Four Months with Their Original Name: September, October, November, and December

Four Months with Their Original Name: September, October, November, and December

Length: 1802 words (5.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

September
September is the first of four months of the year that still has its original name after the Latin word for the number seven 'septem'. September is the seventh month of the old Roman calendar and that name has not changed when Julius Caesar made January the first month, which moved September to the ninth month of the year. The Anglo-Saxon name for September was Gerstmonath, Gerste being the Germanic word for barley, which was usually harvested during this month. September is the time of giving thanks to the gods and goddesses that ensured the harvest so far. We celebrate Mabon around the 21st of September and for us, nowadays, when most of us don't harvest anymore, we give our thanks for other reasons, because no matter how bad life is there is always something to be thankful for. September 1st is also the meteorological beginning of autumn.
The birthstone is the Sapphire which corresponds to September being the first month of the year related to the water element. It has a deep blue colour which is the basis for the belief of ancient times, that the earth is build upon a giant sapphire which reflection is what makes our sky so blue. Sapphire comes from the Greek “sapphirus” meaning blue. Among royalty and priests it was considered a sign for wisdom and purity. Their magickal meaning include protection against envy and poisoning and it was even used as a medicine against colic, rheumatism and mental illness, but it had to be powdered therefore.
The birth flowers are forget-me-not, morning glory and the aster. Aster is Latin for star and it was believed the burning aster leaves would ward of snakes. It stands for patience and daintiness and is a classic autumn flower. The forget-me-not was originally called the French equ...


... middle of paper ...


...rts/wiccan_five_elements.htm>.
"Full Moon." Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 17 Nov. 2013. Web. 26 Nov. 2013. .
"Monthly Full Moon Correspondences." About.com Paganism / Wicca. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 Nov. 2013. .
"Pagan." Ism: Beliefs, Rituals, History, and Facts. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 Nov. 2013. .
"PaganPages.org." PaganPagesorg RSS. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 Nov. 2013. .
"PaganPages.org." PaganPagesorg RSS. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 Nov. 2013. .
"PaganPages.org." PaganPagesorg RSS. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 Nov. 2013. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Graduation Speech - Original Writing

- When I first learned to write, it was 2000. I went to a private school for four year olds and while we were anticipating naptime, our teacher had something else in mind. She instructed us to write cursive and we responded with confused looks on our faces. Even at this young age, I could already clearly tell I was different than everyone else; my parents had established that I was going to be getting a higher education. And to get this higher education I would have to excel in reading and writing....   [tags: High school, Writing, Middle school]

Term Papers
1650 words (4.7 pages)

The Role of the Media On September 11 and During the Months That Followed the Attack

- The media played a vital part in forming the opinions of the American population both on and after September 11. Appeals to the emotions of post-September 11th America were demonstrated. Through television and print, the media attempted to control the minds of Americans by focusing on George Bush, the FBI, and the CIA, during the day of the attack and shortly after; the USA PATRIOT Act entered the spotlight in the weeks following the attacks. The media repeatedly used the phrase “high alert” in the days following the attacks....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1897 words (5.4 pages)

The Terrorist Attacks Of September 11 Essay

- The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 were horrific and traumatic events that affected not only the United States but had global ramifications as well. The events of that day produced immediate and long term effects on numerous aspects of society. The human tragedy in the loss of human life was immeasurable. The societal effects of 9/11 continue to be present even today as the war against terror continues. It is difficult to measure the societal impacts, but the economic cost of the attacks, have been and continue to be measured....   [tags: September 11 attacks, United States, September 11]

Term Papers
724 words (2.1 pages)

The Impact of September 11, 2001 Essay

- On September 11, 2001 a series catastrophic events occurred in New York City, New York. Al-Qaeda planned strategically conducted events, known as suicide attacks. Nineteen al-Qaeda members hijacked four commercial airplanes, including United Airlines Flight 93, American Airlines Flight 11, American Airlines Flight 77 and United Airlines 175. Two of the planes purposely crashed into the World Trade Center buildings. In addition, another plane crashed into the Pentagon in Arlington, VA. and the fourth plane crashed in Shanksville, Pennsylvania....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Term Papers
1210 words (3.5 pages)

Economic Impact of September 11th Essay

- September 11, 2001 was a day that Americans and the world for that matter will not soon forget. When two planes went into the twin towers of the World Trade Center and two others went into the Pentagon and a small town in Pennsylvania, the world was rocked. Everyone in the United States felt very vulnerable and unsafe from attacks that might follow. As a result, confidence in the CIA, FBI, and the airlines were shaken. People were scared to fly after what had happened. The events that unfolded on September 11th and the days that followed also profoundly effected the stock market....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1342 words (3.8 pages)

How September 11th Changed American Culture Essay

- As Americans, we used to worry little about war, having enough to eat, travel, freedom, and our most basic everyday activities. The tragic events of September 11, 2001 have forever changed the American way of life. We have become more concerned with our physical safety because of the endless terror attacks in America and other countries. Americans have certainly become more patriotic since September 11. Many of us watch the news to learn of any new terror attack or major offensive against cities in Iraq, Syria, Afghanistan, a variety of countries in Africa, Yemen and numerous other locations....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Term Papers
3775 words (10.8 pages)

Essay about September 11 Changed Everything

- “After 9/11, Everything Changed” It’s true. Most of us have not only heard this said, but we have said it ourselves. After 9/11, everything changed. How so, you ask. Many of our attitudes towards people of different ethnic backgrounds and religions have changed. Many of us have changed where we stand on the issue of immigration. We, as a country, as Americans, have changed in ways we never thought possible. Certain questions I need to address in analyzing this issue are: Do we have a greater sense of unity as Americans now or not....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Term Papers
1035 words (3 pages)

Essay about Islamic Terrorism and the Attack of September 11

-       “I am scared because I don't exactly know and understand the complex world problems that would cause people to direct their hatred toward America"  (Mary Coleman, New York Times News Service 9/14)       Even during the initial shock of September 11 that swelled my patriotism, even amidst the solemn mood of heroism that stirred my respect for the victims, their families, the New York City workers, and in spite of a sudden admiration for the media and for our leaders in government for their strength, resolve and composure, something in me knew that after the dust and debris had settled that this would be the essential question we would be left to wrestle with....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Term Papers
3149 words (9 pages)

Essay on American Economy after September 11th

- American Economy after September 11th "Every president is dealt a hand of cards," said John Shoven, a Stanford University economist and senior fellow at the conservative Hoover Institution. "Bush inherited a pretty tough hand." When President Bush took the office in the year 2000, things were moving smoothly on the surface. Undercover there was havoc. Tragedy of September 11th shook the world but it shook the US most. Technically speaking, one would say ofcourse it rocked the US, after all it did happen in US....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
902 words (2.6 pages)

Did September 11 Kill Democracy? Essay

- Did September 11 Kill Democracy.   The September 11 terrorist attack on America has provoked a strong response. Americans are at war. On television, from the mouths of politicians, in newspapers, this response is portrayed as unequivocal. As with Pearl Harbor, war has been declared on America. We have no choice but to respond with unpresidented military force. Other considerations might give us a pause, if they were not being quietly swept under the rug by those eagerly pressing for war. Isn't war and violence precisely what terrorists are after....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
885 words (2.5 pages)