Essay on The Effect of Wireless Communication on Society

Essay on The Effect of Wireless Communication on Society

Length: 1060 words (3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

“The rapid revolution in technology affected our lifestyle drastically and led us to believe that our lives have changed for the better”(Martin, Alice). Today we have time to do everything except think (“Time to Do Everything”). The life we live now with wireless communication is undoubtedly fast paced compared to the life we lived before wireless communication. We used to be more patient with situations back then and our worries were not as ridiculous as forgetting to update our status. Today we have time to browse social networks and tweet about mindless thoughts, but we do not have time to do more important things, such as reading a book, or spending a couple of hours studying for the next crucial test coming up. We do not realize that the time we spend on social networks or texting should have been spent doing something productive. What ever happened to going outside to hang out with a couple friends or having a conversation with a loved one. Everyone has gotten to the point where they are just absurdly lazy and do not want to put in the attempt for reading, writing, or even having a conversation face to face. They are just obsessed with knowing when the next monster iPhone will come out. The majority of todays society is obsessed with technology. Is it about time we pull the plug on technology. The evolution of wireless communication changed our lives for the worse; people can barely communicate face to face anymore, occasionally not even a simple phone call can be made, everyone would rather send an email or text message.


What is wireless communication exactly? Wireless communication is the transfer of information between two or more points that are not connected by an electrical conductor (Wireless). But just how old is ...


... middle of paper ...


...2.Mobile broadband is reshaping society, communications, and the global economy.With smartphone usage surpassing that of personal computers, there has been a sea change in the way consumers access and share information.

"Wireless." Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 04 Dec. 2014. Web. 14 Apr. 2014.

Martin, Alice. "4 Negative Side Effects Of Technology." Edudemic. N.p., 30 May 2013. Web. 15 Apr. 2014. http://www.edudemic.com/the-4-negative-side-effects-of-technology/

Mathias, C.J. "A Brief History of Wireless Technology." IT News, Technology Analysis and How-to Resources. N.p., 22 Mar. 2004. Web. 16 Apr. 2014. http://www.itworld.com/040322histowireless

H, Carlyn. "The TJSHS World Literature Blog." : The Pros and Cons of Wireless Technology. N.p., 3 Dec. 2011. Web. 17 Apr. 2014.
http://tjshs-the-standard.blogspot.com/2011/12/pros-and-cons-of-wireless-technology.html

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on The Effect of Wireless Communication on Society

- “The rapid revolution in technology affected our lifestyle drastically and led us to believe that our lives have changed for the better”(Martin, Alice). Today we have time to do everything except think (“Time to Do Everything”). The life we live now with wireless communication is undoubtedly fast paced compared to the life we lived before wireless communication. We used to be more patient with situations back then and our worries were not as ridiculous as forgetting to update our status. Today we have time to browse social networks and tweet about mindless thoughts, but we do not have time to do more important things, such as reading a book, or spending a couple of hours studying for the nex...   [tags: smartphones, text messages, phubbing]

Strong Essays
1060 words (3 pages)

Essay on The Effect of Wireless Communication on Society

- “The rapid revolution in technology affected our lifestyle drastically and led us to believe that our lives have changed for the better” (Martin, Alice). Today society has time to do everything except think The life people live now with wireless communication is undoubtedly fast paced compared to the life the population had lived before wireless communication. Because of wireless communication people are expected to work at a faster pace, especially since they have more information at their fingertips....   [tags: revolution, technology, smartphones]

Strong Essays
1404 words (4 pages)

Essay about Technology And Its Effect On Society

- As technology progresses, the American culture starting to have a synergetic association that is codependent on each other. Technology was built on the means of benefiting humanity by making communication and entertainment more accessible. Through the use of technology, wireless forms of communication has become immensely popular. Just about everyone in America has some type of electronic device that connects them to the world - the World Wide Web. Generally, parents use wireless technology to connect with their children, and children are using technology to stay in touch with friends and family....   [tags: Family, Interpersonal relationship, Communication]

Strong Essays
1217 words (3.5 pages)

The Effect of Electronics on Communication Essay

- The Effect of Electronics on Communication Electronics has played a major part in communication and the developments of it. The first ways of communication not by just talking were the uses of cans and a piece of string. This worked by the vibrations of the voice vibrating down the string and into the other person’s can. The next major development was the invention of telephones. The first telephones were large and ugly with large numbers and were difficult to hear, and the switchboards were done manually by women and children....   [tags: Papers]

Strong Essays
771 words (2.2 pages)

Essay on The Future Of Facebook And Its Effect On Society

- The Future of Facebook Social Media are increasingly popular in the world. Almost everyone has an account in any social media platform, most of us use them to connect with family, friends or to meet new people. We share photos or videos with other to share details of our everyday life, we share opinions and stay update with news and current events. Facebook is the most popular social media platform of all time, within six years, Facebook has experienced dramatic growth; it has reached more than a billion users and is still growing rapidly....   [tags: Facebook, Sociology, Social media]

Strong Essays
713 words (2 pages)

Technology And Its Effect On Society Essay

- Technology is something that seems to be on everyone’s mind in today’s society. Does it really help. When it comes to medicine, there have been huge medical advances with help from technology, saving thousands of lives all over the world. Our society has been forever changed with the introduction of the smartphone; getting movies, music and news faster than ever before. But what about education. Does technology go too far and interfere with the learning process, and relationship between professor and student....   [tags: Learning, Education, Technology]

Strong Essays
1598 words (4.6 pages)

The Sociological Impacts of Wireless and Modern Computer Technology Essay

- The Sociological Impacts of Wireless and Modern Computer Technology Introduction of the significance of Wireless Technology on Society Today’s society is one filled with physical interaction, being replaced by wireless communication with known parties instead of communication between casual strangers, creating a deterioration of casual interaction and the influx of the wireless dependency with family, businesses and friends. From the invention of the landline telephone, wireless technology has been a dream to people who like to stay in touch and communicate with the ones they love without having to be tied down to one location; yet the various types of influences, impacts and d...   [tags: Essays Papers]

Free Essays
1911 words (5.5 pages)

A New Pollution? Essay examples

- A New Pollution. Abstract: Increasingly our society is being inundated with information wirelessly, through emissions of electromagnetic waves (EMF). Any room you enter is being blanketed with ever increasing amounts of, in some cases, highly powerful electromagnetic waves. These waves carry everything from cell phone traffic to wireless internet signals, to even conventional AM/FM radio signals. Although humans and animals cannot perceive most of these electromagnetic frequencies, they can affect biological organisms in many ways that scientists currently do not even understand....   [tags: Wireless Communication Pollution Dangers Papers]

Strong Essays
2873 words (8.2 pages)

Cell Phones And Its Effect On Society Essay

- The current times are filled with science fiction style technology, from Google Glass to cars that can drive and park themselves. Many people are intrigued enough to buy into the latest updated technological wonders. Cell phones are no exception, they have evolved from an emergency based communication to mini handheld computers, and the most convenient way of connecting with each other. It has become simple to text, e-mail, and yes, to even call someone at any time and from anywhere in the world....   [tags: High school, Mobile phone, Education, Teacher]

Strong Essays
1250 words (3.6 pages)

Effects of Mass Media on Society Essay

- In contemporary society, people are strongly influenced by mass media. Although traditional television watching and newspaper reading are no longer as popular as before, people spend more time in front of computers listening to music and radios, reading news and information, interacting with other people in social network and watching television programmes and films. The developing technology of mobile phone allows people to do almost everything they can do with the computer. Nowaday, people are living in a world ‘saturated by media sounds and images.’ (McQuail, 2008, p.456) In this essay, a general introduction of social change and media influence will be discussed in the first section....   [tags: social reform, informative, propaganda]

Strong Essays
1637 words (4.7 pages)