Geography Of Russia

714 Words3 Pages
Russia is a huge landmass and covers a vast amount of the earth’s surface area. Being so large, Russia contains a huge variety of different geographical features. There are several mountains, rivers, bodies of water, climate zones, and population centers in Russia. Most of the development in Russia is located in its core area, east of the Ural Mountains. There are several countries around Russia that used to be parts of a larger union called The Union of Soviet Socialists Republics, however, in 1991, the USSR broke apart into several other independent states. The new states that were formed are: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgystan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan. The realm that is Russia is further divided into eight regions including the Far East, Siberia, Northwest, Urals, Greater Volga, Central Russia, Black Earth, and North Caucasus. There are several mountain ranges in the Russian realm. Perhaps the most prominent and important mountain range is the Ural mountain range. The Urals basically divide Russia into two parts: the area east of the Urals, known as European Russia, and the area west of the Urals. European Russia is highly developed, while the area west of Russia is little more than a wasteland, with little population. Besides the Urals, there are several other mountain ranges within the realm. For example, the Caucasus Mountains, which divide Russia from Georgia. There are several mo...

More about Geography Of Russia

Open Document