County Community College Should Provide On-Campus Housing Essay

County Community College Should Provide On-Campus Housing Essay

Length: 1586 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Good Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

When I moved to California two weeks before school started, I had difficulty looking for places to live around County Community College. This is because community colleges don’t usually have on-campus housing facilities for students. This made life very difficult for me because I was brand new to the area and I knew no one. My dad did help me by calling up one of his friends and asked if I could stay at their house temporarily until I was able to find a place I could live at, that was near school because I didn’t have a car at the time. The day I finally found a place to live, school was almost about to start. When I went to check the house out, I really disliked it there because there was no cooking allowed, the only time I could use the stove was to boil water. There were even curfews enforced because poor wooden floorboards would alert everyone whenever someone would walk around just to grab a cup of water or a snack at night. Another limitation was that the landlady had ridiculous shower curfews that I had to follow. The house was very unclean and unhygienic due to the lack of maintenance and care provided for the building. There was no other choice but to live there because it was the closest place to school, that was within walking or biking distance, I could find because I didn’t know how to take the bus in this new country. This is what leads me to believe that County Community College should see if it’s feasible to construct an on-campus housing facility for students because it is able to help a large variety of students in various ways.

County Community is a college that is known for its successful transfer rates. An article on CNN Money discussed about County Community’s fine transferring rates, “County Community s...


... middle of paper ...


...enefits that can affect current and future students. However, County Community may choose to overlook some obstacles due to the great convenience and the great benefits that it may provide for both staff and students. County Community should not disregard this great opportunity that may change lives for staff and students, but look further more into this.





Works Cited

Aquije, Omar. “Most Community Colleges say Building Dorms is Good Plan.” Glens Falls Post-Star, 13 August. 2011. Web. 7 Nov 2013.
Clark, Kim. “Community College: How to Avoid ‘dropout factories.’” Cable News Network, 07 June. 2012. Web. 7 Nov 2013.
Driscoll, Emily. “Great Housing Debate: Living On or Off Campus.” Fox Business. Fox News Network, 19 July. 2013. Web. 7 Nov 2013.
Staff, CB. “Campus Living: On Campus Vs. Off Campus.” College Bound Network,
08 August. 2011. Web. 7 Nov 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about College Life: Benefits of Living On-Campus

- Numerous studies all over the world have made assumptions about the academic performance of students staying on campus and those who commute to campus every day. Some studies suggests that those students who live on campus tend to have an advantage over those who don’t (Peterson, 1975). In this literature review we will look at the different views of people who researched the subject. Peterson (1975) suggested that those students involved in activities on campus “are better off financially, educationally and in other ways to begin with....   [tags: campus residence halls, appartments]

Good Essays
1642 words (4.7 pages)

On Campus Housing At Community Colleges Essays

- The focus of this paper is to dispel a common view that community colleges do not provide on-campus housing and to provide greater insights into the types of community colleges that provide on-campus housing, the typical student who resides in on-campus housing, a guide to various California community colleges that provide on-campus housing, and the impact that on-campus housing has on student learning outcomes, financial gains for community colleges that provide on-campus housing, and an overview of the lack of data in the area of not only on-campus housing in community colleges, but community colleges at large....   [tags: Higher Education, dormitory]

Good Essays
1437 words (4.1 pages)

Gender Neutral Housing Is An Option For College Students Essay

- Gender-neutral housing is an option for college students that allows them to room with each other regardless of their gender and sexual orientation ("Gender-inclusive housing at MIT", 2015). Some schools have recently pushed for gender-neutral housing on their campuses in order allow “transgender, gay, and lesbian students feel more comfortable with their living situations” (Koma, 2014). As those schools promote gender equality, some students and faculty members might believe that the idea of gender-neutral housing to have more “negative implications” than positive implications (Alec, 2013)....   [tags: Transgender, Gender, Sexual orientation]

Good Essays
862 words (2.5 pages)

The Social Experience On-Campus or The Privacy of Living Off Campus Essay

- My best friend, Michael, and I were recently shopping around trying to determine where we were going to live starting in the fall next school year. We both spent this last semester on campus to fulfil Georgia Southern’s first-year requirement and both of us would be quick to agree that it definitely had its pros and cons. Before we started, we sat down and took a look at what on-campus and off-campus housing had to offer using a cost-to-benefit ratio. While living on-campus is great in the fact that you are able to walk to class faster, you are located closer to the meal hall, and you have the ability to go to the library without searching for a parking spot; due to the tolls it takes finan...   [tags: college life, Georgia Southern University]

Good Essays
1111 words (3.2 pages)

Essay Housing Services For Single Parents

- Two years ago one woman graduated from high school while raising a kid all by herself. Now the child is old enough that he is attending kindergarten, and she herself has a great urge to go back to school; to further her education. She applys for FAFSA and receives the pell grant. She is accepted into the colleges of her choice and everything starts to become real. All of a sudden her world comes crashing down; the grant only covers her tuition and books. She still needs to find a way to pay for housing....   [tags: High school, College, University, Education]

Good Essays
921 words (2.6 pages)

The Effects of Alcohol on Campus Essay

- ... We hope the area will grow each year. It is one way in which we can change the whole environment of college to make alcohol a less significant focus of social activity.” When students drink in excess, resulting in intoxication, many participate in reckless behavior, due to the effects on the brain. Often, this recklessness is taken out on buildings or property. Vandalism-related repair expenses are extremely expensive, especially because this problem could be extinguished. At Western Washington University, Nash Hall’s vandalism costs dropped from thousands of dollars to just sixty dollars per year, after the residence hall went substance-free....   [tags: higher education, college campuses, universities]

Good Essays
1380 words (3.9 pages)

Essay on College Readiness Is Not A For College

- Who or what is to say that a student is ready for college. No one person or entity can tell a high school graduate concretely that they are or are not ready to enter into the higher institute of learning. What they can do is provide relevant insight or guidelines to self assess if one believes they are ready for college. College readiness is not a term that can be packaged in one definition. There are numerous definitions for college readiness. Conley has defined the word in similar but different terminology himself....   [tags: High school, Higher education, College, Graduation]

Good Essays
991 words (2.8 pages)

A Brief Note On Speeding Up Student Productivity Essay

- Speeding Up Student Productivity As a senior in high school, I know all too well the process of selecting the best college for my future education. There are many reasons why I picked the University of Colorado at Boulder. I knew that I wanted to go into business and Leeds School of Business has modified their curriculum to best match the current needs in the business world. Many future students, including myself, may not think about the issue of the quality of Wi-Fi speeds around campus, but as a concurrent enrollment student at Arapahoe Community College I have experienced how slow the Wi-Fi can affect my ability to work....   [tags: University, College, Student, Campus]

Good Essays
1098 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on A Student 's Influence On Campus

- College gives people so many opportunities for independence from no longer relying on parents, to choosing if they go to class or not; however, another aspect that contributes to an individual’s sense of independence is the place they choose to live. Having the choice to either stay on-campus or off-campus is a decision that has many aspects to it. Where a student resides is chosen based on the different situations each person is in. Whether the student is an out of state student or they live down the street, and also their financial stability, plays a giant role in where they will end up living....   [tags: University, Academia, Affect, Performance]

Good Essays
955 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on The Cost Of Being A College Student

- The cost of being a college student can be very expensive. Besides tuition, the additional costs of being a college student is not discussed when signing up for college, nor does the average college student think about it. First time college students are the majority of students that are newly adults around the age of eighteen. Colleges don 't typically inform students on these additional costs are, the only inform them about tuition, cost to purchase a dorm about campus, and the cost of parking if a student decides to bring a vehicle to school....   [tags: College, University, Dormitory, Education]

Good Essays
1023 words (2.9 pages)