Graduation Speech : School Attendance Improvement Strategies Essay

Graduation Speech : School Attendance Improvement Strategies Essay

Length: 1122 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

have you ever noticed there is always more that one student missing in every one of you clases? in my school its always the same people , and i can 't help but wonder are these students passing? i want to know why attendance is such a problem in secondary school , i also wonder if other schools have this problem or is it just steinmetz and what are these students reasons for missing so much school. does these absences affect our school. and lastly what can we do to stop this all these questions intrigued me to do some reasearch and share it with you .
when a student is absent without an excuse from a class 3 times in a school year the student becomes truant(school attendance improvement strategies,1). being late to class for more than 30 minutes classifies a student as unexcused absence (school attendance improvement strategies,1), which is surprising because many students do not believe being late is an absence they think that if they come to class no matter the time they are marked as here. even i was surprised by this information, for our school did not tell us this or publicize it which i believe is a huge problem because how are students supposed to prevent being classified as truant if they don 't even know what qualifies them. this may be one reason students are frequently marked as absent for they do not know . another reason may be the child is sick but the family does not write a letter to excuse them, or the school does not qualify them as excused. another reason students decide to skip school is because they are bored and feel that the class is not relevant to them. (Yazzie-mintz,2).other students say that they do not have any adults who care about them in school out off 22% of students who consider dropping out 1...


... middle of paper ...


...fare & Attendance (CA Dept of
Education). N.p., 9 Apr. 2014. Web. 05 Nov. 2014.
.
Yazzie-Mintz, Ethan. "IU News Room." Students Are Bored, Many Skip School, Lack Adult
Support: : Indiana University. Indiana University, 28 Feb. 2007. Web. 06 Feb. 2014.
.
Troppo, Greg. "Study: 7.5 Million Students Miss a Month of School Each Year." USATODAY.COM.
USA Today, 17 May 2012. Web. 05 Nov. 2014.
enteeism/55030638/1>.
Usher, Alex. ""A" For Attendance: Do Certain Types of Absences Affect Students Differently?"
Chicago Policy Review. N.p., 14 Aug. 2014. Web. 05 Nov. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Graduation Speech : High School

- As I come closer to the end of my high school career, I look forward to the future and see nothing but stress, higher education opportunities, and procrastination. The single reason as to why I have decided to involve myself in the college experience, is to achieve the optimum quality of life. The only way to conquer this goal is to direct myself towards job openings, countless, hours of schooling, and changes in the way I perform in the school setting. Chancing this college experience is designed to be expensive and challenging, however, I will deem it to be worthwhile when I’m holding my doctorate at my college graduation....   [tags: High school, Higher education, Graduation]

Strong Essays
830 words (2.4 pages)

Graduation Speech : Teaching Strategies, Workshops, And Means Of Communication With Others

- When in the field, I always try to take notes over the things that the teachers do. I write down ideas that I would like to incorporate into my own teaching, things that I have not seen before, and some things that I might find interesting. I talk to the teachers about some of the things I have written in my journal to see why or how they incorporated these strategies. After giving my lessons, I took notes on how students reacted to different aspects, what could be done better, and what not to do next time....   [tags: Education, Teacher, Lesson plan, School]

Strong Essays
1107 words (3.2 pages)

Graduation Speech : High School

- Throughout my years in high school I have never been the best at writing. I have struggled and failed numerous times and I just didn 't think I would ever get any better when it came down to writing in my English classes. I always had to ask my parents to help me comprehend words, phrases and also how to pronounce certain words. For example my junior year of high school it was time to prepare ourselves for the SAT and ACT testing which are standardized tests that every student must take if they want to further their education in college....   [tags: Education, High school, Barack Obama, School]

Strong Essays
999 words (2.9 pages)

Graduation Speech : Elementary School

- In Elementary School when I was learning how to read and write I experience what felt like the worst days of my childhood. I will never forget those days because I felt worthless and didn’t believe that I would make it through school. My first grade teacher at Fultondale Elementary School started noticing that it was difficult for me to read and write, so she pulled me aside from all the other students to see what I was doing wrong. As this continued I felt more and more like an outcast to my classmates....   [tags: High school, Education, Primary school, Teacher]

Strong Essays
729 words (2.1 pages)

Graduation Speech : High School

- Good afternoon Mr. Cataldo, I am an alumna of the high school you are currently working in. The reason I am contacting you today is for the reason that, as an undergraduate at the University of California, Davis, I wanted to provide you with some feedback on the approach teachers may want to consider in taking to help improve students in writing. I am interested in helping you and other high school teachers identify new strategies in teaching to help out high school students benefit from a high school English course and be able to apply their knowledge into a college level English course....   [tags: Writing, High school, Revision, Professor]

Strong Essays
990 words (2.8 pages)

Graduation Speech : High School

- In elementary school while my peers were playing dress up and feeding tea to their imaginary friends and stuffed animals, my self play entailed lining up all my animals in neatly constructed rows so that they would be ready for my class. It was time for Ms. Bibi’s class and dare you be late Mr. Rhino In high school I was a self-declared teachers assistant and graded many tests and took many attendance reports. This behavior followed me through college where I set up supplemental classes in the library to help re-explain concepts taught during the days lecture....   [tags: Education, Teacher, School, History of education]

Strong Essays
728 words (2.1 pages)

Graduation Speech : High School

- “High School. It changes people into the person they said they’d never become”. As my friends and I grew throughout high school, some of us had changed for the better and some for the worse. Only a couple of my friends, or who I thought were my “friends” had changed for the worse. People who I was friends with at the beginning of Freshman year, I am no longer that great of friends with now. High School definitely has its way of changing people, especially myself. Here I am now as a senior ,very grateful, with the old and new friends that decided to be in my life....   [tags: High school, 2006 albums, English-language films]

Strong Essays
1239 words (3.5 pages)

Graduation Speech : High School

- Ever since I started high school here at Seaman High, I have been taught how to write an essay one certain way. In high school, we were provided with outlines that helped us write sentence by sentence, and the teacher explained thoroughly what was to be written. When I started EN101, I was expecting the class to be difficult because of the fact that many people had told me that college writing was so much more different and complex than high school writing. I expected that I would have to completely alter the way that I was taught to write; in fact, I did have to alter the way that I was previously writing because I was writing at a high school level and little effort was put into my past es...   [tags: High school, Writing, Essay, Writing process]

Strong Essays
1109 words (3.2 pages)

Graduation Speech : School Lanes Environment

- Prior to this field experience I had no former interaction with charter schools so I did not know what to expect or if I would even like it. However, I came to find that School Lanes environment is the exact environment I hope to be in when I become a certified teacher. They call their school environment a “sanctuary” to shield them from the hardships of the outside world. School Lane is a place that considers all children to be gifted and because of this expectations for the students are high. Their motto is “ what you achieve today is directly related to what you do....   [tags: Teacher, Education, School, Classroom]

Strong Essays
962 words (2.7 pages)

Graduation Speech Is Helpful For High School Students

- All through our academic years we were taught how to write. Starting with elementary, when the form of writing was first introduced, it consisted of compositions with simple prompts about our weekends. Now, that there was an idea of how to write, middle school English teachers began teaching students a writing format. This format is commonly known as the five-paragraph essay, which entailed an introduction, three supporting body paragraphs, and a conclusion. The five-paragraph essay began being strongly implemented in high school and it leads to many debates whether or not it benefited students proceeding into college....   [tags: Writing, High school, Five paragraph essay, Essay]

Strong Essays
1574 words (4.5 pages)