Existentialism and Homosexuality in Thom Gunn's Poetry Essay

Existentialism and Homosexuality in Thom Gunn's Poetry Essay

Length: 1992 words (5.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Thom Gunn began to love writing from an early age. He grew up in England, where homosexuality was uncommon and being gay made Gunn feel as if he were an outsider. After moving to California, Gunn found a sense of community and happiness, until the AIDS epidemic struck. Thom Gunn’s life consisted of moments of liberation mixed with moments of sadness. His experiences are reflected through his poems. Thom Gunn, a notable San Francisco resident who enjoyed drugs, cooking, gardening, and cats, did not hesitate to write down what he was thinking in his poems. His works are notorious for their homosexual theme. Gunn was an advocate of freedom and equality, which later lead him to his openly homosexual poetry and the theory of communal love. He describes many situations in his poems as “times of joy.” In these periods, the imagination could range freely, allowing him to express himself.
Born Thomson William Gunn, this Anglo-American poet seemed to have a love of writing from an early point on, using his thoughts on life to give him a common theme of love. On August 29, 1929, Gunn was born in Gravesend, Kent, England to father Bert Gunn (Poetry Foundation). He was the older son of two journalists who divorced when the poet was only ten years old. His mother tragically committed suicide during Gunn’s teenage years; however, before her death, his mother had inspired a deep love of reading and writing in young Thom, including the writings of Marlowe, Keats, Milton, and Tennyson, as well as several prose writers (Poets.org). Gunn also began to experience the first signs of his homosexuality during this period, but was confused about whether it was stress from the divorce and loss of a parent, or if it was something else that would later ...


... middle of paper ...


...sexuality in Gunn’s Early Poetry." The Ken yon Review. N.p., n.d. Web. 19 Apr. 2013.
Gunn, Thom. Collected Poems. New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 1994. Print.
Book
Guthmann, Edward. "A POET'S LIFE / PART TWO: As Friends Died of AIDS, Thom
Gunn Stayed Healthy -- until His Need to Play Hard Finally Killed Him."
SFGate. N.p., 26 Apr. 2005. Web. 19 Apr. 2013.
Sleigh, Tom. “Sex, Drugs, and Thom Gunn.” Poetry Magazine. N.p., 10 June 2009.
Web. 19 Apr. 2013.
"Thom Gunn." - Poets.org. N.p., n.d. Web. 19 Apr. 2013.
"Thom Gunn." : The Poetry Foundation. N.p., n.d. Web. 19 Apr. 2013.

Acknowledgements
I would like to thank my wonderful English teacher,mmmmmm mmmm, along with our amazing librarian, mmmmm mmmml, for helping me research and edit my paper. Without their help I would not have been able to even start this project, let alone finish it.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Thom Gunn’s Donahue’s Sister Essay

- Thom Gunn’s Donahue’s Sister       Thom Gunn was a poet who often wrote of common hardships in every day life.  Gunn’s writing style and choice of topics makes it obvious that he was writing in the middle to late twentieth century, and this is what draws people of today to his work.  I believe that not only are people able to relate better to Gunn because of his topic selection but because of the time period the majority of his work is written in.     In the twentieth century, particularly since the 1950’s or so, we have witnessed as a society; the arrival of AIDS, an increasing amount of single parent families, an increase in drug and alcohol use among young people, controversy over homo...   [tags: Donahues Sister]

Free Essays
1682 words (4.8 pages)

Essay on Thom Gunn’s In the Tank - A Manifestation of the Human Consciousness

- Thom Gunn’s In the Tank - A Manifestation of the Human Consciousness A thorough analysis of subject material and literary style exhibits the complexity of establishing a strong thematic base, which does not deter from the ebb and flow of a poetic medium .  In Thom Gunn’s In the Tank, a felon is overwhelmed by emotion at the state of his existence in prison.  In what appears to be a moment’s reflection, Thom Gunn’s narrator in In the Tank reveals an abundance of sentiment pertaining to his environment.  From meticulous description of the prison environment, to the exasperated feeling of loneliness and dejection, Gunn lures an audience into a seeming first-hand account of prison-life....   [tags: In Tank]

Term Papers
2359 words (6.7 pages)

Analysis of Donahue's Sister from Thom Gunn’s The Passages of Joy Essay

-     Thom Gunn, an English poet who has spent most of his life living in the United States, is a member of what has come to be called the "Movement". Members of the Movement "rejected what seemed to them the Romantic excesses of the New Apocalypse (whose most prominent member was Dylan Thomas), and. . .were equally dissatisfied with the modernist revolution led by [Ezra] Pound and [T.S.] Eliot" (Ellmann and O’Clair 1335). Gunn has criticized modernists for "strengthen[ing] the images [in their poetry] while...banishing [the] concepts" (Qtd....   [tags: Donahues Sister Passages Joy]

Term Papers
3009 words (8.6 pages)

The Existentialist Literary Exam Paper : Existentialism

- Blythe McGregor December 5, 2017 Existentialist Literary Exam Paper: Prompt 3 Reality is a fundamental concept discussed in many branches of philosophy. It is particularly important within the existentialist framework. Existentialists, as well as phenomenologists, believe that when a human being is separated from reality, reality is altogether lost. If one is not currently in direct contact with reality, there is no reality at all. The existence of reality is dependent on one’s own experience of it....   [tags: Franz Kafka, Existentialism, The Trial, Ontology]

Term Papers
725 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on Meaning and Existentialism in My Life

- Existentialism is a phiosophy which revolves around the central belief that we create ourselves. External factors are not important. It is the way that we let external factors affect us that determines who we are. As individuals we all have the freedom to choose our own path and that is what life is all about. Along with the freedom of choice comes the responsibilty of one's actions which can make some people anxious but give others meaning to their lives. To overcome this anxiousness and accept responsibilty is to meet the challenges of life and to truly live it....   [tags: Existentialism, ]

Term Papers
675 words (1.9 pages)

Homosexuality : Homosexuality And Homosexuality Essay example

- In modern society, people often look to other to define who they should be, what they should look like, or even how they think. Often time, religion seem to play a big part in these discussions. Homosexuality being one of the main topics discussed and why it’s wrong within religion. Having someone telling others what to think and who to love is wrong. Even though, same sex marriage is legal throughout America, homosexuality would never be accepted nor justified within religion. A lot of cultures take homosexuality in a different light, though for many centuries, homosexuality plus religion have been argued to be sinful....   [tags: Homosexuality, Same-sex marriage, Marriage]

Term Papers
1825 words (5.2 pages)

Homosexuality And Homosexuality Essay

- Homosexuality Homosexuality can be described as a romantic or sexual attraction or act between people of the same gender, and it can also be a term used to refer to a person's sense of identity based on the same attractions or behaviors. Homosexuality is among the three main categories of sexual orientation, alongside heterosexuality and bisexuality, and up to the present day, the scientists have not been able to know the factors that determine the sexual orientation of different people. Some of them, however, guess that sexual orientation of different people is caused by a complex interplay of the hormonal, genetic and environmental influences, and it is not a choice for the people concerne...   [tags: Homosexuality, Sexual intercourse]

Term Papers
1530 words (4.4 pages)

Understanding Existentialism Essays

- Do we matter. Do we seek personal happiness in life. These are questions from existentialism. The dictionary defines existentialism as an individual’s experience filled with isolation in a hostile universe where a human being attempts to find true self and the meaning of life through free will, choice, and personal responsibility. Hamlet is an existentialist character who believes that he is forced to avenge his father’s death and the hatred builds in his heart because of the many betrayals which direct him towards a senseless life and constant thoughts about suicide; this ultimately leads to his demise and he is left with naught....   [tags: Existentialism]

Term Papers
872 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on Existentialism

- Existentialism is logical Existentialism is logical and I’m on board, you should be too. It doesn’t disapprove god, it simply says we were not made with a predetermined set of characteristics. We go about our lives making our essence. It removes the idea of good and bad to show us a deeper meaning of the choices that shape us. We devote a lot of time to find meaning in our lives, many of us find it in religion, fighting for social justice, helping the wellbeing of others or simply finding beauty in the mundane....   [tags: Existentialism, Meaning of life, Jean-Paul Sartre]

Term Papers
866 words (2.5 pages)

Existentialism Essay

- Existentialism 'Existence precedes essence'. These are the few words that many people live by. These words describe a philosophy called Existentialism. The philosophical term, Existentialism, came from Jean Paul Sartre, a French philosopher. Jean Paul Sartre wrote 'No Exit', where he portrayed his philosophy negatively. On the other hand, Albert Camus, who wrote The Stranger, portrayed Existentialism positively through his characters. Each author uses the characteristics of Existentialism positively or negatively to define their own story as well as their characters as true Existentialists or not      Existentialism has been described as a philosophical movement especially of the 20th cent...   [tags: Philosophy Sartre Existentialist Essays]

Free Essays
1272 words (3.6 pages)