The Future Of Space Exploration Essay

The Future Of Space Exploration Essay

Length: 1485 words (4.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Randy Colon
Professor David Mathews
English 121-060
11 May 2015
Privatization Is The Future of Space Exploration
Mankind’s exploration of space is approaching its 60-year anniversary. In its splendor, space exploration is a very expensive task. Just recently, the government has begun to allow private corporations to bid on and compete for the job of putting Americans in space. NASA is coming to realize that for us to progress in space, we need to do it more efficiently, and for less money.
It all started when the Soviet Union launched a small satellite the size of a basketball into orbit. Sputnik was launched on October 4, 1957 (Darling 412). On April 12, 1959, the Soviets put the first human, Yuri Gargarin into space (Darling 145). In those first few years of human space exploration the Soviet Union distanced itself from the United States. It would take the United States two additional years to send astronaut Alan Shepard, Jr. into space aboard Freedom 7 (Darling 272).
In May 1961 President John F. Kennedy outlined the goal of sending a man to the moon by the end of the decade. He stated, “This nation should commit itself to achieving the goal, before the decade is out, of landing a man on the moon and returning him safely to the earth” (Kennedy). That speech set into motion a chain of events, which culminated with the Apollo 11 moon landing on July 20, 1969. It also began an era of excessive over-spending on the space program.
In total NASA sent 12 people to the moon before the American public grew disinterested in spaceflights that now seemed to be routine. Apollo 17 was the last mission that sent humans to the moon (Darling 33). The final three Apollo missions were canceled due to an economic recession and low public intere...


... middle of paper ...


...3 April 2015.
Kennedy, John F. “Special Message to Congress on Urgent National Needs.”
United States Capitol. House Chamber. Washington, D.C. 25 May 1961.
Address to Joint Session of Congress.
Kestenbaum, David. “Spaceflight Is Getting Cheaper. But It’s Still Not Cheap
Enough.” NPR.ORG. 21 July 2011. Web. 25 April 2015.
LaFleur, Claude. “Cost of US piloted programs.” The Space Review. 8 March
2010. Web. 6 May 2015.
Melina, Remy. “The Fallen Heroes of Human Spaceflight.” Livesciece.com.
01 April 2011. Web. 25 April 2015.
“Remarks By The President On Space Exploration in the 21st Century.” White
House, Office of the Press Secretary. NASA.Gov. 15 April 2010. Web.
25 April 2015.

Works Cited
Zezima, Katie. “Despite sanctions, Russia is getting a $457.9M check from
NASA.” Washington Post. 18 April 2014. Web. 25 April 2015.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Space Exploration: The Key to the Future of Mankind

- While the origins of our planet stretch back some 4.6 billion years, the existence of modern man can be correlated to a single minute in the entire span of our geological calendar. Mankind has progressed from the primitive innovations of building fire and wielding stone-age tools to the achievements of industrialization and globalization. In our increasing world of interconnectivity, population explosion, and technological and scientific discoveries, how do we manage the accompanying challenges that threaten our existence....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Strong Essays
2028 words (5.8 pages)

Space Exploration Is Important For Our Future Essay

- Space exploration holds the key to new frontiers by unlocking the doorways to the expansion of human life to other planets and discovering new elements, particles, and life that may exist as well. Space exploration can further our understanding of the universe and the world that we live in. Continuing the global efforts of space exploration is imperative to the survival of the human race because due to the exponential growth of our population we will be in need of another planet that can sustain human life....   [tags: NASA, Space exploration, Human, Life]

Strong Essays
1647 words (4.7 pages)

Space Exploration: Past and Future Essay

- Ever since the beginning of time, mankind has been fascinated with wonders of space. Before the mid-1900s, all mankind could do was gaze at the stars from Earth and wonder what it would be like to go into space. Man would look through telescopes and make theories on how the universe worked. During the mid-1900s, mankind finally was able to send a man into space and explore the wonders of space first hand. So why do humans explore space. Well, it is our fascination with the unknown. At first, all mankind did was look up and wonder how things became what they are now....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Free Essays
1856 words (5.3 pages)

The Future of Space Exploration Essay

- “Sheltered as we are by Earth's atmosphere and magnetic field, which deflect lethal radiation from space, we are like coddled children who have never ventured into a tough neighborhood” (Folger 2). Humans have been fascinated with space since the beginning of our time. Just like children and rough neighborhoods, we have tackled obstacle over obstacle to make it home again. In the end, we have a better knowledge and strength than before. The future of space exploration can assist us in answering the everlasting question of how the universe came to be....   [tags: Robots, Discoveries]

Strong Essays
1530 words (4.4 pages)

Frontier of the Future: America´s Space Exploration Essay

- ... With its crippling debt and increasing rates of unemployment, America needs job opportunity. Commercialized space exploration companies will create countless jobs in maintenance, research, construction, and various other fields essential to space programs already. From working in the mission control centers that would be necessary to run the newly formed operations to creating shuttles and other spacecraft, jobs of great variety would become available. These new companies or new branches of pre-existing companies, with the future in mind, will open the door for eager-minded American citizens across the nation....   [tags: funding, exploring, advancement, cosmos]

Strong Essays
643 words (1.8 pages)

Essay on It is Crucial to Keep Funding NASA

- “Sputnik marked the beginning of the "space race," a period of nearly twenty years during which fierce US and Soviet competition spurred both countries to make rapid progress in aeronautic engineering,” (Lee). This period of time birthed a new program from the American government, called the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, or NASA. NASA has been building rockets, training astronauts, and studying space for the benefit of science, the government, and the people of America since 1958....   [tags: space exploration, future knowledge and technology]

Strong Essays
1070 words (3.1 pages)

The Future Of The Nasa Space Program Essay

- More capital should be invested in space technology, and thereby the NASA program, in order to advance sustainable development technologies. It is undeniable that our global climate is changing because of decisions the human race made long ago. These historic moments that forever shaped our industrial and postindustrial world have been proven to have large and unprecedented side effects which now threaten our very way of life. However, space technologies and the programs that develop them are viable options in the management and treatment of these side effects....   [tags: NASA, Space exploration, Outer space]

Strong Essays
1291 words (3.7 pages)

Essay The Future Of Civilan Space Travel

- Space is a frontier that mankind has sought to concur for many years, but up until now if the average person entertained the idea of venturing into space within their lifetime they would not have been taken seriously by most, if not all, reasonable people. However, within the last few months several events have taken place that may lead that reasonable person to rethink his position on the matter of, privately funded civilian space travel. All this is now possible because a few people who shared a common goal gathered together and decided to further their cause for the benefit of all mankind....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Free Essays
1358 words (3.9 pages)

Space Exploration : The Space Program Essay

- The trip to the closest star at one mile an hour, would take around 70,000 years. To get that far, the space program will have to have better technology that we already have (Reed). The Gravity on the moon has one-sixth the gravity of Earth. Even though some people think space exploration is a waste of time, money, and resources, more advancements need to be made with space exploration because is creates jobs, a way to find more resources, and man kind needs a planet to fall back on. To begin to talk about the future of the space program, one must first read about the past....   [tags: Space exploration, NASA]

Strong Essays
1143 words (3.3 pages)

NASA's Future Essay

- In 2005 President Bush instituted the Constellation Program. This new program set out ambitious objectives for NASA to put people back on the moon by 2020, along with other grand exploration goals (Achenbach). When President Obama took office, he built a new plan for NASA which was placed n the NASA Authorization Act of 2010. President Obama’s plan would change not only NASA’s objectives but also its budget – turning NASA’s sights towards Mars and near-by asteroids (Malik) and increasing its budget nearly 6 billion dollars over the next five years (Foust)....   [tags: Space Exploration ]

Strong Essays
853 words (2.4 pages)