Economic Effects on College Students Essay

Economic Effects on College Students Essay

Length: 1210 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The economy has affected so many people in so many ways. Over the years the economy has experienced numerous hardships from the real median household income to America’s gross debt. As time passes, not only is education suffering greatly because of the economy, through budget cutbacks and tuition and book increases but college students as well. The economy has affected college students most drastically through
By way of decreased taxes and budget cuts schools unfortunately have had to decrease numerous amenities. The price of education has affected my life through the cost of tuition increasing nearly 24 percent over the last five years. Because the economy helped create these escalations, I made the chose to attend a two year college instead of going straight to a four year university. Based on (Collegeboard.com) I will save an average of $6,000 a year while attending a junior college. Since I have decided this path I have been able to save extra money while continuing to get a decent education. The benefits of attending a junior college are being able to live at home and have many of my expenses paid for by my parents. These expenditures include rent, food, and household essentials that I would have to supply myself if I moved away to college.
Another way the cost of school has affected me is the price of books and materials. Due to the high cost of books provided by the school, I have had to find alternative resources for acquiring them. I have also realized that I have had to spend additional time towards researching other ways of attaining books for class. Although this may not always be the most convenient way to buy books since it takes more time, due to the cost it has become a necessity for many students, including ...


... middle of paper ...


...o Nip Here, Adjust There." New
York Times 10 Aug. 2009: C1(L). Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 27 October. 2011.

 Khadaroo, Stacy Teicher, and Amanda Paulson. "School budget cuts across the US
projected for next academic year." Christian Science Monitor 20 Apr. 2010. Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context.. Web. 27 October. 2011.

---. "American frustration with college costs reaches all-time high."
Christian Science Monitor 17 Feb. 2010. Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web.
30 October. 2011
 
Pappano, Laura. "The Fallout." New York Times 4 Jan. 2009: 10(L). Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 10 November. 2011.
 
TENHOUSE, AMY M. “Commuter Students." Encyclopedia of Education. Ed. James W.    
Guthrie. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. 451-453. Gale
Virtual Reference Library. Web. 7 November. 2011.
 

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Determining Causes and Effects of Stress on College Students

- My research on the major causes and effects of stress on college students is compiled at the request of The President of Strayer University. The purpose of presenting this research paper to senior administration is to help students have a more constructive college experience. Students starting their college careers consist of major adjustments to the daily routine; sleep patterns and eating habits, time-management skills, and stress levels are different in one way or another. The American Institute of Stress, compiled a 2008 mental health study by the Associated Press, stated that eight of ten college students stated that they have occasionally, or often experienced stress in their daily liv...   [tags: student loans,financial stress,college experience]

Better Essays
1396 words (4 pages)

Dropout Rates Of College Students Essay example

- In many cases in the United States, even before he or she has received their diploma, the average high school student has been accepted into a four year university and plans to pursue higher education in order to find a position in the career of his or her choice. However, only fifty nine percent of those students who enter a four-year institution as undergraduates finishes in six years or less with a degree (“Institutional Retention and Graduation Rates for Undergraduate Students”). While low GPA is an obvious cause for dropout risk, there are several other, less obvious, factors that come into play in regards to the dropout rates of college students today, such as differences in a student’...   [tags: Higher education, University, College, High school]

Better Essays
1181 words (3.4 pages)

Peer Effects and Alcohol Use among College Students, by M. Kremer and D. Levy,

- Kremer and Levy (2008) analyze to what degree college students who consume alcohol influence their peers. College students could affect their peers’ alcohol consumption, which in turn may lead to damaging effects. For example, peers could potentially disrupt classrooms, be exposed to disease, and lower their grade point average, start binge drinking, abuse illegal drugs, and even die. These affects may generate multiplier effects in the future. Earlier studies have examined this issue of alcohol consumption and the negative peer effects among college students....   [tags: Peer Pressure Essays]

Free Essays
544 words (1.6 pages)

Graduation Speech : College Students

- As years pass, more and more high school students are continuing their education by going off to college. The importance of earning a college degree is higher than ever. College gives these young adults the opportunity to start a new life and work towards a career of their choice. With this new experience, these students have to learn how to balance their schoolwork, social life, and any other extracurricular activities they are involved with. As a result of this, students start to feel pressure from many places....   [tags: University, High school, Student, Peer group]

Better Essays
1090 words (3.1 pages)

Essay about Causes and Effects of School Stress

- A significant percentage of college students spend their time on campus with a lot of stress. This is due to a tight schedule that requires them to balances class time, assignments, tests, projects and extra curriculum activities. Other students are attached to the corporate world notably adult education offered in our campus. The working lot fined it challenging to meet extra workload in their courses. The final exams have a difficult feeling for the candidates due to anxiety of passing. Cheating has become a modern trend in college life with 32% of students admitting that they have practices unethical conducts in their college life....   [tags: College Students, Education, College Costs]

Better Essays
1037 words (3 pages)

Essay on College Readiness Is A Problem When Students Finish High School

- College Readiness is a problem when students finish high school. This has been a problem for many years and there are many solutions to be tried to fix it. My group discussed the causes, problems, and what solutions can be used to solve the problem over several days in class as well as done our own research to broaden our view of the topic and find a better solution. On the first day of talking about our topic, October 28th, we started the Dewey Problem Solving Sequence. We began to talk about whether each of us felt like we were ready for college or not....   [tags: High school, School, College, Education]

Better Essays
1118 words (3.2 pages)

The Mechanisms Behind College Students Essay

- Recycling rates are at an all time high with an average of 34% of all Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) recycled annually (Environmental Protection Agency, EPA, 2012). While this number may seem like a lot, the EPA estimates that nearly 75% of all Municipal Solid Waste can be recycled , meaning more than half inevitably end up in landfills throughout the country every year (EPA, 2012). With landfills filling at exceedingly fast rates, and the average individual generating 4.38 pounds of trash per day, recycling is becoming more of a necessity than ever before (EPA, 2012)....   [tags: Recycling, Waste management, Waste]

Better Essays
2195 words (6.3 pages)

College Students and Stress Essay

- College and Stress There are numerous stress factors college students encounter while striving to complete their educational goals. Their grades may be affected by daily life situation stressors that accumulate throughout the semester. Students’ financial needs, lack of social support, family drama, and other various circumstances can all mount up to a tremendous amount of stress and may result in poor grades and lack of collected credits. In fact, stress continues to be a constant issue in people’s lives, (Holmes & Rahe, 1967; Viner, 1999) and these “life demands stressors” are unavoidable and can be overwhelming which directly or indirectly relate to individuals underperforming because o...   [tags: educational goals, academic performance]

Better Essays
1642 words (4.7 pages)

Essay on College Prepare People For Life

- College prepares people for life Today in American society, one feels pressured and obligated to seek higher levels of education. In the article “College prepare people for life” written by Freeman Hrabowski, he expresses his views on the many aspects in which college prepares one for their life; especially, financially. Having a college degree increases ones ability to get a job in comparison to somebody who has solely a high school diploma. However, many are faced with the irony of having to go into to debt, in order to work towards financial independence and security....   [tags: Higher education, University, College]

Better Essays
939 words (2.7 pages)

Essay about College Expense

- Congrats. You’ve been accepted to the college of your choice; now all that’s left to figure out is how you’ll pay for college. Unfortunately, college costs don’t end at tuition and room and board you’ll also have to pay for textbooks, meals, transportation, and a computer with working internet. We have been told that we live in a free country, but if our country is so called “free,” how come paying for an education isn’t. The most important in my case and many low income students is trying to attend college and being able to pay without going into debt....   [tags: Education, Tuition, College]

Better Essays
1207 words (3.4 pages)