The Seven Deadly Sins in The Canterbury Tales by Geoffery Chauscer

analytical Essay
597 words
597 words

Gluttony, Avarice, Wrath, Lust, Pride, Envy, and Sloth are all commonly known as the “Seven Deadly Sins”. Each of these seven sins plays a major role in development of the different characters. In Geoffrey Chaucer’s “The Canterbury Tales”, the Pardoner committed sins through gluttony and avarice; the Wife of Bath through Pride and Lust; and also the Monk through gluttony and wrath. However, omnipresent on all the characters are the different deadly sins that led to their development and morality.
Pride and Lust are the two sins closely associated with the Wife of Bath. The Wife of Bath is a woman who is too proud of herself as shown by her style of clothing. Chaucer begins by describing her familiar Sunday clothing as “Her kerchiefs were of finely woven ground; I dared have sworn they weighed a good ten pound” (463-464). This type of clothing is atypical for a person attending a church service. Moreover, “Her hose were of the finest scarlet red and gartered tight; her shoes were soft and new. Bold her face, handsome, and red in hue” (466-468). All these things exemplifies her self-...

In this essay, the author

  • Explains that gluttony, avarice, wrath, lust, pride, envy and sloth are all commonly known as the "seven deadly sins". each of these seven sins plays a major role in development of the characters.
  • Analyzes how pride and lust are closely associated with the wife of bath.
  • Explains that the pardoner is a gluttonous man who obtains money by deceitful means. his craving for money and wealth can be demonstrated through his singing in an offertory.
Get Access