Essay The First Australian Professional Teaching Standard

Essay The First Australian Professional Teaching Standard

Length: 1107 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Definition:
The first Australian Professional Teaching Standard is ‘Know students and how they learn’(AITSL, 2011). Understanding how students learn is a significant component of effective teaching (1.2 AITSL, 2011). Furthermore, effective teachers require an understanding of students physical, social and intellectual development and characteristics (1.1 AITSL, 2011). In addition, APST Standards require teachers to demonstrate both content and pedagogical knowledge through lesson plans (2.1 AITSL, 2011) with the curriculum content being structured and sequenced to facilitate effective learning (2.2 AITSL, 2011). However, it is also critical to have a repertoire of teaching strategies which are responsive to a diverse range of student backgrounds, including linguistic, cultural, religious, and socioeconomic (1.3 AITSL, 2011). An effective learning, in accordance with The Australian Curriculum and Assessment Reporting Authority, provides learners with general capabilities (knowledge, skills, behaviours and characteristics) and include understanding of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island students learning needs and incorporate differentiated teaching methods to meet the needs of specific students’ abilities (1.4 - 1.5 AITSL, 2011; Australian Curriculum; 2014). Knowing and understanding your students’ learning requirements may also require an understanding of legislation in regard to students with a disability (1.6 AITSL, 2011). Therefore the effective lessons plans to accomplish the ‘Every Student Succeeding’ policy (Education Queensland, 2016), will evolve through improvement and refinement, which Churchill et al. (2011) refer to as ‘reflective practice’ and APST Standards 6, in particular 6.3, which emphasizes the importance o...


... middle of paper ...


...kills. To become an authentic and effective teacher, I will need to know my students and how they learn, as outlined in The Australian Professional Teaching Standards (1.1 - 1.6 AITSL, 2011). Furthermore, to create the most effective learning environment for my students, I will need to continue to learn and improve my current skills and knowledge (6.1 - 6.4 AITSL, 2011).
Furthermore I will continually work towards, enhancing my content knowledge and incorporating effective teaching strategies (2.1 & 2.2 AITSL, 2011). And remain mindful of the need for numeracy and literacy skills across all disciplines (2.5 AITSL, 2011). I feel that through experience and transformation in these areas I will achieve a more effective, engaging and positive learning environment for all students as well as a deeper understanding of the Australian Professional Teaching Standards.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Teaching Methods Essay

- Before I start my final paper I would like to first take a minute and say that a lot of this class was review of different courses I have already taken. There are also different areas of the course that I am very familiar with because of personal experiences. However, there were a few areas that were very new to me and honestly helped me understand pervious classes. With that being said I with first talk about the teaching or instructional methods. . Research on the “teaching methods” or “instructional methods” result thousands of explanations of accomplishments – these are called methods....   [tags: information, teaching routine]

Better Essays
1092 words (3.1 pages)

The Australian Professional Standards For Teachers Essay

- The Australian Professional Standards for Teachers provide a framework, which clearly identifies the knowledge, practice and professional knowledge necessary to achieve each standard in a teacher’s career. The Standards aim to enhance all students learning outcomes by providing key indicators of teacher quality to assist the preparation, support and progress of teachers (Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards [BOSTES] 2014). This essay will examine the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) Standard One: “Know students and how they learn” (2011, p.3) by comparing and contrasting the expectations of a graduate and lead teacher....   [tags: Education, Educational psychology, Learning]

Better Essays
2051 words (5.9 pages)

The Standards That Underpin The Whole Of The Teaching Profession Essay

- As a graduate teacher it is important to understand the standards that underpin the whole of the teaching profession. The Australian Professional Standards for Teachers (the Standards) came about after extensive evidence was put forward by the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for young Australians in 2008 to say that Australia needed to improve its teacher quality in order to be considered as a world-class country in education (Teacherstandards.aitsl.edu.au, 2014). The key elements of what constitutes quality teaching make up seven standards and are broken down into the three domains of professional knowledge, professional practice and professional engagement....   [tags: Lesson plan, Teacher, Education]

Better Essays
2124 words (6.1 pages)

Essay about Questions On Teaching And School Leadership

- Section 1: AITSL Graduate Standard My goals for this aspect: (SMART goals – Specific, Measurable, Accurate, Relevant, and Time bound) Actions to develop my capability: (Be specific about what actions you intend to undertake and the support and professional learning you will require). Indicators of success: What will you/others see if your goal is achieved. Short term goals (achieved by this semester) 1.3 Demonstrate knowledge of teaching strategies that are responsive to the learning strengths and needs of students from diverse linguistic, cultural, religious and socioeconomic backgrounds(Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership [AITSL], 2014) By the end of prac I will ob...   [tags: Education, School, Goal, Knowledge]

Better Essays
956 words (2.7 pages)

IFRS in Australian Government Essay

- In 2004, Australia became one of the first countries to impose IFRS on local government with full compliance taking place for the 2005/2006 financial year (Pilcher & Dean, 2009; Wee, Tarca & Chang, 2007). As the transition happen, AASB 9 was issued to replace AASB 139 as it applies to financial assets (Locke, 2013). The objective of AASB 139 is to establish principles for recognising and measuring financial assets, financial liabilities and some contracts to buy or sell non-financial items (Locke, 2013)....   [tags: Australian Accounting Standards Board]

Better Essays
1109 words (3.2 pages)

Australia has Embraced a Less than Ideal Accounting Standard Essay

- The Corporate Law Economic Reform Program No 9 discussion paper, recommended that Australia adopt the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) which commenced 1st January 2005. A key driver for this recommendation was realization that Australia was part of an increasingly global network. It was suggested that adoption of the IFRS would lead to “high quality, internationally accepted accounting standards which will facilitate cross border comparisons by investors”, (CLERP No.9 2003). A benefit of improved comparability of accounting information would be enhanced bilateral capital flows at a lower cost to Australian firms....   [tags: ifrs, accounting standards, australian firms]

Better Essays
3148 words (9 pages)

Essay about The Australian National Curriculum

- A National Curriculum has been of some importance within the Australian Governments for some time. Previous national planned curriculums have been developed and failed a number of times. The Australian Governments with the guidance of the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians have developed ‘The Australian Curriculum’; A planned national curriculum from Foundation to Year 12 covering a variety of learning areas or subjects catering for Diversity, Differences and the needs of the 21st Century....   [tags: Australian Education, Australia]

Better Essays
2358 words (6.7 pages)

Analysis Of The Australian Accounting Standard Board Essay

- Background AASB 15 Revenue from Contracts with Customer, which is published by the Australian Accounting Standard Board (AASB), is the Australian equivalent to its international namesake IFRS 15. This joint project is purposed to enhance and standardise their current requirement for accounting for revenue recognition. Thereby, the new standards apparently replace entire inconsistencies accounting pronouncement includes AASB 111 Construction Contracts, AASB 118 Revenue and related interpretations....   [tags: Financial statements]

Better Essays
1088 words (3.1 pages)

Essay about Teaching Standard English in Urban Schools

- How Does an Educator Teach Standard English in Urban Schools, and is it Necessary. For the first section of my Inquiry Article, I posed the question: "How Does an Educator Teach Standard English in Urban Schools, and is it Necessary. I chose this question because I plan to teach in an urban school district, and I know urban students often have a difficult time learning to speak Standard English. I also know that speaking non Standard English can affect a student's acceptance and advancement in society....   [tags: Teaching Education]

Better Essays
1583 words (4.5 pages)

Essay on Land Rights for the First Australians

- Land Rights for the First Australians Australian Aborigines have had a traditional relationship with their land since they first came to the Australian continent somewhere from 40,000 to 60,000 years ago to 120,000 years ago (9:9). Before Europeans came and settled the same land, the Aborigines had their own law system, trading systems, and way of caring for their land (12:1-2). Then the First Fleet of Europeans landed at Botany Bay in New South Wales in 1788. The expedition lead by the new Governor Phillip, but directed by King George the Third, was told to endeavor by every possible means to open intercourse with the natives, and to conciliate their affections, enjoining all our subjects...   [tags: Australian Aborigines History Essays]

Better Essays
3999 words (11.4 pages)