The Ethics of De-Extinction Essay

The Ethics of De-Extinction Essay

Length: 1153 words (3.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

De-extinction is a process that has been experimented with for many years, but has never been completely successful. The ethics and consequences of this idea have been questioned but, de-extinction has the potential to be truly helpful to humans and the environment, and many of the scenarios that people think could happen, are actually impossible. To actually revive a species, there are certain conditions that must be met, and the terrible situations that people think could happen, are unable to actually occur because of the lack of . Bringing species back that are beneficial to the environment could preserve biodiversity, restore diminished ecosystems, advance the science of preventing extinctions, and undo the harm that people have caused in the past. The true potential of the revival of species cannot be realized because people overdramatize the effects and possible outcomes. Once we realize and understand how beneficial the process of de-extinction can be we can better improve our world, our lives, and our ecosystems.

The process of reviving an extinct species is not overly complicated, but it does require a few elements that may be hard to obtain from a species. In order to actually to be eligible for revival a species must have only gone extinct in the last 800,000 years (ngm.nationalgeographic.com). If a species went extinct before that, the environment that it lived in is gone and throwing the organism into this time period’s environment could have disastrous consequences. Enough DNA to sequence the organism must also be present, this assures that we know exactly what makes up the organism and allows us to have the complete “instructions” for the organism before the process starts. Also, an organism must have a close e...


... middle of paper ...


...cies. This whole idea can give us a chance we’ve never had before. We can undo our mistakes from the past, we can bring back amazing species that once roamed the earth. Can you imagine a wooly mammoth, or tasmanian tigers once again able to walk next to man? With this process all of that is possible as long as we keep trying to restore what has been lost.



Works Cited

Pimm, Stuart “Opinion: The Case of Species Revival”, news.nationalgeographic.com, 13 March 2013, 20 May 2014

longnow.org/revive/species/ 20 May 2014

Sutter, John D. “Should scientists ‘Jurassic Park’ extinct species back to life”, www.cnn.com 5 May 2014, 22 May 2014

Switek, Brian “How to resurrect lost species” news.nationalgeographic.com, 10 March 2013, 27 May 2014

Shreeve, jamie “Species Revival: Should We Bring Back Extinct Animals?” ngm.nationalgeographic.com 5 March 2013, 22 March 2014


Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Nature Of Zoological Parks Essay

- There has been a long-standing debate surrounding the nature of zoological parks. In recent years, the concern over the health and safety of animals in captivity has grown significantly. This is due, in part, to the rise in attention people have started paying towards the way these animals are treated and held captive within zoological parks. On the news, more cases pop up yearly involving animals that have been abused, neglected, and even killed. Furthermore, animal rights groups have become larger in numbers and more outspoken regarding the problematic existence of zoos....   [tags: Biodiversity, Extinction, Ethics]

Strong Essays
1734 words (5 pages)

Analyzing The Ethics Of Zoos Essay

- ... Now, Henry Doorly Zoo is a home to over 17,000 animals, and different 962 species. However, with all of these different animals in the zoo, it upsets the animals’ native ecology. Even under the best circumstances at the best zoos, a zoo cannot start to replicate the wild animals’ habitat. Where a wild animal is free to roam and explore the world, one in a zoo is confined to a small area. Also, Zoos claim to want to protect species from extinction, but usually the zoos just want animals because they are exotic or popular....   [tags: Extinction, Biodiversity, Species]

Strong Essays
1032 words (2.9 pages)

The American Dream is on the Way to Extinction Essay

- ... Instead, the branch refers to opponents as “hostage takers’ and hope to succeed alone. The current administration deploys government officials to perpetrate “pain” on an average American in hopes to blame the opposite party. Also the management has perfected the disciplinary consumption of government by utilizing the IRS to target political opponents to silence them before the last election. The nation also sits on the edge of defeat when our debt is mentioned. The 17 trillion dollar debt is almost double when the President came into office....   [tags: survival, college, tuition]

Strong Essays
553 words (1.6 pages)

Climate Change, Hybrids and Applied Ethics: An Explorative Guide to Setting Policy

- Normative ethics is a central part of the philosophical exploration of ethical theories and is the study of what is right and wrong (Encyclopedia Britannica). Its study is a powerful tool in determining the basis and course of moral actions as it explores moral choices rather than the language or origins of morality; for this reason it falls under the category of applied ethics. While normative ethics is a broad term that encompasses many schools of thought, it is generally thought to be broken down into three categories: the school of virtue ethics, deontology and teleology (or consequentialism)....   [tags: normative ethics, applied ethics, philosophy]

Strong Essays
2957 words (8.4 pages)

Essay about Ethics of Zoos

- There are many places where people can go to see live animals such as aquariums, zoos, and safari parks. A pleasant way to define a Zoo is to call it “an establishment that maintains a collection of wild animals”. (Google def) Another way to say that is a facility in which animals are “enclosed in cages for public exhibition”. I believe zoos are ethical; however, changes need to be made to eliminate problems I have discovered. In this argumentative essay, I will be arguing the ethics of zoos and certain problems that need to be addressed that people are not aware of....   [tags: aquariums, safari parks]

Strong Essays
868 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on An Article On Bringing Them Back Of Life

- ... Some people say in doing this we are playing God, while others say we did by killing them. Other scientist say that it may be beneficial because it will add biodiversity, and medicinal properties back to the ecosystem. It is only possible to bring species back from around 10 thousand years ago. Recently scientists have vastly improved the cloning process. We can now coax adult animal cells into any type of cell, including eggs and sperm, then manipulating them into full-fledged embryos, which has led to the ideas and developments of reviving many other species including mammoths, frogs and pigeons....   [tags: Cloning, DNA, Gene, Extinction]

Strong Essays
808 words (2.3 pages)

The Ethics of Eating Meat Essay

- Meat has been a staple food in the diet of mankind since the early ages of civilization. In the article “Is Any Meat Good to Eat?” by Sarah Boesveld, she interviews author Jonathan Safran to share his opinion on eating meat and factory farming. He believes that “...if [people] just ate according to the values they already have, then factory farming would disappear.” Whether or not people realize the sources from which meat in modern day society comes from, they cannot deny the fact that meat is delectable....   [tags: Animal Rights]

Strong Essays
675 words (1.9 pages)

The Evolution of Ethics Essay

- The Evolution of Ethics A goal implicit in human evolution is survival; thus, humanity directs some of its energy toward creating a state of peace to achieve the necessary efficiency and conservation of energy to survive in a hostile and sometimes unpredictable world. The foundation of the emergence of rule systems in the world is built upon centuries of reasoned insight and personal experiences that reveal which actions are better than others, which are productive, and which are disruptive and should be avoided....   [tags: essays papers]

Strong Essays
3168 words (9.1 pages)

The Ethics and Morality of Cloning Essay

- The Ethics and Morality of Cloning At a quarter past 6 on the 24th of February 1997 most news stations around the world broke the news that in the Roslin Institute in Scotland a scientist named Ian Wilmut and his research team had successfully cloned a sheep named Dolly. Until the birth of Dolly, the first mammal to be successfully cloned, it was thought that the ability to clone an adult human was impossible and would be for the foreseeable future. For the everyday Joe this was not an important event but to the scientists, politicians and world media this was the cause of heated discussions....   [tags: Papers]

Strong Essays
805 words (2.3 pages)

Environmental Ethics Essay

- Ethics is the study of what is right and wrong in human conduct. Environmental ethics studies the effects of human’s moral relationships on the environment and everything within it (Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2008). The ethical principles that govern those relations determine human duties, obligations, and responsibilities with regard to the Earth’s natural environment and all of the animals and plants that inhabit it (Taylor, 1989). The purpose of this paper is to reveal environmental issues that are threatening the existence of life on Earth, and discus our social obligations to refrain from further damaging our environment, health and life for future generations....   [tags: Environment Global Warming Climate Change]

Strong Essays
2340 words (6.7 pages)