Essay about Drug Testing in Hong Kong School Districts

Essay about Drug Testing in Hong Kong School Districts

Length: 2300 words (6.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Drug abuse has always been a severe problem all over the world. In Hong Kong, the number of drug addicts has increased each year and the age of drug abusers is getting lower. Students, even those in primary schools, have their first experience though cough medicine and paint thinner, two easily reachable and addictive substances. Despite of the increasing number of reported cases of drug abuse every year, the government and schools are still persistent in finding ways to at least stop more children from falling into this deadly temptation. To save the future pillars of society from bad influences of drugs and lead them to a brighter future, the government is responsible to propose and execute effective ways with schools; Although they have implemented drug testing schemes in schools, it is proven to be ineffective to stop teens’ drug abuse problem.
The drug tests are carried out in 23 schools in Tai Po, a district in Hong Kong, out of the total of 523 schools in Hong Kong. In these schools, up to 5% of the students in each school would be chosen randomly to take drug tests with consent from both the parent and the student on agreeing to take the test. Students’ urine sample will be used in the tests and the test covers several common types of drugs which were consumed by teenage drug abusers in Hong Kong.



Evidence:
There is a need in carrying out school testing schemes because of the increasing number of drug abusers over years. According to the statistics from the Central Registry of Drug Abuse, since 2003 there is a rise in the number of young drug abusers aged under 21, and the population of drug abuse have became younger by every year. For instance, the number of young drug abusers have risen from 2206 people in ...


... middle of paper ...


...ndom Drug Testing Policies.” The Student Drug-Testing Coalition. 2002. 1 March 2011. .

National Center for Education Evaluation. “National Center for Education Evaluation.” Institute of Education Sciences. 2010. 14 March 2011. .

School Education Statistics Section, Education Bureau. 05 July, 2010. 18 Feb, 2011. .

“Teen Drug Use Increasing in Hong Kong.” Teen Drug Abuse 8 Sep. 2009. 18 Feb 2011. .

“What the Experts Say on Student Drug Testing.” American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). 15 March, 2002. 16 March, 2011. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Analysis Of Sumner School Districts Digital Readiness Essay examples

- Thank you for the opportunity to Interview you concerning Sumner School Districts Digital Readiness. I have summarized where Sumner is currently, in order to examine the next steps, in addition to assisting in the Technology Plan revision. I have included the current initiatives and technology deployments that will be fulfilled in the near future. Having the status of a technology rich district with the highest, (or one of the highest) student to device ratio, as a small district is a substantial accomplishment and should provide us with additional opportunities....   [tags: High school, Education, Teacher, School district]

Term Papers
1011 words (2.9 pages)

High School Administrations And Districts Essay

- Dear High school administrations and districts, For many generations women have faced some type of inequality through political, economic, or social manners. However, recently women have gained more freedom as they are able to go to school, work, vote, and many other forms of freedom that were not available to them. Despite this, girls of my generation still face social inequality and this is evident in the high school system across the United States. Young teenage girls face the brutality of inequality due to the unequal enforcement of the dress code and public shaming in High Schools....   [tags: High school, Education, Trousers]

Term Papers
1266 words (3.6 pages)

Reasons For Why School Districts Essay

- There are many reasons to why school districts choose whether or not to integrate musical programs. Jamey Kelley, a writer who wrote many journals, wrote a journal based on this topic. With the help of statisticians, they hosted a project by collecting samples between traditional schools, and charter school. Charter Schools became a huge movement, starting in Montana of 1991. With Charter schools promoting musical programs against traditional schools being their counter parts, it was perfect to be able how students perform academically....   [tags: Education, High school, Teacher, Music]

Term Papers
1280 words (3.7 pages)

The Monster: School Testing Essay

- ... If the student does poorly then the teacher or the parents of the student may need to help the student focus more. Aside from seeing how well a student may have understood a subject it allows the educator to see if the student is ready to move onto another topic. Maybe the students are in elementary and they are learning how to do addition and the teacher tests them to see how well they understood it, if they are ready the teacher may move onto subtraction. This is in essence how standardized testing works but on a much larger scale and only looks into how well students understand....   [tags: fundings, school district, NCLB]

Term Papers
1148 words (3.3 pages)

Standarized Testing Should Be Removed in School Districts in Washington State

- School Districts in Washington State should remove the requirements of standardized testing. The tests that are taken are not a valid way of showing a student’s complete abilities that are showcased in class. The way that the tests are all the same and some students have only learned some of the materials because of the classes that chose to take in high school don’t teach everything that is on the test. Taking these tests are putting a toll on high school students and causing them stress and anxiety....   [tags: hurts students, stress, SAT, ACT]

Term Papers
623 words (1.8 pages)

Funding Is An Ongoing Issue For Arizona School Districts Essays

- Funding is an ongoing issue for Arizona school districts. The policies change each year. What is an allowed one-year is not allowed the next and in my viewpoint the funding is never adequate to meet the needs of our students in Arizona. The five areas I have selected that are not currently working to support or promote student learning first fall under the category of unfunded mandates which includes, ELL requirements for students, homeless students and special education. The following two polices I will be discussing will be Arizona Charter School regulations and tax credits provided to schools from taxpayers....   [tags: High school, Public school, Charter school]

Term Papers
1800 words (5.1 pages)

Teacher Turnover Is Experienced Annually By All School Districts Essay

- Introduction Teacher turnover is experienced annually by all school districts in the United States. The researcher states that “research conducted by Tye and O’Brien (2002) on teacher turnover, referenced an article entitled “How we drive teachers to quit” written by Richard Meryman, which concluded that teachers leave the profession because of lack of job satisfaction” (p.2). A list of six strategies were proposed that could help teachers in the classroom, and one of the strategies was to reduce class size....   [tags: Education, Teacher, Focus group, School]

Term Papers
1099 words (3.1 pages)

I Was Born And Raised Singapore Hong Kong Essay

- I was born and raised in Hong Kong. I come to the US on my own to continue my studying after I finish my high school. My mom is a housewife and my dad is a businessman. My dad works in a printing company in Hong Kong. I have a elder sister who is 10 years older than me. She graduated in an university in New York. My parents are definitely the most important relationship in my life. They are always my motivation in my life. I started to go to school when I was 2 and a half and it is a pre-nursery....   [tags: Hong Kong, China, High school]

Term Papers
1530 words (4.4 pages)

School Districts Essay

- Every school district aims for high achievement; some consistently exceed expectations while others fail. With close to 3.2 million teachers employed nationwide (Fast Facts, 2011), school districts are often categorized into three groups: urban, suburban and rural. Within these categories, lower socioeconomic status is prevalent in the rural and urban areas. However, the students in urban districts are the most culturally diverse. Many people would assume a teacher in a rural school would use similar to identical teaching strategies as one in an urban school....   [tags: Education, Teachers]

Term Papers
2553 words (7.3 pages)

Comparing School Districts Essay

- The article gave a great account of two Ohio school districts; one, Olmstead Falls Intermediate School, classified as a “High Performing” school that wanted continued growth and the other, Start High School, classified as needing “Continued Improvement” both embarked on the Framework for Improving Leadership set forth by the state of Ohio. The Framework set for an emphasis for adult learning focused on effective leadership, shifting from traditional leadership, positive leadership as the means for improvement, and including standards, training and supportive conditions for leaders....   [tags: Article Review]

Term Papers
842 words (2.4 pages)