Discrimination in As I Grew Older by Langston Hughes Essay

Discrimination in As I Grew Older by Langston Hughes Essay

Length: 757 words (2.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

“I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident; that all men are created equal’.”(King) Martin Luther’s word are still remember till this day, almost 50 years later. Years ago, rights between blacks and white where not equal. Black were treated as minorities and were not given the same opportunities the white people had. The poem I choose to analyze, “As I Grew Older”, speaks about the discrimination against blacks at that time. The author uses metaphors and other techniques to share with the reader his feeling about injustice towards the black race.
The writer of the poem is Langston Hughes. Since he was young, the color of his skin is what set him back. “He was black, poor, and full of dreams that were not likely to come true.”(Dyson) This poem relates those situations to the audience throught the use of metaphors. He begins the poem by speaking of a dream he had a long time ago. He compared the dream to the sun by the use of metaphors. The poem states, “But it was there then, In front of me, Bright like a sun— My dream.”(Hughes) The bright sun represents this dream which he had in front of him, clear and vivid. It seems as if the dream is reachable, allowing him to believe he is capable of accomplishing and reaching it. However, soon an obstacle appears which blocks him from being able to reach his goal.
The obstacle which appears is represented by a tall wall which blocks him from the sun. “The dream seemed very possible at first, but then the wall "rose slowly" showing that it seemed less and less likely as he grew up.”(Allen) The wall “Rose until it touched the sky”(Hughes) During the author’s time, it was difficult for his race to...


... middle of paper ...


...nd fight against the big wall until it is torn down. He must fight for the rights of his people until they can see the bright yellow sun again.

























Work Cited
Allen. "Harlem Renaissance." : An Analysis of "As I Grew Older" N.p., 17 Mar. 2012. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.
Dyson, Cindy. "Hughes, Langston." Bloom's Literature. Facts On File, Inc. Web. 7 Dec. 2013
Hughes, Langston. "Poem Hunters." Poemhunter.com. N.p., 3 Jan. 2003. Web. 13 Dec. 2007.
Jackson, Kyle. "A College Review of Langston Hughes and "As I Grew Older"" Wikinut. N.p., 17 May 2013. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.
King Jr., Martin Luther "I Have a Dream."Inside American History.Abingdon/Cambridge: Helicon, 2007. History Study Center. Web. 7 Dec. 2013.
Lawler, Maggie. "Critical Analysis of As I Grew Older." Langstonhughes2012 - Critical Analysis of As I Grew Older. N.p., n.d. Web. 08 Dec. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Langston Hughes' Message in 'As I Grew Older' Essay

- As I Grew Older’ by Langston Hughes, it is about this character, his dream and how his dream was blocked out by a wall. Hughes set his poem up to tell the story of the characters life. First it’s telling you about how he was younger, and how his dream was right there without the wall and all of the sudden the wall starts to grow. Then it’s his life in the present, now the wall has grown up to the sky and is shadowing him. Then it talks about the future, how he wants to break through the wall and see his dream....   [tags: Literature Analysis]

Better Essays
505 words (1.4 pages)

Poem Analysis - As I Grew Older, Langston Hughes Essay

- Poem Analysis “As I Grew Older,” by Langston Hughes Time passes by, leaving behind memories but dreams never fade. They are immortalised in ones’ souls. In the poem, “As I Grew Older” by Langston Hughes, the persona’s dreams are immortalised since his childhood although he faces numerous obstacles in achieving them. The poem is about one’s dream in life. In the quest of his journey, the persona encounters enormous number of challenges and barriers. The theme of this poem revolves around the strong willingness and the hardship needed for ones to achieve their goals....   [tags: poetry, poetry analysis]

Better Essays
1483 words (4.2 pages)

Essay on Sandra Cisneros and Hughes Analysis

- Discrimination has and always will be controversial, whether it is because of sex or color of skin it will always be around. Writer inspiration seems to come from firsthand accounts and experiences, at least that is the case with Sandra Cisneros, a Chicana writer, and Langston Hughes, and African American poet. When reading their stories the reader can identify how different life experiences have influenced and inspired them to write the way they do. Analyzing Sandra Cisneros and Langston Hughes, and pieces of their writing will demonstrate how similar their writing is, how minority discrimination, and cultural circumstances effect and shape different pieces of their respective writings....   [tags: writers, discrimination, feminist writer]

Better Essays
1583 words (4.5 pages)

Prejudice in Langston Hughes' Novel, Not Without Laughter Essay

- Throughout Langston Hughes' novel, Not Without Laughter, the author introduces multiple characters that reveal their notions of prejudice. The novel explores that prejudice in one form or another is in every aspect of one's life. Prejudice can be defined as an opinion for or against a person's look, race, class, or religion, which is usually formed by a hasty generalization. Most of the main characters, Aunt Hager, Sister Johnson, Jimboy, Harriet, and Tempy contain different accounts of prejudice in the world, which stimulate many of Sandy's thoughts of life as he comes of age....   [tags: prejudice, langston hughes, aunt hager]

Better Essays
1376 words (3.9 pages)

Sixteen Candles, by John Hughes Essay example

- Director John Hughes does it again. In Sixteen Candles, he captures the essence of high school from the views of the nerds to the jocks. Depicted in the daily lives of the main characters, he shows even back in 1984, there is a division by popularity and grade. The struggles and pressures students faced are the same as what students are faced with in today’s high schools. This movie relates to teens year after year, generation after generation. Just as the author William Zinsser states in College Pressures, “They are too young to be prisoners of their parents’ dreams and their classmates’ fears” (385)....   [tags: sixteen candles, john hughes]

Better Essays
915 words (2.6 pages)

Langston Hughes' On the Road Essay

- Langston Hughes' "On the Road" In Langston Hughes, "On the Road" the Sargeant is a homeless Black man that is desperate for food and shelter. In his desperation, Sargeant goes to the church to refuge, but there is no one at the Church to help him get refuge. Although Sargent is living in a time where the depression is in existence amongst all people, Black and White, he finds no one to help him. Sargent goes to the Church because the Church helps people. However, because Sargeant is Black and the Church is populated by a White congregation, he is rejected....   [tags: Langston Hughes On Road Poetry Essays]

Better Essays
1247 words (3.6 pages)

Essay Age Discrimination in the Public Sector

- Age Discrimination in the Public Sector My topic of discussion will consist of an analysis on the subject of Age discrimination. Age discrimination generally is discriminating on the basis of age, which is illegal under the Federal Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA), and the California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA). Age discrimination has some special aspects that make it different from other types of employment discrimination. My research will discuss this more in detail. Included will be several court decisions of great importance, the history of the Age Discrimination Statute, and other important data in regards to Age discrimination....   [tags: Discrimination Discriminating Essays]

Better Essays
3250 words (9.3 pages)

Life and Work of Langston Hughes Essays

- Life and Work of Langston Hughes Early Years James Mercer Langston Hughes was born in Joplin, Missouri, on February 1, 1902, to James Nathaniel Hughes, a lawyer and businessman, and Carrie Mercer (Langston) Hughes, a teacher. The couple separated shortly thereafter. James Hughes was, by his son’s account, a cold man who hated blacks (and hated himself for being one), feeling that most of them deserved their ill fortune because of what he considered their ignorance and laziness. Langston’s youthful visits to him there, although sometimes for extended periods, were strained and painful....   [tags: Hughes Writer Poet Biography Essays Papers]

Better Essays
1965 words (5.6 pages)

Langston Hughes' Salvation Essay example

- Langston Hughes' Salvation In most people's lives, there comes a point in time where their perception changes abruptly; a single moment in their life when they come to a sudden realization. In Langston Hughes' 'Salvation', contrary to all expectations, a young Hughes is not saved by Jesus, but is saved from his own innocence. 'Salvation' is the story of a young boy who has an experience of revelation. While attending a church revival, he comes to the sudden realization that Jesus will not physically come save him....   [tags: Langston Hughes Religion Essays Papers]

Better Essays
656 words (1.9 pages)

Job Discrimination Essay

- In some way or another we have all experienced discrimination not only through race but also sex, a disability, religion and so on. How can we determine if discrimination is right in areas other than race. If we define discrimination from the Webster’s dictionary it can be the treatment or consideration of, or making a distinction in favor of or against, a person or thing based on the group, class, or category to which that person belongs. In my opinion I would simply say that “you can’t judge a book by its cover” and that is what we tend to do when we face discrimination....   [tags: Discrimination is Wrong]

Better Essays
1041 words (3 pages)