Fire Arms on Campus: Ban for Less Violence, or Legalize in Sense of Protection?

Fire Arms on Campus: Ban for Less Violence, or Legalize in Sense of Protection?

Length: 1563 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Due to the current mayhem of sudden violence on campuses, many pro-gun activists have agreed that, not only professors, but students also should be allowed to carry guns on campuses. The Bill of Rights states that American people have the right to bear arms. That should be sacred to the people of America instead of infringed or taken away. But what cost comes to those who have committed violent crimes or have been suicidal? According to the Center of Disease Control and Prevention, in 2010 6,300 out of 100,000 people were harmed due to self-inflicted injury with firearms. That leaves roughly 93, 700 people that did not use guns for self harm (5). The articles also say that 16,000 out of 100,000 were used for homicide in the year of 2012 (83). College students should be allowed to feel safe and protected, but only after being given a large number of tests.
College students and staff should have the sense of safety that any other perpetrator has that has instigated in a school shooting. Imagine how safe the school shooters feel when being the one and only person in the entire building who has a gun. The mental state that the school shooter has is clearly not stable. Which brings the argument to this: When allowing concealed carry, why not do a number of back-ground tests, mental tests, and a long process in order to obtain a concealed carry license? Some of these things are already done to people who actually take the concealed carry test, but if a student wants to carry a gun on campus, the student must work for it. Concealed-carry shouldn’t be easy to obtain, but it should be offered at least.
A number of anti-gun advocates have based many of their opinions on pure fear. After the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary Schoo...


... middle of paper ...


...about "mission-oriented killers". 25 April. 2013. The Eagle. Web. 08 March 2014
Murphy, Sherry. Jiaquan, Xu. Kochanek, Kenneth. “National Vital Statistics Reports” Deaths:
Final Data for 2010. 61.4 (2010): 8-53 Print. 4 March. 2014.
Sherfinski, David. THE WASHINGTON TIMES. “College Presidents Oppose More Guns ON Campus.” Washington Times, The (2013): 3. Web. 17 Feb. 2014.
Villahermosa Jr., Jesus M. "Guns Don't Belong in the Hands of Administrators, Professors, or Students." Chronicle of Higher Education 18 Apr. 2008. Web. 8 Mar. 2014.
Wiley, Nikki. Hall, Michael. “Keep guns off campus, college president says.” Brunswick News. The (GA) 21 Dec. 2012. Web. 17 Feb. 2014.
Wiseman, Rachel. “Campaign For Right To Carry Concealed Guns On Campuses Gains Traction.” Education Digest: Essential Readings Condensed For Quick Review. 77.7 (2012): 53-56. Print. 17 Feb. 2014

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about College Life: Benefits of Living On-Campus

- Numerous studies all over the world have made assumptions about the academic performance of students staying on campus and those who commute to campus every day. Some studies suggests that those students who live on campus tend to have an advantage over those who don’t (Peterson, 1975). In this literature review we will look at the different views of people who researched the subject. Peterson (1975) suggested that those students involved in activities on campus “are better off financially, educationally and in other ways to begin with....   [tags: campus residence halls, appartments]

Term Papers
1642 words (4.7 pages)

Essay about College University Campus Vs. Small College Campus

- Big College Campus vs. Small College Campus When you are looking at colleges, you must compare and contrast the benefits and disadvantages between each college. One of the main things you think about is the college campus itself. Whether big or small, the campus atmosphere is important to college success. As you analyze the information they give you about their campus amenities, you will be able to see the major contrasts in large and small colleges. A big college campus and a small college campus can differ in residential services, in social activities, and in well-managed facilities....   [tags: University, College, Satellite campus, Campus]

Term Papers
756 words (2.2 pages)

Essay about Enroll in a Closed Campus

- ... Students mature and become more responsible by attending all classes and completing all homework, which is very productive of students. Keeping an open door campus allows community members to use campus resources such as book stores and the library, which is very beneficial. In spite of all the pros to having an open door policy on college campuses, the policy should be avoided. Students who leave campus to go to retail stores for products can also find those goods on campus in places such as the café, book store, or gifts shops....   [tags: less stress, higher grades]

Term Papers
997 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on Parking Policies on Campus

- As a non-traditional student of the University Mary Hardin Baylor, I can say parking policies could use some changes. I understand the need for parking policies for safety and security reasons, but some parking rules are just ridiculous. My family has four vehicles, only one of them has a UMHB parking sticker. This sticker was issued at registration; it is one of the many hidden fees that are added into tuition. I sometimes drive different vehicles to campus. When I drive different vehicles, I have to go to campus police to get a temporary parking permit....   [tags: Campus Issues]

Term Papers
801 words (2.3 pages)

How Can Being Sick On Campus Be Less Stressful? Essay

- To be able to fix a problem or create something new to your fullest ability, you must be passionate about what you’re doing. So, when we were first asked to come up with a few ideas, I decided to start a list (or as the book Creative Confidence calls it, “a bug list”) that would include all the things I saw in my day that “bugged” me and that I would be passionate to maybe find a solution to. This list included parking, walking between campuses, being sick at school, and many more, but I stuck with those three and then moved forward with one that I was very passionate about....   [tags: Idea, Thought, Mind, Better]

Term Papers
1577 words (4.5 pages)

Essay on Student Service Proposal: Campus Escort

- Safety. This is the top priority for most Universities. Safety is important because without it danger can take the life of a dear student along with their financial contribution to the school. But it is even more important because if something were to occur to a student it could taint the University’s reputation, meaning that the school would have to live with it’s students being in fear that the same thing could happen to them. For example, Brianna Denison a resident of Reno, Nevada was kidnapped from her friend’s home....   [tags: safe, reputation, campus, security]

Term Papers
927 words (2.6 pages)

Weapons on Campus Essay

- We should all be allowed to carry a weapon to protect ourselves and our families from those that want to bring harm to us. Gun control is a topic that seems to be one of our nation’s biggest concerns. Every night it seems as if we watch a new horror story of innocent lives being taken by bullets from a locally bought gun. Our free nation has become a war zone right before our eyes. Our schools and college campuses have become the target to those who abuse the rights to carry a concealed weapon. Our constitution states we have the right to bear arms, to protect ourselves and our families....   [tags: gun control, personal protection, 2nd ammendment]

Free Essays
521 words (1.5 pages)

My Own Sense Of Sight Essay

- When I removed my own sense of sight, the first thoughts were of complete fear. Vision is an essential part of the human experience and to suddenly deprive the body of light is a shock to the system. Alternately, when deprived of the ability to hear my body adjusted relatively quickly to the experience and even relaxed in the silence. In the two hours spent without vital senses, I had hoped to come gain an understanding of life as an individual with a permanent disability would. Instead, I came to realize that I could never fully understand the day to day life without visual or auditory ability....   [tags: Sense, Perception, Hearing, Sound]

Term Papers
1461 words (4.2 pages)

Essay about Mothers in Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility

- Mothers in Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility      "I can no more forget it, than a mother can forget her suckling child". Jane Austen wrote these words about her novel, Sense and Sensibility, in a letter to her sister Cassandra in 1811. Such a maternal feeling in Austen is interesting to note, particularly because any reader of hers is well aware of a lack of mothers in her novels. Frequently we encounter heroines and other major characters whom, if not motherless, have mothers who are deficient in maturity, showing affection, and/or common sense....   [tags: Sense Sensibility Essays Jane Austen]

Term Papers
1504 words (4.3 pages)

Essay on An Analysis of Common Sense

- As the year 1776 began in the American colonies, tension with King George III’s England was at perhaps an all-time high.  Americans were frustrated with the actions of their rulers overseas.  Taxes and trade restrictions had been placed on them, and British and mercenary soldiers occupied their towns and cities.  There had even been fighting at Lexington, Concord, and Bunker Hill.  As America grew, England’s hold on it tightened, and a few voices began speaking of independence.  The loudest and most convincing of these belonged to Thomas Paine, born in England and living in Philadelphia.  His pamphlet, Common Sense, expressed the argument for American independence in a way no one had before...   [tags: Common Sense]

Term Papers
1679 words (4.8 pages)