The History of Visual Graphics and the Way We Control Technology Essay

The History of Visual Graphics and the Way We Control Technology Essay

Length: 1351 words (3.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The History of Visual Graphics and the Way We Control Technology
Technology has come a long way from computers that had no G.U.I, but used commands, and low resolution displays. From the first G.U.I, to the early signs of 3D shapes, the history of Visual Displays and the way we control technology is a very complex history.
Technology is controlled by a written form of directions we call “Software”. Software tells the target what to do, how to do it, and when to do it (Donald). There are Softwares made for specific tasks. Some Softwares are used for specifically business related situations. Softwares can also be used for more than just business, but can also be used for recreational activities, such as creating music, recording videos, even drawing. The first form of Software is said to be Plankalkul (Donald). It was created by a Russian man named Konrad Zuse (Donald). Softwares are constantly being updated to make them more compatible, more efficient and easier to use.
Softwares don’t just poof up out of nowhere. They must be created using syntax and complex programming (Donald). An early form of programming was Binary (Donald). Binary was a combination of two digits, 0 and 1. Binary was created by simplifying the English language down to something the computer could understand (Donald). Obviously, by simplifying, it was not actually simplifying it for the programmer. The alphabet in Binary was not easy to translate. Later on they created commands that the computer could follow (Donald). We still use this method of programming today. An example of one of the commands is for the command “prompt” which prompts the computer to ask the user a question, the command would be param1(Donald). The form we use today is simplified to be...


... middle of paper ...


...of technology has evolved from big metal boxes, command computers, and 2D displays, to the technology used today.



Works Cited

Messa, Andy F. “History of the G.U.I” Apple Museum, 1997-1998, May 8 2014.
Computer History Museum, “Timeline of Computer History” 2006. Web 30 April 2014.
Equipment Museum, “Historic Video Equipment”, Video Preservation 2002. Web 9 May 2014.
Federal Communications Commission, “Historical Periods in Television History”, FCC 21 2005. Web 30 April 2014.
Frank, Donald G., “Computers and the Human Mind” ,United States: Education Services Inc, 1966. Print.
Singer, Graham, “The History of the Modern Graphics Processor” Techspot, March 27, 2013. Web 30 April 2014.
“The New Book of Popular Science”, Philippines: Grolier International Inc., 1978-1990. Print.
Woodie, Alex, “The Modern GPU: A Graphic History”. HPR Wire, 1994-2014. Web 30 April 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on The History Of Video Games

- The History of Video Games - An Introduction Video games have a vast history that dates back to the 1940 's; they have evolved with computers, often working alongside traditional computational technology for a variety of uses that go beyond entertainment. Most people, when confronted with the prospect of video game history, think back to the arcade games of the '70s and '80s, as well as the clunky home consoles that sat next to their VCR 's. What many don 't realize is that the first video game was created in 1940 by a man named Edward Condon to be shown at the World 's Fair, (museumofplay.org)....   [tags: Video game console, Video game, Nintendo]

Strong Essays
1705 words (4.9 pages)

A Brief History of My MacBook Pro Essay

- At the moment I am typing this, I am looking at a flashing cursor and words begging to appear on the screen of my MacBook Pro. Thoughts are filtering through my mind on what I want to say, these are put into action by my nerves sending messages to my fingers on where to move, and then my brain is constantly thinking on what letter I want and moving my fingers and where they alight they are interpreted by my brain that I typed the correct letter by position. This is then all brought back to my mind by the visual response I see on the screen, my mind interprets the shapes I am seeing as world....   [tags: Technology ]

Strong Essays
2485 words (7.1 pages)

Motion Graphics And Non Moving Graphics Essay

- Motion graphics offers new narrative possibilities compared to traditional print graphics - but motion graphics may also introduce limitations easily overcome by non-moving graphics. Take at least two examples of each kind of graphic form and compare the communicative strengths and weaknesses of each. The obvious similarity between motion graphics and non-moving graphics is they both seek attention through demanding imagery. Throughout this essay I will discuss which type of graphic does this most successfully....   [tags: Graphic design, Advertising, Computer graphics]

Strong Essays
2044 words (5.8 pages)

Essay on Why Are We Create Visual Arts?

- Everyone can create visual arts. One hundred years ago, mostly men, had been relatively accepted to have the skill to on their own be able to do art. It unfortunately was widely believed that creativity came from men and that women could not be created. Some even believed that pieces that a woman put their work were unintentionally credited to have unfortunately been painted by relatives or tutors. This was all done to hold a woman back from what they could do, however some still achieved for a time what they sought....   [tags: Art, Visual arts, Fine art, Art history]

Strong Essays
932 words (2.7 pages)

The History of Birth Control and Society Essay

- The History of Birth Control and Society People have been desperate to control how many children they have and abstinence is not really an option adults want to choose. Some ancient forms of birth control include: animal skins and intestines for condoms, lemons as barriers to protect from pregnancy, poisonous cocktails to cause abortion, and animal dung cocktails as spermicides. When those measures failed, women turned to abortions. (Rengal intro ix) Humankind has been trying to have sex without pregnancy since ancient times....   [tags: Contraceptives, Birth Control Essays]

Strong Essays
2000 words (5.7 pages)

Essay on The Arts Of Visual Arts

- Because this is the best opportunity to do my absolute two favorite things on earth at the same time : to see new artworks and to create new things. I know I want to work in the art field since I was a child, growing up I would purchase this Chinese art magazine called Vision, there were two issues from the magazine that specifically intrigued me: 1) There are professionals called graphic designer, which I would love to be one in the future, 2) an article about the high line park and the concept of making art public....   [tags: Art, Modern art, Arts, Visual arts]

Strong Essays
780 words (2.2 pages)

History of Gun Control in America Essay examples

- Introduction When it comes to controversial topics in today’s society, there are so many that it can be difficult to be a straight shooter. Among all of them, however, debate over gun control has been prevalent for so long, it is something many people can easily set their sights on. It is an issue everybody should have an opinion on, as it is vastly important, potentially threatening, and all too present in modern society. Many find the mere concept of gun control invasive to their constitutional rights, while others see lack of gun control to be astoundingly dangerous and entirely chimerical....   [tags: gun control act, shooter, debate]

Strong Essays
1906 words (5.4 pages)

Essay about Alpha Grapics Company History

- “AlphaGraphics is a franchised chain of more than 260 independently owned and operated marketing service providers with full-service print shops.” ("Alphagraphics," ) AlphaGraphics provides it's clients with print, design, web and marketing services. The company provides professional marketing and design services for it's clients. They offer their clients assistance throughout the creation of a product – designing, printing, shipping, and marketing. Their unique design will help clients with all their marketing needs including: business cards, letterheads, brochures, postcards, signs, and more....   [tags: printing industry, marketing,roger ford]

Strong Essays
862 words (2.5 pages)

Physics of Computer Graphics Essay

- In the field of computer graphics there are usually four general applications that one thinks of: 1. Display of Information 2. Design 3. Simulation and Animation 4. User interfaces (Angel, 2) With regards to applied physic's applications, the area of computer graphics most focused on is simulation and animation. This is found in several different fields such as "aerospace, manufacturing, wireless communication, resource recovery, film-making, computer games, and virtual reality. Moreover, physics-based modeling is now generally accepted as a third principal mode of scientific investigation, along with theory and experiment." (Mason) The goal is to usually create 3-dimensional objects and...   [tags: physics computers graphic CG]

Strong Essays
858 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on History Of Birth Control

- History of Birth Control Although birth control has been practiced since ancient times, the first organized efforts developed during the 19th century as population increased dramatically because of improved medical care, nutrition, and sanitation. However, birth control met with resistance. In 1873 the United States Congress enacted the Comstock Law, which prohibited the distribution of birth-control devices and information. During the early 1900s, American nurse Margaret Sanger led the birth-control movement in the United States....   [tags: Contraceptives, Birth Control Essays]

Free Essays
467 words (1.3 pages)