Legislative Branches Of The Federal Government

920 Words4 Pages
Legislative and Executive branches The United States Government is structured according to the Constitution, to which adhere the three branches of Government. Two of them branches are the Legislative and the Executive. The legislative branch is the congress. It is formed of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The second is the Executive, the president, who cannot make laws. Rather, his responsibility is to defend them. The president meets with leaders of other countries and he can make treaties with them, but those agreements must be ratified by the Senate. The president also has the power to declare wars, any time that he receives the approval of the Congress. The United States Constitution creates a system in which different institutions share the power. Since the two branches of the Government are similar and different both in organization, power, election and support staff each one can balance to other one. The legislative branches of the federal government are the two houses of Congress: the Senate and the House of representatives of the nation. All legislation has to be approved by both chambers before being presented to the president for his sign and convert it into law. The Senate is formed by two representatives of each State, while the members of the chamber of representatives are determined with the data of the census every ten years. On the other hand, the power Executive is headed by the president who, together with the Vice-President both elected in National Elections every four years and they also can serve two four-year terms. In the legislative branch the Congress approves laws through a process of committees. When a committee favors a measure, usually it seeks the opinion of executiv... ... middle of paper ... ...nal relevance: Office of Management and Budget (OMB) and United States Trade Representative (USTR). In conclusion, the United States of America is a Federal presidential Republic composed of fifty States. It is provided with a Constitution that dates from 1789, which has been the object of twenty six amendments in more than two hundred years. Moreover, the U.S. Government is designed in accordance with the tripartite division of powers: Executive, legislative and Judicial, which is the basis of its system of checks and balances. In addition, the United States political system has known a permanent stability throughout its history, except for the stage of the civil war unleashed after the electoral victory of Abraham Lincoln in 1860. However, it should be noted that due to the armed conflict in that time parliamentary and presidential elections were held.
Open Document