Essay on Financial Problems Become Marital Problems

Essay on Financial Problems Become Marital Problems

Length: 2154 words (6.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

According to financial expert Larry Burkett, eighty-five to ninety percent of surveyed couples claim finances were the main reason for their divorce (Rainey 19). Soaring over adultery, abuse, and incompatibility, financial problems are disintegrating marriages of all age groups in America. The Time magazine article, “Will the Market Kill Your Marriage?” contains three theories from different standpoints, offering explanations for dissolution caused by finances. The therapist theory claims that marital issues stem from hopelessness caused by financial stress. Secondly, the marriage counselor theory argues couples without former communication about money crumple when the funds start to fall. Lastly, the lawyer theory colorfully concludes that “money provides the soft fatty tissue that insulates the marital skeleton; once it’s cut back and people get a good look at the guts of their relationship, they want out” (Luscombe 6). Many financially struggling couples experience a combination of the causes, but no marriage is doomed. The couple should to band together and overcome these challenges.
Needless to say, men and women operate differently. The differences can be an outstanding positive in a relationship, but only if the couple works together and uses each other’s individual talents. Typically, women, as relationship-oriented beings, are more inclined to reason with emotion, while men tend to stick to logic. Couples can acquire cohesive, practical decisions by collaborating the two points of view (Dayton 20). When couples fail to heed to each other’s views, both spouses feel the pressure, but not as a team. This change of perspective is the leak that allows a flood of problems to soon roll into the marriage.
When faced with financ...


... middle of paper ...


...s, Hers or Ours?” Crown.org. Crown Financial Ministries, n.d. Web. 2 Oct. 2011.
Iowa State University. "Tracking Your Spending." Washington: Extension and Outreach, 2007. Web. 2 Oct. 2011.
Jones, Monica. “Financial Infedelity." Ebony Oct. 2006: 76+. Academic Search Premiere. Web. 25 Sept. 2011.
Karst, Darlene. Personal interview. 7 Oct. 2011.
Landers, Ann. “Giving and Forgiving: Of Such Is Marriage.” Chicago Tribune 18 Oct. 1987. Web.
Luscombe, Belinda, and Lina Lofaro. “Will the Market Kill Your Marriage?” Time 3 Nov. 2008: 62-63. Academic Search Premiere. Web. 25 September 2011.
Rainey, Dennis. “How Do We Deal with Financial Difficulties?” Family Life.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 29 Sept. 2011.
“The Truth about Budgeting." Dave Ramsey.com. Lampo Licensing, 3 Aug. 2009. Web. 2 Oct. 2011.
Tyson, Eric. Personal Finance for Dummies, 2nd ed. Foster City: IDG 1996. Print.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Marital Relations of Couples in Poverty Essay

- Divorce is the legal separation of a married couple most often caused by unhappiness and distrust between the two spouses. Poverty is the state of being extremely poor and lacking money, goods and support. In this paper I will be discussing the impact of low-income couples and how income, specifically in the poverty range, will affect the rates of divorce. Studies show that families in poverty are more likely to get a divorce because of the psychological stress. The goal of this paper is to discover whether economic hardships are a cause for divorce or rather a glue that will keep a couple together because the gains of staying together outweigh the costs of separating....   [tags: divorce rises with poverty]

Term Papers
1298 words (3.7 pages)

The Problem Of Financial Insecurity Essay

- Throughout time there has always been conflict among families relating to finances. Money is typically one of those topics no one enjoys discussing, but when it is related to the well being of your family these problems need to be communicated. Recent economy issues have created an excess amount of financial conflict causing other issues to occur amongst families. These financial problems stem from many different factors such as a family member being laid off, their job producing a lower income or bad spending habits amid the family’s individuals....   [tags: Marriage, Economics, Family, Conflict]

Term Papers
1328 words (3.8 pages)

Essay about Domestic Violence and Social Problems

- Domestic violence is a devastating social problem that impacts every sector of our population. Domestic violence is a pattern of abusive behavior in any relationship that is used by one partner to gain or maintain power and control over another intimate partner(USDOJ,2012). Domestic violence can be physical, economic, emotional, sexual, or psychological. Physical domestic violence is an attempt to impose physical injury such as grabbing, slapping, hitting, biting, etc. Physical violence can also be withholding necessary resources to sustain health such as medication, food, sleep, or forcing alcohol or other drug use....   [tags: abusive behavior, relationship, violence]

Term Papers
1257 words (3.6 pages)

Domestic Violence and the Effect it has on Family Essay examples

- “Domestic violence is a violent confrontation between family or household members involving physical harm, sexual assault, or fear of physical harm” (Stewart & Croudep, 1998-2012). In most places domestic violence is looked on as one of the higher priorities when trying to stop crime. Domestic Violence cases are thought to be influenced by the use of alcohol, drugs, stress or anger but in reality, they are just learned behaviors by the batterer. These habits can be stopped as long as one seeks help (Stewart & Croudep, 1998-2012)....   [tags: Financial Stability, Child Anxiety]

Term Papers
1602 words (4.6 pages)

Gambling Creates Lots of Problems Essay

- ... In addition, problem gamblers also consume more medical resources, such as emergency department visits (as sited in Black, Shaw, McCormick & Allen, 2013). Furthermore, gamblers are more likely to have substance abuse. More time gamblers spend on gambling, more likely they will have substance abuse (Turner, Macdonald, Bartoshuk & Zangeneh, 2008, p. 233). There are several solutions for gambling. The first solution is governments’ regulation. Governments have taken measures such as limiting gamblers’ access to money, introducing cashless gaming, and limiting the rate of loss (Healey, 2011, p....   [tags: financial problems, family issues]

Free Essays
907 words (2.6 pages)

The Financial Problems Of The American Economy Essay

- In America it is a very popular opinion that if they start buying American, their financial problems will be solved. Many consumers are convinced that, with purely national consumption, they can bolster our economy and give strength back to the American dollar. They also like to believe that, without relying on foreign suppliers, their prices will drop drastically. The belief is that they are getting overcharged for goods and services that they can supply themselves. They believe that by purchasing only domestic products they will keep more profits in the U.S., not only in terms of the profits given to suppliers, but also in terms of tax revenue that is charged for products....   [tags: United States, North America]

Term Papers
1395 words (4 pages)

Essay on The Issue Of Marital Dilemma

- Marital Dilemma Research shows that 41% of first time, 60% of second time, and 73% of all third time marriages will all end the same way, split and separated (WF Lawyers 1). Obviously there are many obstacles that could lead to divorce such as location, religion, and even political association. Regardless, it is my firm belief that one leading cause of divorce, which is commonly overlooked, is early marriage. Young couples should not marry at an extremely young age, because of the lack of maturity, lack of life skills, and lack of financial stability....   [tags: Marriage, Divorce, Alimony, Husband]

Term Papers
2128 words (6.1 pages)

Essay about School Uniforms Don’t Address Big Problems

- School Uniforms Don’t Address Big Problems Can anyone believe that school uniforms help students achieve good on their health and financial problems. Many people, schools, and even state governments have been in conflict over uniforms every since they went popular to the United States in the 1980s, even though they started way before that. Although many opponents might suggest that school uniforms bring improvements, there are too many drawbacks on a school uniform to show that they are nothing more than a bad idea for students everywhere....   [tags: tradition, british style, financial problems]

Term Papers
1565 words (4.5 pages)

Essay on Fiancial Problems

- Money. Can money buy everything. Can money buy love. I have a dilemma that I can't seem to figure out. I’m so confuse and don’t know what to do now. Things happened so fast that I wish I could freeze the hand of time so that I can think for a while. I remember I have been with someone for 6 months. Before we met each other many of my friends been talking about her. When I first saw her I have this weird feeling inside of me and for the first time in my life I felt in love. So we talked and a couple days later we got hooked up....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
695 words (2 pages)

Financial Statements Essay

- Financial Statements basically show the historical performance or record of the company at some previous point of time. By the time when financial statements are made public, changes are many economical areas such as market conditions, currency exchange rate and inflations can change the values of assets and liabilities. In this case there often exist discrepancies between book value of assets and their market values. In above case there might be companies that are healthy and many go through period of financial distress....   [tags: Economy, Financial Distress]

Term Papers
2290 words (6.5 pages)