Freedom: Digital and Literal Essay

Freedom: Digital and Literal Essay

Length: 2501 words (7.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The internet has become an integral part of our lives, linking people overseas, transmitting ideas, and propelling innovation. In order to continue the innovations and links, governments and service providers should not regulate, restrict, or censor the internet.
The internet, as it stands today, serves as a medium for our entertainment, communication, and commercial needs. It is something many of us have come to take for granted. The original intended purpose of the first “internet,” however, goes back to the days of the Cold War where the ever looming threat of a nuclear missile attack prompted the U.S., as well as many other countries, to build a robust, fault-tolerant, and widely distributed computer network. By 1970, ARPANET had been created from research funded by the Department of Defense. ARPANET linked research facilities in the East and West coasts in a way that was unprecedented in terms of speed and cost. The internet was not commercialized until the last decade of the 20th century, after which it gained widespread popularity and was subsequently incorporated into many aspects of our lives. How different groups approach these problems are sometimes as different as night and day. All of these approaches, however, center around regulation, which is itself composed of issues such as anti-piracy laws, net neutrality, and freedom of speech.
The most recent of these issues concerns many pieces of “anti-piracy” legislation that have appeared before the United States’ Congress and before the European Union’s Parliament. In 2010, Congress attempted to quietly pass the Combating Online Infringements and Counterfeits Act, which would allow the suspension of websites that have been determined to be "dedicated to infringing acti...


... middle of paper ...


...ter Bomb’." Wired. (2012): 1. Web. 13 Apr. 2012.
Segal, David. "Stop the Internet Blacklist." The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 27 Nov. 2010. Web. 13 Apr. 2012.
Steigman, Daria. "Is Internet Access a Human Right?" Steigman Communications, LLC. 28 Feb. 2012. Web. 13 Apr. 2012.
Suderman, Peter. "Internet Cop." Reason. 01 Mar. 2011: 20. eLibrary. Web. 13 Apr. 2012.
Tait, Robert. "Censorship Fears Rise as Iran Blocks Access to Top Websites." The Guardian. Guardian News and Media, 03 Dec. 2006. Web. 13 Apr. 2012.
Tassi, Paul. "You Will Never Kill Piracy, and Piracy Will Never Kill You." Forbes. Forbes, 03 Feb 2012. Web. 13 Apr 2012.
Wagner, Adam. "Is Internet Access a Human Right?" The Guardian. Guardian News and Media, 01 Nov. 2012. Web. 13 Apr. 2012.
Wyden, Ron. "Press Releases." Wyden Places Hold on Protect IP Act. 26 May 2011. Web. 13 Apr. 2012.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Freedom both Digital and Literal Essay

- With recent events such as the Megaupload shutdown and occupy protests around the globe, the internet and its current state has been receiving much attention. The internet has become an integral part of our lives, link people overseas, transmitting ideas, and propelling innovation. Because of this, governments and service providers should not regulate, restrict, or censor the internet. The Internet we know today serves as a medium for our entertainment, communication, and commercial needs. It is something many of us have come to take for granted....   [tags: Censorship]

Powerful Essays
1810 words (5.2 pages)

Ethics In Digital Photojournalism Essay

- The instant we pick up a camera, the image has already been edited and the credibility of the photojournalist is already on the line. The ability and practice of people to be able to edit what goes into the composition of a photograph begins when they pick up a camera and even possibly when they decide to take a photograph of something. The work of a photojournalist is to relay images to the public via news sources in a way that gives people as much information about a topic as possible in the most neutral way possible....   [tags: technology, digital photography]

Powerful Essays
1166 words (3.3 pages)

Description of Digital Rights Management Essay

- With the explosive rise of digital media, computing devices and digital networks have allowed the ability for digital media to be distributed at a highly flexible and cost-efficient way. This has led to a change on how the media is being consumed, with more and more sales dropping for DVD’s and CD’s causing problems for many retailers, but on the other hand, digital media is rising in contrast. However, with the media being accessed digitally it also allows people to access, manipulate or even duplicate the media beyond the terms and conditions that was originally agreed upon....   [tags: piracy, digital media, digital rights]

Powerful Essays
1413 words (4 pages)

Essay on Storytelling Through Digital Media

- ‘The Matrix’ - A Non Linear Narrative The main focus of the first assessment was that of non linear multi narrative storytelling through digital media. The importance of structure in digital storytelling is emphasised by Miller (2004, pp 114) “In a work of digital storytelling, the structure not only supports the narrative and gaming elements but also helps determine the nature of the interactivity”. It was from this, that I realised how important it would be to structure my narrative effectively so that the user could enjoy the experience as much as possible....   [tags: Digital Media]

Powerful Essays
1974 words (5.6 pages)

The Digital Divide Essay

- People who use the internet regularly are exposed to a wide variety of subjects, news, and resources which are often taken for granted. People who cannot afford a computer, or internet access, as well as those who do not know why it is valuable, run the risk of being left behind in an age of information. This disparity is the driving force behind underdeveloped nations, under-achieving students, and an under-prepared workforce. The digital divide is one that must be bridged in order to allow the world to move forward on equal footing....   [tags: internet, information, digital literacy, Bowles]

Powerful Essays
1497 words (4.3 pages)

A Look into Digital Broadcasting Essay

- A Look into Digital Broadcasting Digital Broadcasting will have a fundamental effect on viewing patterns, popular culture and audience identity. This will be done firstly by looking at the history of the BBC and the original intention of Public Service Broadcasting. It will discuss how by John Reith’s successful approach to broadcasting, the BBC became a National Institution creating popular culture and a National Identity. It will examine how these first steps and ideas have major role in the introduction of Digital Broadcasting today and whether the initial ‘Reithian’ values have any meaning in today’s society....   [tags: Digital Broadcasting Technology Television Essays]

Powerful Essays
3096 words (8.8 pages)

Digital Firms Essay

- In these days of time, operating business firms through digital technology is essential to stay competitive in the business market. There are foundations when it comes to doing business within companies to survive. It is very important for companies to stay with their competitors or surpass them through information technology. There are strategic opportunities and advantages business organizations can strived for; if they implement the right steps within the organization. Just like anything in life, there are some issues or problems that can be address when dealing with digital technology through business firms....   [tags: digital technology, information management]

Powerful Essays
1043 words (3 pages)

Digital Technology Essay

- , I read a column that I found to be most delusional. It was an article about the dumbing down of America due to our love of technology. It talked about how the decline of printed media as a result of digital media is eroding our nation’s intellectual levels in all age groups. Our attention span as a whole has been drastically shortened due to our thirst for a quick fix of information. It then goes on to have the audacity to say that because of our overuse of digital media, we just don’t care about our understanding of what is around us anymore....   [tags: internet, social media, digital media]

Powerful Essays
1036 words (3 pages)

Digital Angel Essay

- Digital Angel What is Digital Angel. Digital Angel is a location and condition system that can alert you of the exact location or people, pets, or objects in real time. When you purchase the system, it comes with a clip-on system monitor and a ThermAlert watch. It will alert you when if the person wearing is in trouble, and since the monitor is accompanied with a Global Positioning System (GPS), you can pinpoint the person's location to 75 feet. You can also check the status of the person at any time of the day through a hotline, or visiting the website....   [tags: Digital Angel Technology Human Chips Essays]

Powerful Essays
1329 words (3.8 pages)

Freedom Essay

- Freedom remains the sole basis for American society as we know it. Without freedom the great nation of America would have never been founded. To understand the true principles of freedom, one must understand the scope of the word. Philosophical freedom encompasses the ability to make choices without restraints, while political freedom is the state of being free rather than in physical confinement. Despite the importance of these ideas to our founding fathers, freedom has lost much of its importance in modern American society....   [tags: Society Politics Freedom Liberty, reform]

Powerful Essays
1307 words (3.7 pages)