Essay on Farm to Table

Essay on Farm to Table

Length: 1251 words (3.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

“Don’t put that in your mouth!” Many of us remember our parents saying those very words whenever we would try to sample some odd find, whether it was a toy, rock or plain old dirt. Nowadays, more and more people are saying just that in regards to fruits and vegetables grown the conventional way, and saying yes to organically grown produce. From healthier food to an economic boost to helping protect our environment, organic produce has several advantages over regular produce.
Perhaps the most important benefit is to the consumer, in terms of health benefits. More and more studies are showing that organic produce may contain more of the stuff that’s good for our bodies: vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Nutritionist Virginia Worthington found there were significantly more nutrients in organically-grown produce and grains than in their conventionally-grown counterparts after evaluating 41 published studies weighing the differences between organically grown and conventionally grown fruits, vegetables, and grains (Worthington 161-173). Also, University of California at Davis researchers compared the antioxidant levels in corn, marionberries and strawberries grown using conventional, organic and sustainable methods in a 2003 study. The results:
Antioxidant levels in sustainably grown corn were 58.5 percent higher than conventionally grown corn, while organically and sustainably grown marionberries had approximately 50 percent more antioxidants than conventionally grown berries. Sustainably and organically grown strawberries had about 19 percent more antioxidants than their conventional counterparts (“Nutritional Considerations”).
Many other studies have comparable findings, yet further research is still needed to fully determin...


... middle of paper ...


...Farm Performance in Minnesota" mda.state.mn.us. University of Minnesota. 2008. PDF file. 28 Apr. 2011
"Nutritional Considerations." organicitsworthit.org. Organic Trade Association. n.d. Web. 5 May 2011.
“Organic Fruit and Vegetable Sales.” Chart. n.p. 5 May 2011.
Reuben, Suzanne H. “Reducing Environmental Cancer Risk: What We Can Do Now.” deainfo.nci.nih.gov. National Cancer Institute. April 2010. PDF file. 5 May 2011.
Riddle, Jim. “The Constellation of Organic Values.” newfarm.rodaleinstitute.org. Rodale Institute. 10 Nov. 2005. Web. 20 Apr. 2011.
Worthington, Virginia. “Nutritional Quality of Organic Versus Conventional Fruits, Vegetables, and Grains.” The Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine. 7.2 (2001): 161–173. EBSCOhost. Web. 5 May 2011.
Zelman, Kathleen M. “How to Eat Organic Foods on a Budget.” webmd.com. 12 Sept. 2008. Web. 20 Apr. 2011.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Farm to Table

- “Don’t put that in your mouth!” Many of us remember our parents saying those very words whenever we would try to sample some odd find, whether it was a toy, rock or plain old dirt. Nowadays, more and more people are saying just that in regards to fruits and vegetables grown the conventional way, and saying yes to organically grown produce. From healthier food to an economic boost to helping protect our environment, organic produce has several advantages over regular produce. Perhaps the most important benefit is to the consumer, in terms of health benefits....   [tags: Nutrition ]

Strong Essays
1251 words (3.6 pages)

Symbolism and Interpretation in Animal Farm Essay example

- Symbolism and Interpretation in Animal Farm When Orwell published Animal Farm in 1945, a popular belief held that the Soviet Union was an honorable nation. Orwell hoped to write a novel that exposed the murderous truth of the Soviet System; he employed allegory to show a truth that remained unclear to many. As an allegory on early 20th Century Russia, ANIMAL FARM introduces its audience to a wide array of characters--each serving as a symbol. The table below provides a list of fictional characters, events, and items from the film ANIMAL FARM, and the real-life counterparts they appear to represent....   [tags: Animal Farm George Orwell Essays]

Strong Essays
793 words (2.3 pages)

Corruption on a Socialist Farm Essay

- Corruption of socialist ideals in the Soviet Union caused wrongful use of power. In the book Animal Farm many forms of corruption are shown, such as, the animals trust propaganda as a truth which gives the pigs what they want. Also the abuse of power through language is repeatedly displayed. Rituals among all other forms of abuse are a tactic portrayed in trying to reinforce the loyalty of the people. The animals trust propaganda as the truth, which gives the pigs the power they desire. Manipulation of animals is a recurring motif in this book such as when Napoleon leads all the animals to believe that snowball was the cause of all the misfortune on the farm and he offers “Animal Hero, Secon...   [tags: George Orwell's Animal Farm]

Strong Essays
517 words (1.5 pages)

The Founding Aaron 's Farm Essay

- y 1861 Aaron’s farm was in its 14th year with Aaron improving for cultivation a few acres every year or so that would increase the modest family wealth. With Eliza they had capped the family size at five children with John being the eldest at 18 along with his brothers William Henry 15, Alonzo 12 and the young sisters Caroline 9 and Margaret 3. Over the past decade Aaron decided to have the English Methodist’s to become his guiding spirit, no longer being indifferent to religion. Evidently he had not been persuaded by his great grandfather’s experience with Quakerism and the rather recent conversion of his elderly great uncles Jeremiah and Septimus to the Friends....   [tags: Family, Sibling, Farm, Welland]

Strong Essays
796 words (2.3 pages)

A Place At The Table Essays

- “A Place at the Table” Based on the film; “A place at the Table; one out of six Americans don’t have anything to eat.” Yes, I think we as a society we do demonize the poor. The reason is we think that they are lazy, uneducated, moochers or don’t want to work. Sure there are some people taking advantage of the system. The people who are asking for free handouts come from a low income in society, while you have farm subsidies are the largest fraction of the corporate welfare spending. The agricultural subsidy system utilizes a process that is opposite of that used in the social welfare system....   [tags: Unemployment, United States, Welfare]

Strong Essays
711 words (2 pages)

Essay on Animal Farm, by George Orwell

- Animal Farm I. Animal Farm is a story of the struggle for freedom and power. It takes place on a farm in England called Manor Farm. There are many different kinds of animals on the farm; these animals include horses, geese, dogs, cats, sheep, and pigs, which are the most intelligent of all the animals. The story starts out when old Major, an old, wise pig, calls a meeting in the barn. He tells the animals about a dream he has. The dream was about how the animals should rebel against the leader of the farm, Mr....   [tags: Animal Farm Essays]

Strong Essays
1096 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on George Orwell's Animal Farm

- Animal Farm George Orwell 4-19-02 Book Review # Plot Summary George Orwell’s Animal Farm is a political satire of a totalitarian society ruled by a mighty dictatorship, in all probability a fable for the events surrounding the Russian Revolution of 1917. The animals of “Manor Farm” overthrow their human master after a long history of mistreatment. Led by the pigs, the farm animals continue to do their work, only with more pride, knowing that they are working for themselves, as opposed to working for humans....   [tags: Animal Farm Essays]

Free Essays
691 words (2 pages)

Essay on The Welcome Table

- On one hand, you have a black South African servant girl having to be willing to let this white farm boy,” baasie” (little master) kill her baby girl after a childhood of friendship which developed into an intimate relationship. On the other you have a church filled with individuals claiming to practice God’s word, but have them push another human being out on the cold street when all she wants to do was worship in the warmth. Both of the short stories shared a common ground of racism, but the authors had a different way of illustrating this to their audience....   [tags: servant girl, south africa, white boy]

Strong Essays
1060 words (3 pages)

I Am Eating At The Kitchen Table Essay

- I 'm eating at the kitchen table trying to eat as slow as possible to put off my reading homework even longer than I already have. I hear my great grandma, the leader of the house, say “Carla, hurry and finish so I can wash dishes and we can start on your book.” I roll my eye and think about offering to do the dishes to postpone reading even more but instead my mouth opens and the only words that come out are “okay grandma I 'm almost done.” No matter how much I hate reading, I hate doing the dishes even more....   [tags: Family, Mother, Second grade, First grade]

Strong Essays
1221 words (3.5 pages)

Essay on Analysis of Company: Perdue Farm

- Analysis of Company: Perdue Farm Arthur W. Perdue’s quest for excellence in the poultry business began in 1917. Perdue started his company as a table-egg poultry farm. He slowly expanded his egg market by adding a new chicken coop every year. Arthur’s son Frank joined the family business in 1939 after leaving school at the end of his the second year. In 1950 Frank took over leadership of Perdue Farms, which had over 40 employees at the time. During the 1970’s Perdue entered into new markets in Boston and Philadelphia and also opened a new processing plant in North Carolina....   [tags: Business Management Marketing Analysis Essays]

Strong Essays
1284 words (3.7 pages)