Essay Don't Light Up My Night

Essay Don't Light Up My Night

Length: 1731 words (4.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Don’t Light Up My Night
I remember gazing at the stars with my mom when I was a kid. She pointed out the Milky Way and a number of constellations. She told me, “there are way too many stars to count!” Now, 50 years later, when I walk outside and look up, I see only a few identifiable constellations, no Milky Way, and I would venture to say there were so few stars that if I took a little time, I could count them all. Are there really fewer stars in the heavens? Not at all. The stars are up there, they just cannot be seen by the naked eye from the vast majority of heavily populated vantage points anymore. The culprit, I learned, is called “Light Pollution”.
According to the International Dark-Sky Association (IDA), light pollution is “the unnatural luminescence created by a combination of urban sky glow, glare and light trespass” (Petersen). What that means is that the artificial lighting of nighttime hours has created a bright halo, or “glow”, over urban and some rural areas, eliminating the natural state of total darkness. The “glare” refers to horizontal light that shines directly into one’s eyes. “Light trespass” involves unwanted artificial light spilling onto and into property (from floodlights, security lights, street lights) that would otherwise be dark (IDA). Astronomers were the first to notice this problem 30 years ago when they became frustrated as sky glow began impairing their ability to see the stars (Bower).
Since Thomas Edison's invention of the incandescent light bulb in 1879, people have been lighting up the night in ever-increasing ways and intensities. As a result of this human-manufactured illumination, in her article, Our Vanishing Night, Verlyn Klinkenborg shares, “In most cities, the sky looks as thoug...


... middle of paper ...


....
International Dark-Sky Association. International Dark-Sky Association. 2011.Web. 22 Nov. 2011
Klinkenborg, Verlyn. “Our Vanishing Night”. National Geographic. National Geographic
Magazine, Nov. 2008. Web. 22. Nov. 2011.
Milbourn, Todd. “Truckee Fears Its Star Power Is In Peril”. Sacramento Bee. (2008). Web.
2 Nov. 2011.
Navara, K.J. and Nelson, R.J. “The Dark Side of Light at Night: Physiological,
Epidemiological, and Ecological Consequences”. Journal of Pineal Research, 2007: 43
(215-224). Wiley Online Library. Web. 28 Nov. 2011.
Petersen, Aili. “NIGHT LIGHTS”. American Scientist 89.1(2001): 24. Gale Opposing
Viewpoints in Context. Web. 2 Nov. 2011.
Spivey, Angela. “Light at Night and Breast Cancer Risk Worldwide”. Environmental Health
Perspectives, 118. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, 2010: A525(1).
Web. 14 Nov. 2011.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

I dont know Essay

- The Resurrection As Conrad begins to drift off he begins to envision the awful day of his brothers death. It was just like he was there all over again everything was so real. The dream covered every aspect of the horrifying event, but this time the end was a new beginning. As Buck released himself from the boat and drew closer and closer to the forever darkness of death Conrad froze as he did before. Once Buck had left the known world the same thoughts that plague him Conrad in reality started a dangerous flow beginning to take over his body....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
777 words (2.2 pages)

Essay Don't Light Up My Night

- Don’t Light Up My Night I remember gazing at the stars with my mom when I was a kid. She pointed out the Milky Way and a number of constellations. She told me, “there are way too many stars to count!” Now, 50 years later, when I walk outside and look up, I see only a few identifiable constellations, no Milky Way, and I would venture to say there were so few stars that if I took a little time, I could count them all. Are there really fewer stars in the heavens. Not at all. The stars are up there, they just cannot be seen by the naked eye from the vast majority of heavily populated vantage points anymore....   [tags: Light Pollution ]

Powerful Essays
1731 words (4.9 pages)

Essay on Waking in the Middle of the Night

- It happens more often than not- waking in the middle of the night. As I become conscious of my surroundings, I am filled with a sense of foreboding. The soft hisses and puffs escaping my loved ones lips while deep in the throes of sleep provide the only distraction from the all-encompassing silence. As I strain to hear the sounds of life surrounding me the ominous sensation of being alone, abandoned, is ignited within me. It feels as if my loved one have left and gone to somewhere that I am no longer welcomed and I must stay behind, long forgotten....   [tags: night,]

Powerful Essays
729 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on The Effects Of Light Pollution On Earth

- Having electricity is something that most people feel they need to be comfortable and safe in their day to day lives. So much so, that the demand for lighting has increased rapidly over the years. This increase in demand also includes the usage of artificial lighting which also contributes greatly to light pollution. Light pollution has had an unfavorable effect on the planet and this includes humans, animals, and plants as a whole. Light pollution is the “inappropriate or excessive usage of light causing glare, sky glow, and light trespass”....   [tags: Light pollution, Lighting, Light]

Powerful Essays
1304 words (3.7 pages)

Essay about The Night, The Light Of The Moon

- The darkness of the night, the light of the moon; these are the metaphors of the brain. The darkness refers to all of the negative experiences and stress the brain endures. While the moon light refers to the experiences we love to undergo and pray they never cease. No one can choose what things their brain can reject and take in. If that were the case we wouldn’t have the need for psychologist and social workers and others in this line of work. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a coming of age film that exhibits these roller coaster characteristics of how the brain can be in an individual....   [tags: Adolescence, High school, Young adult, Psychology]

Powerful Essays
1644 words (4.7 pages)

Essay on The Light Fades Into The Night

- ... The morning came and Tami just had to tell someone anyone about her interactions she had last night with the person who came to visit her to tell her they were sorry. Tami: “Last night someone came to visit me”. Edwardo: “Who did. And where was I”. Tami: “well you were here of course, sleeping right next to me”. Edwardo: “Then who came to see you”. Tami: “I’m not sure I didn’t see but they said they were sorry. Do you…. Do you think it was our child”. Edwardo: “oh honey please don’t do this to yourself again....   [tags: Debut albums, 2007 singles, 2000 albums, Sleep]

Powerful Essays
749 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on The Light And Electromagnetic Spectrum

- The Light and Electromagnetic Spectrum both fall in the same category. in order to see the light or notice anything about the electromagnetic spectrum. both of this we use everyday and see everyday and we also feel everybody day without it we wouldn 't have many thing we would have to day. Electromagnetic spectrum is a list of the most possible range of electromagnetic radiation around us. their many different electromagnetic radiation in the world. for example we got radio radiation, sun 's radiation , microwaves radiation, etc....   [tags: Electromagnetic radiation, Light]

Powerful Essays
706 words (2 pages)

Essay on The Effect Of Light On Human Perception

- Our perception of the world is dependent on our senses and response to stimulus. Sensation is the process of absorbing energy from a physical stimulus in the environment and converting this energy into neural impulses and sending them to the brain. The brain then interprets and organises this sensory information resulting in our subjective conscious experience or perception. (Lefton & Brannon 2003) The five human sensory organs receive the stimulus which determines our perception. Arguably the most important of these senses is vision....   [tags: Light, Color, Book of Optics, Eye]

Powerful Essays
1196 words (3.4 pages)

Essay on Making a Night Light

- Making a Night Light A nightlight provides light at the change of the light- mostly at night. The definition of light night is so that night passers will be able to see more clearly, drivers will be able to drive safely and accidents will be avoided. Nightlight requires LDR (Light Dependent Resistor). The resistor changes its resistance depending on the amount of light it receives. LDR is also used to monitor light intensity level. A resistor, which reduces the flow of current in circuit, is also needed....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
602 words (1.7 pages)

The Light In The Forest Essay

- The Light In The Forest Conrad Richter's book, The Light In The Forest, is about a boy from Pennsylvania who was adopted into an Indian family. After a long period of time, True Son had to go back to his white family. The ordeal in the story is that he wanted to go back to the Indians and not stay in the white village. When he came back, he made a big mistake and got kicked out of the Indian village. In my opinion, Cuyloga made the most difficult decision in the novel when he decided to send True Son away at the end....   [tags: The Light In The Forest]

Free Essays
389 words (1.1 pages)