History of the Ryder Cup

786 Words4 Pages
History of the Ryder Cup The Ryder Cup is the most famous team golf event in the world. The Ryder Cup is played for biannually between the USA and the European team. The tournament was founded in 1927 by Samuel Ryder and has continued to the present day. The competition was originally held between the USA and the British teams, but then in 1973 the rules changed to allow the British team to field Irish golfers. The competition finally extended in 1979 to allow all European golfers to play for the new European team. The competition has been contested once every two years since 1927 except during WWII. Since 1979, the tournament has been played on 11 occasions between the USA and Europe. The inaugural tournament was played at Worcester Country Club in Worcester, Massachusetts. USA were the first team to lift the trophy as they triumphed over Britain 91/2-21/2. The Ryder Cup has been contested at 28 different venues. No course has hosted the cup more than twice. The only time the cup was not contested was during the duration of WWII. Ryder Cup Venues Worcester CC USA wins -25 Moortown GC, Leeds GB/Ire/Eur wins-8 Sciote CC, Ohio Southport and Ainsdale GC, England Ridgewood CC Portland GC, Oregon Ganton GC, Scarborough Pinehurst CC Wentworth GC Thunderbird CC, Palm Springs Lindrick GC, Yorkshire Eldorado CC, Palm Desert Royal Lytham and St Annes GC East Lake CC, Atlanta Royal Birkdale GC, Southport Champions GC, Houston Old Warson CC, St Louis Muirfield, Scotland Laurel Valley GC, Ligonier Greenbrier, Virginia Walton Heath GC, Surrey PGA National GC, Palm Beach Gardens The Belfry, Sutton Coldfield Muirfield Village GC, Ohio Th... ... middle of paper ... ...s the hole. Should a team tie for the best score, the hole is halved. Singles (12 groups of two one-man teams) Singles is a match in which one player competes against another player. A player wins the match when he is up by more holes than there are holes remaining to play. Pairings Each team captain submits the order of play for his team to the appointed tournament official. The lists from each captain are matched resulting in the pairings. Please note that the players in pairings can be modified by the team captains at any time prior to the beginning of a match. More Facts Since 1985, when Europe won for the first time in 28 years, 224 points have been played for and Europe are ahead by just 5 points! The USA have won the trophy 25 times while Europe have only won on 8 occasions! The trophy had stayed in the USA for an astonishing 26 years between 1959 and 1985!

More about History of the Ryder Cup

Open Document