The Day Of September, 2001 Essay

The Day Of September, 2001 Essay

Length: 1043 words (3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The 11th day of September, 2001 was not just any ordinary day. It was an annihilating day for both me and my country. That day symbolized the burial of my grandfather, who died the week prior. My grandfather, played a fundamental role in my life. He encouraged me both spiritually and educationally. This is also the day that the Islamic terrorist group Al-Qaeda decided to attack the United States. They achieved the attack, though the hijacking of four planes; this caused the complete destruction of the Twin Towers (North and South) of the World Trade Center located in New York City. The terrorist group was also responsible for the partial collapse of the Pentagon. They did, however fail in their attempt on attacking the United States Capitol, and ended up crashing in a field in Pennsylvania. These are all symbolic landmarks in our county.
When I woke up on that horrific Tuesday morning, I remember thinking to myself, “Can this day get any worse.” The realization of the past few days, that lead up the morning when it’s all over. It was the point when I came to accept the death of my grandfather, and his funeral. At this time I had no other choice his funeral was on today. My grandfather was a Baptist preacher, so religion played very important role in our household. He also made sure that we took our schooling seriously, and made good grades. I remember as a little girl always being excited on report card day. I always wanted to make him happy, and see a smile on his face when I did well on my report card. There was also no escaping him when I did badly, because he and my grandmother lived right next door. The only good thing is that it wasn’t raining, however the sun was out, and it was hot and humid. I felt like a ...


... middle of paper ...


...agon, or the plane that crashed in the field in Pennsylvania. I guess because more people were impacted by deaths there than the other two places.
I learned a lot that day, about me and my country. I learned that emotionally I was stronger than what I thought, and I was able to channel my inner thoughts, and use that motivate others. I also learned, that my country was stronger also. All the states came together in a time of hardship, destruction, and need. The view of so many people coming up to strangers to help give aid and assistance, was so amazing. A lot of them lost their lives trying to help others. I feel this tragedy helps bring everyone closer together. We as a country still recognize this day every year because of the chain of events that had taken place. I believe this is the reason why I will be able to remember this day for the rest of my life.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Longest and Trafic Day in American History: September 11th, 2001 Essay

- September 11th, 2001 marks the longest and most tragic day in American history. It started off as a normal morning, kids waking up to go to school, people getting to work, and others just taking a morning run, As if nothing was going to happen. Then all of a sudden at 8:46 Flight 11 hits the north tower of the World Trade Center in Ney York City. There were 767 on board and 20,000 gallons of jet fuel. It hit on the 80th floor out of 110 stories. Imagine hearing a big sound of an explosion while at work....   [tags: world trade center, osama bin laden]

Better Essays
742 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on The Fateful Day Of September 11

- Mark Hansen English Mrs. Toone November 6, 2014 Written Task 2 No one will ever forget the fateful day of September 11, 2001. That day was and still is a day that not only changed America, but also the World. September 11th, more commonly referred to as 9/11, began as a normal day. However, at about 8:45 terrorists hijacked a plane and flew it right into the North Tower of the World Trade Center in New York. At first everyone thought it was just an accident, but at 9:03 it was confirmed a terrorist attack as another plane flew into the South Tower....   [tags: September 11 attacks, Al-Qaeda, Osama bin Laden]

Better Essays
987 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on How Counterterrorism Tactics Changed After September 11, 2001

- September 11, 2001 was the day that changed global outlook on terrorist attacks and counterterrorist tactics. Terrorist can strike at any time and any given place affects anyone, simply spread fear in law abiding citizen’s world wide. Terrorist attacks on World Trade Center in New York City and Pentagon in Washington D.C., are big flow of miscommunication between federal agencies and incident such as terrorist attacks of 2001 should have not happened. Information and intelligence should have been shared among agencies such as Central Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Federal Aviation Administration and other key agencies which work as first defense in countering the terro...   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Better Essays
461 words (1.3 pages)

The Attacks on September 11th 2001 Essay

- September 11th of 2001 is a day in history that will be remembered forever. What was first thought to be a freak accident turned into a horrific nightmare for our country, America was under attack. On the morning of the attacks a group of al Qaeda terrorists took control of four commercial jetliners headed to California and purposively crashed two into the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center. The last plane fell into a Pennsylvania field never reaching its final destination, The White House. These attacks on the United States were formulated by the Islamic culture that has been planning this for many years....   [tags: twin towers, patriot act, homeland security]

Better Essays
2075 words (5.9 pages)

Terrorism: September 11th, 2001 Essay

- ... We’ve all seen it, the news with there huge headlines about attacks in other countries and bombings, and they show thin over, and over. This generates the panic and the fear that terrorists want (“The Nature of Terrorism”). They want to be feared, and the media is giving them what they want. not only that its effecting the United States people. The media shows terrorism in different countries almost everyday in the U.S. This broadcasting makes it seem that terrorism happens in our country, when it is actually very rare for the United States....   [tags: world trade center, outside affair]

Better Essays
867 words (2.5 pages)

What Happened in September 11th, 2001 Essays

- September 11th, 2001 What happened on September 11th, 2001. A day that will be remembered and never forgotten, a day that many innocent people died because of a terrible tragedy that happened on September 11th, 2001 at the World Trade Center in New York City. To many people it probably just looked like another regular work day, but didn’t expect the worst that day. On September 11, 2001, nearly 3,000 people were killed in the terrorist attacks at the World Trade Center in New York City (”11 facts about 9/11”)....   [tags: terrorists attack, world trade center]

Better Essays
887 words (2.5 pages)

America after September 11th, 2001 Essay examples

- September 11, 2001 is a day that has changed the lives in America forever. On this day, terrorist’s hijacked four planes. Each plane was on a mission to hit four historical buildings: The White House, the Pentagon, and the North and South Towers of the World Trade Center. Two planes managed to crash into the North and South Tower, causing the buildings to collapse to the ground. The third plane managed to hit a part of the Pentagon, and the fourth plane crashed in a field in Pennsylvania. Americans shriek of horror when remembering this day....   [tags: terrorism, twin towers, terrorist attacks]

Better Essays
930 words (2.7 pages)

Depiction of September 11th 2001 in the Media Essay

- It was Tuesday 11th September 2001 when two hijacked passenger aircrafts collided with the World Trade Centre, bringing it to fall and kill thousands of people and injure even more. Immediately, newspaper, television and radio journalists were reporting, all with different views, opinions and facts. The ways in which the tragedy of September 11th was reported and presented, in newspapers, magazines and television broadcasts was striking and they varied greatly, in particular by "The Sun" a tabloid newspaper, "The Financial Times" a broadsheet newspaper and a letter published in a commemorative magazine marking the events of that day....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Better Essays
2084 words (6 pages)

Economic Impact of September 11th Essay

- September 11, 2001 was a day that Americans and the world for that matter will not soon forget. When two planes went into the twin towers of the World Trade Center and two others went into the Pentagon and a small town in Pennsylvania, the world was rocked. Everyone in the United States felt very vulnerable and unsafe from attacks that might follow. As a result, confidence in the CIA, FBI, and the airlines were shaken. People were scared to fly after what had happened. The events that unfolded on September 11th and the days that followed also profoundly effected the stock market....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1342 words (3.8 pages)

News Coverage of September 11th, 2001 Essay

- The attack that occurred on September 11th, 2001 on the World Trade Center in New York City is an event that lingers in the minds of many Americans and other people throughout the world. Most people can recall exactly where they were and whom they were with when they first heard about the airplanes crashing into the towers. It was a day that changed the way people looked at the world and brought to light the realities that even the wealthiest and most military advanced country was not safe from acts of terrorism....   [tags: Terrorism and Journalism]

Better Essays
1659 words (4.7 pages)