Essay on Final Fantasy to World of Warcraft: The Benefits of Video Games

Essay on Final Fantasy to World of Warcraft: The Benefits of Video Games

Length: 1575 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

In the 21st century, society is noticing a drastic change in the new generation. Going outside has become a thing of the past for some and many parents struggle to get their children to stop playing video games. Submersed in the world of violent video games, society has started to scorn the idea of them. Though video games seem to have a lot of drawbacks, other parts of society encourage the development of video games. While many believe that video games are detrimental to society they actually hold many benefits for all age ranges.
William Higinbotham, a nuclear physicist lobbied for nuclear nonproliferation as the first chair of the Federation of American Scientists, created the first video game Tennis for Two. At Brookhaven's lab's annual visitors' day on October 18, 1958 Tennis for Two was first introduced to the public. Tennis for Two, a two player game that consisted of "separate controllers that were connected to an analog computer" and the use of an "oscilloscope for a screen" ("The First Video Game?"). Nine years later, Ralph Baer, a German-born television engineer, and his coworkers designed the first video game console the Brown Box that worked on a standard television ("A History of Video Game Consoles"). In the past the purpose of video games was not to make a profit, but to offer people a way to have fun in a new way.
In 2014, more people are taking advantage of the virtual communication aspects of video games as they become more advanced. Brain researcher Jay Pratt, professor of psychology at the University of Toronto stated, "playing [action] video games changes the ability to learn, to finding and integrating new information" (Trudeau, 2010). According to neuroscientist Laura Sergio's fMRI studies "non-gamers pre...


... middle of paper ...


... Video Game Consoles." Time. Time Inc., n.d. Web. 20 Mar. 2014.
Johnson, Daniel. "The Brain Gain: Why Video Games Can Make People Happy." The Sydney Morning Herald 9 Oct. 2013: n. pag. EBSCOhost. Web. 28 Feb. 2014.
Kirby, Jason. "Brain Fitness and Video Game Benefits." Maclean's 21 May 2012: 25. Student Research Center. Web. 2 Mar. 2014.
Martin, Michel. "What Can We Learn From Video Games?" NPR. 18 Apr. 2012. Television.
"Reasons for Kids to Play Video Games." Kanata Kourier Standard 20 Feb. 2014: n. pag. EBSCOhost. Web. 2 Mar. 2014.
"Study Finds Video Games Help Seniors' Balance." ABC Premium News. 4 June 2012. Television.
Trudeau, Michelle. "Video Games Boost Brain Power, Multitasking Skills." NPR. 20 Dec. 2010. Television.
Vedantam, Shankar. "Mental-Health Benefits of Video Games Studied." The Hamiliton Spectator 23 Aug. 2009: n. pag. EBSCOhost. Web. 3 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The World of Warcraft Essay

- ... Guild membership is voluntary, and the majority of guilds have rules that outline the expectations of being a member. 2. Participants bring resources to the table (McFarland & Gomez, 2013). Generally there is the understanding that guild members should be willing to share their resources with other guild members. As outlined on the WOWWiki (2013), “you shouldn’t expect free handouts for no effort”. 3. The process of choice is where mutually acceptable trades are arranged (McFarland & Gomez, 2013)....   [tags: online role-playing game guilds]

Powerful Essays
875 words (2.5 pages)

An Individual Who Plays World Of Warcraft Essays

- 1. As an individual who plays World of Warcraft, this sounds like an all-too-familiar occurrence. While I would say that it wasn’t very nice to attack the memorial service, I would not deem it “wrong” or “immoral”. Quite simply, it is a game. One of the objectives in World of Warcraft is to dominate other players. What the players are doing at the time of their demise is of no significance. It would have been great to see or hear that the opposing guild was kind enough to leave the memorial service alone and possibly even join in peacefully and pay their respects, I do not feel that it was wrong for them to have done what they did....   [tags: Morality, Ethics, Immanuel Kant, Kidney]

Powerful Essays
1343 words (3.8 pages)

The Ysera Realm of World of Warcraft Essay

- The virtual worlds were good for doing what was impossible to do in the physical world rather than simply produce replicates of physical reality (Yee, 2009). This is why most people including myself, although a constant gamer, enjoy the experiences of the virtual world. The virtual world is an escape route from the actual realities of the world. This paper is going to describe my experience in The Ysera Realm of World of Warcraft MMORPG. Avatars are a key component of the virtual world and we rely on them a means of living digitally while fully inhabiting in the world (Taylor, 2002)....   [tags: Personal Narrative]

Free Essays
1933 words (5.5 pages)

Essay about A Annotated Bibliography On The World Of Warcraft

- TeslaCrypt started as a ransomware Trojan. It resembles CryptoLocker in function and form but doesn 't share any code with it, which proves that TeslaCrypt is developed independently. It used to target game-play data for some computer games, but newer versions of the TeslaCrypt affect other types of files as well. At the beginning it searched for file extensions that were related to a number of games, including Call of Duty, Minecraft, World of Tanks and World of Warcraft. The targeted files by TeslaCrypt were mainly the player profiles, save data, game mods and custom maps....   [tags: Cryptography, Encryption, Key, Cipher]

Powerful Essays
859 words (2.5 pages)

The Raid Of World Of Warcraft Expansions Essay

- If you have played a MMORPG extensively, then chances are you have been part of a raid. Raiding can be a difficult process on its own but there are some people working even harder to ensure everything runs as smooth as possible. As a raid leader in two World of Warcraft expansions I have had many more responsibilities than the regular player. Some of the things the leaders have to take care of are planning, preparing, forming, raiding, dividing loot, and wrapping up the raid. The first thing a raid leader has to do is plan the coming raid....   [tags: Leadership, Boss]

Powerful Essays
1462 words (4.2 pages)

World of Warcraft Game Review Essay

- I have chosen to review the” World of Warcraft” also known as WOW. This game is more than a simple role playing game with dice. It is so much more than a Nintendo or a Sega game. The game consists of choosing a faction, Race, Class, and what to make your character look like. There are Quests, Dungeons, Raids, Professions, Guilds, Battle grounds, and arenas. It is so involved it takes months if not years to reach a point where I have done all I can do. However it keeps expanding through expansion packs, provided by the creators....   [tags: Gaming]

Powerful Essays
1186 words (3.4 pages)

Playing World Of Warcraft Is A Common Form Of Relaxation Essay

- Through a considerable portion of my years as a teenager and now as a young adult, there are days, weeks, and even months that elapse where I feel stressed and confused. Though it took a moment to figure out, I have formed several ways to reduce these feelings, consequently allowing me to revert back to a relaxed and at peace mentality. Whether it is unwinding and enjoying playing World of Warcraft, clearing my head of distractions through meditation, or playing music to stay comfortable on the road....   [tags: Psychology, Anxiety, Worry, Mind]

Powerful Essays
722 words (2.1 pages)

Fantasy Orientation in Children Essay

- ... Half the children were told a story about a fantasy world involving an evil robot and astronauts, while the rest were told a story about two body dodging a babysitter. The basic story line was the same, retrieving an object without the villain noticing it. After the session the children were questioned to ensure whether they understood it fully. Then they were given a real life scenario to solve which required the use of same tactics as used in the story. The children who heard realistic stories were able to solve the issue much better than the ones who heard the fantasy stories....   [tags: distinguisihing reality from fantasy]

Powerful Essays
2008 words (5.7 pages)

World of Warcraft (WOW) Essay

- World of Warcraft (WOW) Introduction According to the World of Warcraft Community Site, World of Warcraft is “a massively multiplayer online game…enabling thousands of players to come together online and battle against the world and each other. Players from across the globe can leave the real world behind and undertake grand quests and heroic exploits in a land of fantastic adventure” (“World of Warcraft Guide“). Although the origins of MMORPGs can be traced to the 1970’s, the release of Ultima Online and Everquest, commonly called UO and EQ respectively, in the late 1990’s brought MMORPGs to a broader PC gaming audience....   [tags: essays research papers fc]

Powerful Essays
2404 words (6.9 pages)

Fantasy in Theatre Essay

- Fantasy in Theatre In preperation for our performance on the above subject, we firstly listened to several pieces of fantasy music as a guided visualisation in which we were asked to imagine going through different doors and to visualise what was behind them. This then inspired us to experiment with diferent stylistic devices to include in our performance. We were given two pieces of text that was goin to be the scope for our piece of Drama, they were: A Midsummer Night's Dream - A play by William Shakespeare....   [tags: Fantasy Shakespeare Theatre Drama Essays]

Free Essays
1115 words (3.2 pages)