Factors of Extreme Heat Waves in US during 2012 Essays

Factors of Extreme Heat Waves in US during 2012 Essays

Length: 1726 words (4.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

1. Introduction

July 2012 was the hottest month in the history of the United States. Besides breaking previous summer records in record-holder books, the heat waves caused billions of damage to society. During that year, United States also witnessed numerous massive tornadoes, ice storms, wind storms, wildfires, droughts and hurricanes. Is it over? Are we going to witness similar extreme events in the future? This essay will try to answer all those questions mainly discussing factors which caused those extreme events. It’ll also explain the expected scenario in the near future, highlighting possible risks involved. Various research studies claim that these events are likely to occur four times in the future. Some research pinpoints human involvement in a damaging environment which caused these extreme weather events while other completely denies it. This essay will present a clear picture by analyzing findings from different researches. It will summarize what measurements are being considered in the future to counter the problem.

2. Discussion

Global warming has been touted as a major factor that caused extreme heat waves in 2012. Climate change is taking place and it’s evident from the numerous extreme events observed in the US and worldwide during 2003, 2010 and 2012. Scientists researched ground-level readings from pre-industrial areas in the US calculated hundred years ago. They compared this data against measurements taken in 2012 which hinted that those extreme heat waves were caused as a gradual change in climate. There was no factor observed, which hinted the involvement of Global Warming. “Diffenbaugh and Scherer’s research don't pinpoint global warming as the cause of particular extreme weather events” (Diffenba...


... middle of paper ...


...-38. Web. 14 Aug. 2013.
Institute of Physics. "Heat waves to become much more frequent and severe." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 15 August 2013. Web. N.D.
Uni Research. "Developing better weather forecasts." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 1 November 2013. Web. N.D.
Wiley - Blackwell. "WIREs: A New Approach to Understanding Climate Change." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 11 January 2010. Web. N.D.
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science. "Looking to the past to predict the future of climate change." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 5 August 2013. Web. N.D.
University of York. "It's not just the heat, it's the ozone: Hidden heat wave dangers exposed." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 19 July 2013. Web. N.D.
Princeton University. "Even if emissions stop, carbon dioxide could warm Earth for centuries." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 24 November 2013. Web. N.D.




Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

How the Sun Produces Light and Heat Essay

- When we look up into the sky, what do we see. During the day, we often will find the sun. The sun is much more than a ball of fire that we see in our daily lives. The sun gives earth life, from the condition of the season of the life that is produced. Overall, when we think of the sun we think of heat and light, but one might question; how does the sun produce the heat and light that is necessary for the earth to sustain life. The sun is also known as a star, just like the stars we see at night that illuminate the night sky....   [tags: Sun, Light, Heat, Energy, Fire, Power]

Powerful Essays
1481 words (4.2 pages)

How the Sun Produces Light and Heat Essay

- When we look up into the sky, what do we see. During the day, we often will find the sun. The sun is much more than a ball of fire that we see in our daily lives. The sun gives earth life, from the condition of the season to the life that is produced. Overall, when we think of the sun we think of heat and light but one might question; how does the sun produce the heat and light that is necessary for earth to sustain life. The sun is also known as a star, just like the stars we see at night that illuminate the night sky....   [tags: temperature, hydrogen, nuclear fussion]

Free Essays
677 words (1.9 pages)

Cell Phone Waves and Cancer Essay

- Many people, around the world, use cellular or mobile phones in their everyday life. With the amount of time spent on a cellular phone increasing, so is the concern that these mobile devices, in which we so heavily depend, are now giving us cancer. There is no consistent evidence that connects the use of these wireless devices to any specific type of cancer. Additionally, more research is needed to examine the technology of cellular phones and how people use them. Technology and use habits are constantly changing....   [tags: Brain Tumors, Technology, Waves]

Powerful Essays
1997 words (5.7 pages)

Essay about The Effect Of Heat Transfer On Temperature

- 1.1 GENERAL BACKGROUND Heat transfer is by virtue thermal energy stored in temperature-dependent motion of particles. The exchange of kinetic energy of particles occurs through the boundary between two systems which are at different temperatures from each other or from their surroundings. Heat transfer constantly occurs from a region of high temperature to the region of lower temperature. Heat transfer changes the internal energy of both systems according to the Thermodynamics. The Second Law of Thermodynamics defines the concept of thermodynamic entropy....   [tags: Heat, Thermodynamics, Temperature, Heat transfer]

Powerful Essays
1224 words (3.5 pages)

Will the World Really End in 2012? Essay

- December 21, 2012: This date has many people wondering why scientists and researchers assume the world will come to an end. Generally, everyone is captivated on the concept of the world’s execution. Hollywood even created a film based on 2012. But is the world really going to come to an end. Are we really going to die because of some calendar that is almost done. Is a giant flare from the sun going burn us all, or an enormous volcanic eruption from a super volcano going to destroy the earth. Considering how we were to have a meltdown in 2000, it is unlikely the world will end....   [tags: 2012, world ending,]

Powerful Essays
997 words (2.8 pages)

Influence of UEFA EURO 2012 on the Polish Economy Essay

- My paper is going to focus on the influence of the event that took place in Poland in 2012, namely UEFA European Football Championship 2012, how it has changed different ranges of polish economy and what could be possible further changes in development of this country. Sport championships are great growth opportunity, especially for developing countries about which was loud last time. This is a pull factor of advantages which can happen in certain country. This kind of event could only make the economy better....   [tags: UEFA EURO 2012]

Powerful Essays
3302 words (9.4 pages)

Essay about Earthquake Waves and Epicenter Location

- Earthquakes happen all round the world daily and they are extremely dangerous. An earthquake is caused by the movement of plates called fault. Plates are segments of the outermost rigid shell of the Earth, composed of the crust and attached upper mantle, which float on the plastic like asthenosphere. Faults are in deep underground, they are always moving slowly that we can’t even feel it. Seismologists are studying how to predict an earthquake to be safer in the earthquake by learning and studying the seismic waves....   [tags: reverse fault,tectonic plates,seismic waves]

Powerful Essays
1069 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on The 2012 Dilemma and the Media

- It hasn’t been even ten years and here we are all over again. For some reason the human race can not wait to be extinct, and we are already on track for another “Y2K” scare. Every time you turn on the History Channel there is another new program telling us how the world as we know it will end in a little more than two years, sending every viewer into a state of shock, and turning every Tivo into a doomsday prediction recorder from then on out. Now, I am all about putting out as much information about our everyday world out there for all to bear witness, but I also believe in unbiased coverage of events....   [tags: 2012, media, ]

Powerful Essays
972 words (2.8 pages)

Heat Energy, Convection And Radiation Essay

- Heat energy is transferred through three ways- conduction, convection and radiation. All three are able to transfer heat from one place to another based off of different principles however, are all three are connected by the physics of heat. Let’s start with heat- what exactly is heat. We can understand heat by knowing that “heat is a thermal energy that flows from the warmer areas to the cooler areas, and the thermal energy is the total of all kinetic energies within a given system.” (Soffar, 2015) Now, we can explore the means to which heat is transferred and how each of them occurs....   [tags: Heat, Heat transfer, Energy, Temperature]

Powerful Essays
1473 words (4.2 pages)

Essay on The Importance of Birds in Virginia Woolf's The Waves

- The Importance of Birds in Virginia Woolf's The Waves      To emphasize her viewpoint in The Waves, Woolf employs a distinctive style.  She interlocks the dramatic monologues of six characters at successive stages in their lives to tell her story; and prefaces each of the sections with a descriptive passage of sun and waves through a single day.  In these passages descriptions of the sun, the sea, the plants, and the birds make implicit comparisons with the characters' speeches.  The actions of the birds in the descriptive passages most strikingly parallel the developing consciousness of the characters, exemplified by Susan....   [tags: Virginia Woolf Waves Essays Papers]

Powerful Essays
991 words (2.8 pages)