Dreams That Never Come Essay

Dreams That Never Come Essay

Length: 1109 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

“If you work hard and play by the rules you should be given a chance to go as far as your God-given ability will take you.” President Bill Clinton coined this phrase as he declared the role of the American dream is purposed for all and can be obtain by someone's own efforts (Schudson 566). This is easier said then done. The American dream has long been prescribed into the heart and defines what it means to be an American. Almost like an addictive drug, the pursuit of the dream fuels the desires of natives and foreigners alike to go after a life styles that is just out of their reach. The challenge to obtain the American dream is faced by all walks of life, but such a dream seems more daunting for refugees seeking their new beginnings in the United States.
The American dream has many forms of meaning that touches into the freedom an American has in molding his of her life. “All people are free to pursue the dream, regardless of background, with reasonable anticipation though not the promise, of success” through action under their own control –and doing so worthy of our deep commitment because “true success is associated with virtue” (Hochschild 18). Simply by working hard anyone can realize their dreams coming true. This dream can mean something different for everyone. For two Sri Lankan immigrant women their dream came when becoming independent as they operated their own day care business. Success was also found for the Vietnamese American immigrants that populate Little Saigon, in orange county California. These people were able to establish a community that exemplified economic and political growth (Trinh Vö 86). Most American find they gained the good life when they have security in the careers, own a home in a goo...


... middle of paper ...


... the Community: New Opportunities, New Struggles." Analyses of Social Issues & Public Policy 7.1 (2007): 75-91. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 4 Apr. 2011.
Trinh Vö, Linda. "Constructing a Vietnamese American Community: Economic and Political Transformation in Little Saigon, Orange County." Amerasia Journal 34.3 (2008): 85- 109. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 4 Apr. 2011.
Bennett, Brian. "Coming to America." Time International (Atlantic Edition) 171.5 (2008): 20- 23.Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 18 Mar. 2011.
Zavis, Alexandra. “Refugees find the American dream down on the farm.” Los Angeles Times, 26 Aug. 2010. Web. 18 Mar. 2011
Kenen, James. “Samath Chap's American Dream.” People. 11 Nov. 1985. Web. 4 Apr. 2011
Griffin, Anna. “Bhutanese refugees in Oregon find frustrating path to American dream.” 19 Mar. 2010. Web. 18 Mar. 2011.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on What Dreams May Come

- What Dreams May Come When mortality is contemplated, issues of life, death, and the hereafter are usually the first of a myriad of topics to spontaneously arise as if they are from the dark depths of a person's soul. I believe that this is most eloquently stated by Hamlet: For in that sleep of death what dreams may come, When we have shuffled off this mortal coil, Must give us pause. (III. i.) This passage served as inspiration for Richard Matheson, the author of the novel, What Dreams May Come....   [tags: What Dreams May Come]

Free Essays
698 words (2 pages)

Jay Gatsby vs. Janie Crawford: A Race to Make Dreams Come True Essay

- Zora Neal Hurston's Their Eyes Were Watching God packs the narrator and the authors view on the then unusual role in gender and how they are undertaken in the novel. The opening line sets the tone for the novel and the character Janie Crawford, can insinuate parallel worlds between her and the character of Jay Gatsby in F. Scott Fitzgerald The Great Gatsby. If the parallels are being drawn respectively to the characters in the two novels, then the lines “Ships at a distance have every man's wish on board....   [tags: Their Eyes Were Watching God, The Great Gatsby]

Better Essays
1211 words (3.5 pages)

Dreams Do Come True Essays

- Dreams Do Come True In sixth grade I remember when Mrs. Applewood made us write down one goal that we wanted to achieve. I quickly placed my freshly sharpened number 2 pencil on the blank, white sheet of paper and wrote down five, simple words- to be a state champion. As a little girl I had a lot of wants and dreams. I wanted my daddy to coach my sixth grade team, I wanted to win a state championship, and I dreamed of playing college basketball somewhere. I was 12 years old when my daddy, Sean, coached myself and six other determined, dedicated girls to a Little League National Championship....   [tags: college basketball career]

Better Essays
1103 words (3.2 pages)

Dreams Are Never Out of Reach Essays

- DREAMS ARE NEVER OUT OF REACH The unified sound of chants from fans in the audience was echoing throughout the immense gymnasium as amateur Shawn Johnson prepared for her balance beam routine. As the crowd held their breath for every move, she performed with her entire heart. After her incredible dismount, she gave a smile of relief and satisfaction toward her loved ones in the stands. Her score put her over the top and guaranteed her a medal, but she did not expect her results to stand firm....   [tags: Professional Athletes]

Better Essays
851 words (2.4 pages)

Animal Dreams Essay

- Animal Dreams    "'Stop it!' I yelled. My heart was thumping. 'You're killing that bird!'" - Codi Noline, Animal Dreams  Those are the words of Codi Noline, a brave heroine with her mind set on rescuing a beautiful but defenseless peacock from horrible torture by a group of demented children on her first day back in her hometown of Grace, Arizona.  Much to Codi's chagrin, the bird turns out to be just a piñata, spilling candy and bright treasures rather than a gory mass of blood and bone.  The children aren't a pack of hopelessly troubled youth engaging in animal mutilation for sport, only a normal group of kids participating in a party game very common to the Southwestern Mexico-influen...   [tags: dreams]

Free Essays
1952 words (5.6 pages)

The Character of Alice in Animal Dreams Essay

- The Character of Alice in Animal Dreams She is dead. She does not appear physically but haunts mentally. She is Codi and Hallie's mother Alice, the late wife of Homero Noline. Throughout the novel Animal Dreams by Barbara Kingsolver, Alice impacted the characters, action, and theme(s). When Alice passed away she took part of Homer with her. What she left was a misfit of time and circumstance; an emotionally distraught and distant man who attempted to resemble a father but veered more towards the tin man....   [tags: Animal Dreams Essays]

Free Essays
599 words (1.7 pages)

Dreams Do Come True Essay

- Dreams Do Come True Dreams do come true. Everyone in their life has a dream or two or three. Finding the way to achieve your dreams, goals, and aspirations is an epic journey on its own. It takes discipline, determination, and self -exploration. This is the tale of the journey I am still currently on. As a child I always wanted to be in the spotlight. I was always the ham in family pictures, the one who had to excel past my brother, and be in the know of everything. When I was about twelve years old, I realized that entertaining people was what I was all about....   [tags: Personal Narrative Writing]

Free Essays
982 words (2.8 pages)

What Dreams May Come Essay

- What Dreams May Come The movie What Dreams May Come gives a rather positive view on the afterlife. I think most of the ideas and views shown in the film are related to many of society's main beliefs pertaining to death and the afterlife, but the views are left broad enough so they can relate to any specific religion. Personally, I have no concrete belief concerning the afterlife, or whether or not if there even is life after death, but I can see why many people would agree with many of the films perspectives....   [tags: Film Movies Review Life After Death Essays]

Better Essays
1805 words (5.2 pages)

Hoop Dreams Essay

- Hoop Dreams               Hoop Dreams is a story about two young men who want to become basketball players in the NBA. The author Ben Joravsky wrote the book. The idea for the book came from the documentary movie, Hoop Dreams, which is a true story. Arthur Agee and William Gates are the names of the two boys who were followed from eighth grade to twelve grade to do the movie. Arthur Agee was a 5'6 125 pound guard from the playgrounds of Chicago when St Joseph recruiters saw him. Arthur was playing against guy's three years older than he was and he was still the best in the neighborhood....   [tags: Hoop Dreams]

Free Essays
710 words (2 pages)

Phil Alden Robinson's Field of Dreams Essay

- Phil Alden Robinson's Field of Dreams Was Ray Kinsella a triumphant hero who dared to live his dreams, or merely an insane lunatic who blindly followed voices that could only be heard within the confines of his mind. Although either of these theories could be argued successfully, the idea that this intrepid man was indeed a hero is supported by a list of characteristics that generally indicate a classical hero. In the movie, Field of Dreams, Ray Kinsella was introduced to the viewers as an ordinary man, living an ordinary life, in an ordinary town....   [tags: Film Movies Field Dreams Essays]

Free Essays
1074 words (3.1 pages)