Essay On Blooms Taxonomy

Satisfactory Essays
Bloom's Taxonomy

Bloom's taxonomy was created in 1956 under the leadership of educational psychologist Dr Benjamin Bloom in order to promote higher forms of thinking in education, such as analysing and evaluating, rather than just remembering facts (rote learning). (Blooms taxonomy of learning domains, 2013)
There are three types of learning. They are:
• Cognitive: Mental skills (knowledge) (Blooms taxonomy of learning domains, 2013)
• Affective: Growth in feelings or emotional areas (Attitude or self) (Blooms taxonomy of learning domains, 2013)
• Psychomotor: Manual or physical skills (Blooms taxonomy of learning domains, 2013)

The Cognitive Domain
The cognitive domain involves knowledge and development of intellectual skills. (Blooms taxonomy of learning domains, 2013). It is the domain of learning that primarily engages the intellect to understand and supply concepts. There are six major categories that range from the simplest behaviour to the most complex behaviour.
1. Knowledge - To be able to recall specific and general items of information and also information about method...
Get Access