The Halogen Bromine and Swimming Pools Essay

The Halogen Bromine and Swimming Pools Essay

Length: 1006 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

How has the Halogen Bromine, been used to protect swimming pools?

The Halogen Bromine (Atomic number: 35, Atomic weight: 79.9) is the only non-metallic element that’s state is liquid at room temperature . Bromine, produced firstly by Carl Lowig, was not associated with him as even though he was believed to have first created the element his student life took priority giving Antoine-Jérôme Balard another chemist, enough time to discover Bromine for himself and publish a paper in 1826 discussing his findings. It was Balard who was credited with the discovery and thus named the chemical Bromos, “stench” in Greek.

The reddish-brown element (also giving of a very strong odour not dissimilar to that of chlorine) is obtained from sea water and some brine mixtures – that have been left from the production of potassium salts. This process of obtaining bromine starts when Bromine in water is oxidised by chlorine - above the boiling point of Bromine - in order to create Bromine gas or Br2.

2Br + Cl2 → Br2 + 2Cl ( )

This produces a mixture of both Bromine and Chlorine gasses, separating when the mixture cools to a point when Bromine liquefies yet chlorine (still above it’s boiling point) stays as a gas. If extra purification is needed, the Bromine Gas can be mixed with sulphur dioxide. Then, after it is run through a cylinder (with running water falling in the opposite direction) both gasses react with the water to produce hydro bromic acids and sulphuric acids.

SO2+ Br2 + H2O → 2HBr+ H2SO4 ( )

A Primary use of bromine is in the engineering of pharmaceuticals. Brominated substances are key components in many “over-the-counter” but also prescription drugs . These include various sedatives and antihistamines (a form of prote...


... middle of paper ...


...014. Web. 08 Feb. 2014. .

"Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry." Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 02 Mar. 2014. Web. 08 Feb. 2014. .

"Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry." Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 02 Mar. 2014. Web. 08 Feb. 2014. .

"Minerals Government View." N.p., n.d. Web. 02 Feb. 2014. .

"Ozone-depleting Substances." EPA. Environmental Protection Agency, n.d. Web. 06 Feb. 2014. .

"Podcasts | Chemistry World." RSC RSS. N.p., n.d. Web. 08 Feb. 2014. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Alternatives to Chlorine in Swimming Pools Essay

- ... When bromine reacts with organic substances such as ammonia, it forms bromamines – just as chlorine reacts with organic compounds to form chloramines. It is these chloramines in most swimming pools that are responsible for much of the difficulties chlorinated pools entail, producing an unpleasant smell and irritating people’s eyes and skin (in fact it is often these chloramines that people often receive allergic reactions to) and being largely ineffective sanitisers. Bromamines however are quite the opposite, producing very little smell, having minimal impact on skin and eye irritation and retaining the efficacy of the bromine compound....   [tags: pool maintenance, ozone]

Strong Essays
1200 words (3.4 pages)

Fluorine Is A Toxic, Pale Yellow Gas And The Most Of The Halogen Group Essays

- Fluorine is a corrosive, pale yellow gas and is the smallest of the Halogen group but also the element with the highest electronegativity in the Periodic Table. With such a high electronegativity it makes fluorine the most reactive of all of the elements. The high electronegativity of fluorine is beneficial in several goods, for example; polymers, toothpastes, pesticides, cancer drugs, and antibiotics. Fluorochloro-hydrocarbons are widely used in air conditioners and refrigerators, and have been associated with the vanishing of the ozone layer (Stillinger, 1988)....   [tags: Chlorine, Sodium chloride, Iodine, Halogen]

Strong Essays
717 words (2 pages)

Essay about Investigating The Ph Test Is Used For Swimming Pools

- Name: Miranda West BIO 1120L Section: 11 Sept. 14, 2016 HYDRONIUM ION CONCENTRATIONS AND BUFFERS Introduction: Every day, we are faced with solutions whether we recognize them or not. Solutions are homogeneous mixtures that can be classified by their state (i.e. solid, liquid, gas). In Biology, the most commonly used solution are the solutions that are liquid based. With liquid solutions, there is scale that is used to test the concentration of hydroxide ions that are present within the solution....   [tags: PH, PH indicator, Hydronium, Acid]

Strong Essays
1000 words (2.9 pages)

The History of Swimming Essay

- Swimming is a physical activity that has that has a long part in human history, that has evolved a lot since the past, and is very beneficial to the health of your not only your body but also your mind. The history of swimming is something that is dated back before the start of time and has always been a part of human culture in one shape or form. It has been around for a millennia, because human beings have always used swimming as a technique to stay above water and to move and flow through the water....   [tags: organized swimming, obesity]

Strong Essays
915 words (2.6 pages)

Water Damage: 6 Feet Deep Essay examples

- Six Feet Deep As I grabbed onto the rope, jumping to the next platform while on the water-rope obstacle course, I felt confident in myself, thinking, “I can make it to the next one without falling into the water.” I looked at it and leaned on the rope, jumping for it, but I missed it just by a hair and went feet first down into the six feet deep water at White Water. I was shocked at first, because it was my first time being in water higher than my 5’4” self, but I got calm in the water very quickly....   [tags: swimming, swimming pools, drowning]

Strong Essays
1051 words (3 pages)

Essay about The Pool Party

- The Pool Party Every summer at Casa De Prado Condominiums’ the home owners complain about the pool. The biggest problem about the pool is there is no structure to how its maintained. Basic information about Indiana State laws regarding pools confuses monitors. Just having the pool open and close every day is a problem. Imagine a hot day and standing outside the gate, looking at the pool that is not opened. The cleanliness of the pool has come up. These issues affect the home owners of Casa their guests and are a constant headache for the board members....   [tags: Swimming Pools]

Strong Essays
1417 words (4 pages)

Swimming At The Age Of 23 Essay

- I learn swimming at the age of 23 I remember going in the water for the first time it was in one of the beaches in NH I cannot remember really well. My husband and his family just assume I knew how to swim. Most especially coming from a warm continent. I have been to the beach before, but we do not get into the water, it much more for hanging out and dating spot dressed in sun dresses while the wind blow your skirt left and right not getting wet. I remember my husband and I got in the water and his parent were in the water as well, I was just standing everyone were swimming I was asked to join and swim under the water I looked at them as if they were crazy....   [tags: Mind, Thought, Swimming, Swimming]

Strong Essays
850 words (2.4 pages)

Just Keep Swimming At The Age Of Five Essay

- Just keep swimming: I started swimming competitively at the age of five. I started swimming for a summer league team call the Mission Valley Barracudas. Once I turned seven years old, I started swimming with the older kids, which were technically categorized as the faster kids. My coaches wanted me to swim with the older group, which consisted with junior high, and high school aged kids because swimming with my age group bracket was no longer challenging. Swimming was my favorite thing to do and still is....   [tags: High school, College, Swimming, Swimming]

Strong Essays
2067 words (5.9 pages)

Physics of Swimming Essay

- The study of physics and fluid dynamics in swimming has been a field of increasing interest for study in the past few decades among swimming coaches and enthusiasts. Despite the long history of research, the understanding of how to move the human body effectively through the water is still in its infancy. Competitive swimmers and their coaches of all levels are constantly striving for ways to improve their stroke technique and overall performance. The research and performances of today's swimmers are continuously disproving the beliefs of the past....   [tags: physics swim swimming]

Strong Essays
1869 words (5.3 pages)

Physics of Swimming Essay

- Common Strokes for Swimming There are four common strokes associated with swimming: butterfly, backstroke, breaststroke, and crawl stroke. Breaststroke and backstroke are considered ‘rest’ strokes; crawl stroke, also known as freestyle, and butterfly are known as ‘power’ strokes. A rest stroke uses less energy to travel the same distance, however; it takes longer to achieve this distance. A power stroke uses more energy and covers greater distances in less time. The sidestroke and elementary-backstroke are two more rest strokes used in swimming....   [tags: Sport Sports Swimming Swim Physics]

Free Essays
1563 words (4.5 pages)