Dreams: Carl Jung and Sigmund Freud Essay

Dreams: Carl Jung and Sigmund Freud Essay

Length: 1178 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

“Dreams are a series of images, ideas, emotions, and sensations occurring involuntarily in the mind during certain stages of sleep.” This is the true definition of what dreams are according to Free Dictionary.com. Although many people are unaware of how dreams actually work there are two psychologists that have been able to pinpoint the true meaning of dreams. These two men are Carl Jung and Sigmund Freud. There are many different perceptions on how people dream, what dreams mean, and why people dream.
Sigmund Freud is known as the father of psychoanalysis, along with a psychologist, physiologist, and medical doctor. Freud worked with Joseph Breuer to develop the theory of how the mind is a complex energy system.Throughout Freud’s life he encountered discrimination of his works along with appraisal for his works. His works are found in the “The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud” which was published by Ed. J. Strachey and Anna Freud. Although there is only one work by Freud, the number of works on Freud is almost uncountable. (Stephen 2014) Carl Jung is another extravagant man. Carl was faced with fainting spells as a child, but overcame them with perseverance. Jung first wanted to study medicine, but he was also interested in spiritual phenomena which led him to study in psychiatry. The first time Jung and Freud met, they talked for twelve hours non stop discussing their theories. Although the two men clicked at first, they eventually separated and studied the unconscious mind on their own. The impact that Jung has left on society is through the Alcoholics Anonymous Program and his concepts on introversion and extraversion have contributed to psychology and psychotherapy. (Cherry 2013)
Dreams a...


... middle of paper ...


...reams? Psychology, Neuroscience Try to Explain Them." The Asashi Shimbun. The Asahi Shimbun GLOBE, 26 Aug. 2012. Web. 30 Jan. 2014. .

Cherry, Kendra. "Carl Jung Biography (1875-1961)." About.com Psychology. About.com, n.d. Web. 12 Feb. 2014. .

"Dreams." Free Dictionary.com. Kernerman English Multilingual Dictionary, May-June 2013. Web. 30 Jan. 2013. .

Simons, Ilana, Ph.D. "Why Do We Dream?" Phsycology Today. N.p., 11 Nov. 2009. Web. 31 Jan. 2013.

Thornton, Stephen P. "Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy." Freud, Sigmund []. University of Limerick, n.d. Web. 05 Feb. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Theories Of Dreams, By Carl Jung Essay

- Well known psychologist Sigmund Freud made the statement within his Interpretation of Dreams that “it is only after seeing man as his unconscious, revealed by his dreams, presents him to us that we shall understand him fully. For as Freud said to Putnam: "We are what we are because we have been what we have been.”. This quote supports many Freudian theories that dreams derive from the unconscious mind and represent inner desires. There are many different analyses about the dream theory striving to answer the question “Why do we dream?”....   [tags: Sigmund Freud, Carl Jung, Psychology]

Term Papers
972 words (2.8 pages)

Carl Jung 's Theory Of Dreams Essays

- Sigmund Freud believed that dreams fulfill our wishes, though they are not always successful. Carl Jung, on the other hand, believed that dreams are the communication between the unconscious and conscious. According to Jung, dreams play an important role in the psyche of a person; they re-establish “total psychic equilibrium” As I look back to the dreams I had, I can see why Freud believed that our dreams fulfill our wishes and why Jung believed dreams are a form of communication between the unconscious and conscious....   [tags: Dream, Sigmund Freud, Carl Jung, Unconscious mind]

Term Papers
700 words (2 pages)

Essay on Compare and Contrast: Freud Sigmund and Carl Gustav Jung

- Freud Sigmund and Carl Gusav Yung are two psychoanalysts who share the same similarities and differences in their career study. Both professional analysts embraced tremendous contributions to psychology. Sigmund theorized human behaviors, mental illness, interpretations of dreams and the unconscious. Carl Gustav Yung formulates the concepts of dream symbols, individuation, and personality types. Freud Sigmund was born on May 6, 1856, in Freiberg, Moravia and died on September 23, 1939, in London, England....   [tags: Psychologists, Theory, Dreams]

Term Papers
861 words (2.5 pages)

Dreams, By Carl Jung Essay

- Keep Dreaming Dreams, according to the Webster Dictionary, are a series of thoughts, images, and sensations occurring in a person’s mind during the state of unconsciousness (sleep). In this essay, one will come to understand what dreams are, how they can be linked to medical illnesses, why we dream and, what nightmares are. What are Dreams. Long before any relevant studies were made, people believed that dreams were a sort of communication passageway between the Earth and the world of the gods....   [tags: Dream, Psychology, Sleep, Sigmund Freud]

Term Papers
844 words (2.4 pages)

Sigmund Freud 's Interpretation Of Dreams Essay

- Six years ago, I remember coming home from high school and being told that my grandmother had passed away. Since she had lived far away in Malta, I had not been able to visit her in four or five years. Everyone in my family was upset and tearful, except for me. Nothing felt different. I was disgusted with myself for being so cold, and for a long time, I condemned myself for being so unsympathetic. Years later, however, I found myself talking to her spirit constantly, acting as if we had never been separated and feeling that she had never died....   [tags: Sigmund Freud, Unconscious mind, Carl Jung]

Term Papers
1178 words (3.4 pages)

My Theory Of Dreams By Sigmund Freud, And Spellbound, Directed By Alfred Hitchcock

- Based on On Dreams, written by Sigmund Freud, and Spellbound, directed by Alfred Hitchcock, provide the most psychological significant aspect of dreams through the theory of dreams made by Freud. I partially agree with Freud’s theory on dreams and the dreaming process. Dreams have the ability to form a bridge from reality to transfer over to the unconscious mindset. Throughout his article, On Dreams, he gives explanations behind his theory. The human psyche has a vital role in psychology, including the way humans interpret dreams and their sequence....   [tags: Sigmund Freud, Psychoanalysis, Carl Jung]

Term Papers
955 words (2.7 pages)

Dreams : Dreams Reflect Inner Thoughts And Give Meaning Essay example

- Informative Paper on Dreams Thesis: Dreams reflect inner thoughts and give meaning to lifes. Where do dreams come from. What actually are dreams. Do they mean something that is related in our real lives. All these questions can be answered by learning about the history of dreams in various cultures throughout time. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, dream is defined by a series of thoughts, images, and sensations occurring involuntarily in a person’s mind during certain stages of sleep....   [tags: Carl Jung, Sigmund Freud, Dream, Psychology]

Term Papers
708 words (2 pages)

Essay on Sigmund Freud And Carl Jung

- Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung both defined the world of psychology. Both based their theories on that the mind has a conscious and unconscious levels. The both also thought that dreams needed to be interpreted. Both divided the human psyche into three parts. There are many more differences/disagreements in their theories. Freud defined the human psyche as the id, ego and superego. The id is our unconscious drive (sex). The id is not bound by morality but only seeks pleasure. The ego is our conscious perceptions (memories and thoughts) enable us to deal with reality....   [tags: Carl Jung, Sigmund Freud, Psychoanalysis]

Term Papers
1086 words (3.1 pages)

The Lucid Dreams : A Lucid Dream Essay

- Are Lucid Dreams Existent It is said that a lucid dream is a dream that can be induced or controlled and is characterized by the dreamer being aware that he or she is dreaming ( Lucid ). When lucidity occurs, the dreamer “wakes up” inside the dream during fixed states of cognizance. Dreams are caused by things “…our mind knows, however which we cannot handle, is disturbing or something that we keep reiterating to ourselves” ( Ganguly ). This is why distinguishing significant dream symbols from ambient symbols is important for attempting this state....   [tags: Sigmund Freud, Carl Jung, Dream, Unconscious mind]

Term Papers
1521 words (4.3 pages)

Sigmund Freud And Carl Jung Essays

- Both Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung are famous psychologists that focused on personality. These two men have defined and shaped psychology. In the beginning, Freud and Jung had a deep friendship and shared many ideas. After thirteen long years of working together, Jung developed several new theories and starts to disagree with Freud in certain areas in the field of psychology. Later, they have begun to develop their own individual ideas and drop their friendship. The three specific areas that Jung disagrees with Freud on being the unconscious mind, the role of sexuality and the subject of dreams....   [tags: Unconscious mind, Carl Jung, Sigmund Freud]

Term Papers
1018 words (2.9 pages)