietnamese to their advantage. Many Vietnamese people were living under oppression by the French authorities. Some, seeking independence, fought back against the French. One of these revolutionaries was Ho Chi Minh. Although many democratic countries disliked his support for Communism, Ho was strongly passionate about liberating Vietnam. As a prime minster, a president, and a leader of Vietnam, Ho majorly contributed to the Vietnamese independence movement through 1941. While Ho Chi Minh is considered a tyrant by democratic countries such as France and the US, he stands a force for good in the founding of an independent Vietnam based on the ideals of freedom and communism.
Ho Chi Minh’s philosophy began to develop in adolescence. Ho spent his early years in Vietnam studying under Vietnamese nationalism. He was born as Nguyen Tat Thanh in 1890 in the Kim Lien village of Annam. Not until 1945 would he call himself Ho Chi Minh, in order to conceal his identity from anti-communists. His father, Nguyen Sinh Sac, was a Vietnamese nationalist who despised the French for colonizing Vietnam.
Ho’s strong developing feelings of nationalism at a young age had a long-lasting impact in his years as a revolutionary. For instance, he went to memorial services at a temple for revolutionaries who were killed in the resistance against the French (Duiker 24). As he grew older, Ho’s hatred of foreigners and their practice of imperialism increased. In 1901, Ho was shocked to hear of the poor treatment of Vietnamese laborers recruited by the French to construct a new highway into Laos. Specifically, some peasants who worked on the bridge came back injured, diseased and malnourished, ...


... middle of paper ...


...ambridge University Press, 2007. Print.
Coppola, Kaitlin. “Ho Chi Minh (1890-1969).” Coldwar.org. n.p. n.d. Web. 1 Feb. 2014.
Duiker, William J. Ho Chi Minh: A Life. City of Publication: Hyperion, 2000. Print.
History.com Staff. “Ho Chi Minh.” History.com. A+E Networks, 2010, Web. 6 Feb. 2014.
Ho Chi Minh. Selected Works. (Hanoi. 1960-1962), Vol. 2. Vietnam: Print.
“Ho Chi Minh (1890-1969).” BBC. n.p. n.d. Web. 6 Feb. 2014.
“Messages to America: The Letters of Ho Chi Minh.” History is a Weapon. Web. 3 Mar. 2014.
Moïse, Edwin E. “The Geneva Accords” & “The Aftermath of Geneva, 1954-1961.” Clemson. n.p. 1998. Web. 3 Mar. 2014.
Simkin, John. “Ho Chi Minh.” Spartacus Educational. n.p, n.d Web. 1 Feb. 2014.
Spector, Ronald H. “Vietnam War.” Britannica. n.p, n.d. Web. 6 Feb. 2014.
Trueman, Chris. “Ho Chi Minh.” History Learning Site. n.p. 2000. Web. 6 Feb. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Ho Chi Minh and the Success of Vietnamese Communism Essay

- Communism as a political philosophy has had both its critics and nationalist proponents throughout recent history. As a tool for nationalistic movements in recent, one of the most compelling examples is how communism was introduced and used by Ho Chi Minh to help Vietnam become a unified and independent nation in the 1970s. Ho Chi Minh, a Marxist Leninist, charismatic and populist leader, adopted communism through his experiences, struggles, and challenges. Communism came to play an important role in bringing Vietnam independence and freedom from the French and subsequent colonialist rulers....   [tags: Ho Chi Minh Essays]

Powerful Essays
1887 words (5.4 pages)

Essay about My Experience At Ho Chi Minh

- Famous author Stephen Covey once said, “Trust is the glue of life. It’s the most essential ingredient in effective communication. “He also said “Management is efficiency in climbing the ladder of success.” The quotes taught me because I found its message to be true. I have learned many lessons in my life. As a result of my past life experiences, I have learned the importance of trustworthiness, kindness and good management. My past includes growing up in Vietnam. I was born in Ho Chi Minh, the biggest city in Southern Vietnam with much French architecture and a diversity of cultures....   [tags: Ho Chi Minh, Ho Chi Minh City, United States]

Powerful Essays
803 words (2.3 pages)

My Experience At Ho Chi Minh Essay

- As a result of my past life experiences, I have learned the importance of trustworthiness, good management, and healthy relationships. My past includes growing up in Vietnam. I was born in Ho Chi Minh, the biggest city in Southern Vietnam with many French architectures and diversity of cultures. Most people from other places in Vietnam come to Ho Chi Minh City to settle their business or look for a chance to stay in that city. I am one of the citizens with a Bachelor of Business Administration, so I am able to get a job in a trading company with a high salary....   [tags: Ho Chi Minh, Ho Chi Minh City, United States]

Powerful Essays
850 words (2.4 pages)

Ho Chi Minh Sense Of Nationalism Essays

- In this essay I will be discussing how Ho Chi Minh sense of nationalism was the driving force in ending French rule in his country. By tracing Ho Chi Minh’s life it becomes rather obvious that his endeavors would result in a strong sense of nationalism for his country that had long been exploited by French rule. Following his travels throughout the world Minh found that the West had no interest in a free a Vietnam, so Minh was forced to turn to the Communist for help. By working with the communist, Minh was ultimately able to free the Vietnamese people from French rule....   [tags: Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh, Communism, Vietnam War]

Powerful Essays
1631 words (4.7 pages)

My Vacation At Ho Chi Minh City Essay example

- On Wednesday morning of July 19, 1989, it was just an average day. I woke up at 3:45 a.m., stretched, and cooked my wife and I some breakfast. The usual, scrambled eggs and toast. Today we were heading off for our vacation to Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. We prepared for this vacation for months. We were excited to finally be back with our immediate family members. We began to stack our luggage into her son’s vehicle. He was going to drive us to the SUX airport. The sun has not even appeared, and my wife and I were heading off for two months of unforgettable fun....   [tags: Ho Chi Minh, Ho Chi Minh City, Chicago, Iowa]

Powerful Essays
1119 words (3.2 pages)

My Philosophy Journey Of Ho Chi Minh City Essay

- I was born and raised in Ho Chi Minh City, a largest and most industrialized city in Vietnam. Ever since the early 1980s, the colonization of the French has made this city a new Paris of South East Asia, a center Architecture and civilization. Thus, this city has held a crucial cultural role as well as a critical position in economic activities in the region, consequently, after the outbreak of technology and internet it also soon became a hub of technologies advancement. Growing up in such city, I have always fascinating and inspired by urbanism and technologies....   [tags: Design, Construction, Ho Chi Minh]

Powerful Essays
1003 words (2.9 pages)

The Ho Chi Minh Stock Exchange And The Australian Securities Exchange Essay

- The research project was written by Dang Duy NGUYEN, who used to be an international business student at IPC. This research was named “A comparison of the operating and regulatory systems of the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) and the Ho Chi Minh Stock Exchange (HoSE) with recommendations to increase the effectiveness of the HoSE”. In this research, he examined the regulatory and operating systems of the two biggest stock exchanges of Vietnam and Australia, which are known as the Ho Chi Minh Stock Exchange and the Australian Securities Exchange....   [tags: Stock exchange, Stock market, Ho Chi Minh]

Powerful Essays
1121 words (3.2 pages)

The Life of Ho Chi Minh Essay

- Ho Chi Minh Ho Chi Minh was born on May 19, 1890 in Hoang Tru, Vietnam. His real name is Nguyen Sinh Cung and later changes to Ho Chi Minh for what’s he’s famous for. His father name is Nguyen Sinh Huy. His father has an anti-French attitude, but Ho Chi Minh also has a sister named Thanh and a brother named Khiem. Ho Chi Minh mostly gets his influence from his father due to Vietnam was the time of the French imperialism was in power. During the French colonial reign, Ho Chi Mih was considered a modern day hero, which inspires many Vietnamese people to follow him to overthrow the French off of their country to win independence for freedom....   [tags: vietnam, hero, independence]

Free Essays
556 words (1.6 pages)

Ho Chi Minh and The Vietnam War Essay

- The declaration of Vietnamese independence made by Ho Chi Minh in 1945 served as a milestone in what was a century-old struggle against foreign control. In its history Vietnam had spent 1000 years under control of the Chinese and had resisted this control vehemently. Revolts and rebellions against China finally lead to Vietnamese independence in the tenth century. In the thirteenth century the Vietnamese drove back Kublai Khan three times under the leadership Dao. Tran Hung Dao not only led the Vietnamese people in driving Kublai Khan back, but did so by pioneering the guerrilla warfare methods that would later be employed against both the French and the United States....   [tags: American Control, Rebellion]

Powerful Essays
2047 words (5.8 pages)

Ho Chi Minh and Vietnam Essay

- Ho Chi Minh, Politics, and North Vietnam North Vietnam, September 2, 1945, Ho Chi Minh declared independence from France. Ho Chi Minh's "Independence Day" was marked with a new constitution and a new name, The Democratic Republic of Vietnam. Ho's speech on the day of Vietnamese Independence was one of freedom, freedom against French domination. Inspiration of Ho's speech was one from American history and history has a tendency to repeat itself. Like the very past of America and Europe, French rule did not grant Vietnamese Independence and war broke out....   [tags: Asian History]

Powerful Essays
483 words (1.4 pages)