The Continued Necessity of Feminism Essay

The Continued Necessity of Feminism Essay

Length: 1184 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

On August 18, 1920, women were granted the right to vote in the United States. Many people believe that this right means that feminism has outlived its purpose, but that simply is not true. The right to vote does not mean equality between genders, and feminism is just as important now as it was before that day in August. Even now, the inequalities that separate men and women are many, and these inequalities are hurting our society. The examples of inequality between genders are nearly infinite, but there are several which are more prominent than others. Some of the most glaring examples of inequality include the significant wage gap between men and women in the work force, endless examples of misogyny and sexism in the media, and a phenomenon which is commonly referred to as ‘rape culture.’ These blatant examples of favoritism and inequality in our country are inexcusable, and people should be fighting to put an end to it. Feminism remains not only relevant to our society, but necessary.
A common topic in modern feminism is the gap between men’s earnings and women’s earnings. A study from the IWPR in 2012 revealed that women working full-time earned 80.9% of what men earned in weekly pay –a drop from 82.2% in 2011 (Khimm, Suzy). Why does this wage gap persist even 50 years after the Equal Pay Act was passed? It is not due to education, as some people claim. Today, women outplace men in college by a ratio of 14:1 (Grasgreen, Allie). If more women are graduating from college, then why does the wage gap persist? It could be due to their college majors, although even men and women working in the same field have different pays. Some of the largest pay gaps are in the occupations of insurance sales agents and retail sales, where a wom...


... middle of paper ...


...ing-the-recovery/>.
MacGregor, Jeff. "Only the truth will save us." ESPN. ESPN Internet Ventures, 19 Oct. 2013. Web. 18 Mar. 2014. .
Vo, Lam. "The Jobs With The Biggest (And Smallest) Pay Gaps Between Men And Women." NPR. NPR, 12 Feb. 2013. Web. 17 Mar. 2014. .
Whedon, Joss. "film ick: Transcript Of Joss Whedon's Equality Now Speech." film ick: Transcript Of Joss Whedon's Equality Now Speech. Film Ick, 12 July 2006. Web. 20 Mar. 2014. .
"Women's Center." Womens Center. Marshall University, n.d. Web. 16 Mar. 2014. .


Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Necessity Of Establishing A Universal Intersectional Definition For Feminism

- ... Although feminism is in its essence a statement for gender equality, it is critical to expand beyond the basic argument that women should have the same rights as men. Many view feminism from a binary lens, assuming that social inequalities can be solved by addressing only the accepted genders of “man” and “woman.” In doing so, non-binary genders are excluded. Although the notion of one’s gender being somewhere on a spectrum rather than fitting neatly into a standardized box may appear to be common sense, it is a concept that plenty of people – self-proclaimed feminists included – are not aware of or choose to disregard....   [tags: Feminism, Gender, Sexism, Sociology]

Term Papers
911 words (2.6 pages)

Essay on Feminism And The Feminist Movement

- This weeks readings explored the historical changes of throughout the feminist movement. By looking at the history of the movement the current state of feminism become clearer. As we have studied the theme of intersectionality was not an element of previous feminist movements. This means that the first and second 'waves ' of feminism were not movements where all women, regardless of race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, sex, or class, felt included and supported (González). bell hooks writes in her book Feminism is for Everyone that feminism is an ideology and movement that everyone can understand (Introduction)....   [tags: Feminism, Feminist theory, Gender, Patriarchy]

Term Papers
1025 words (2.9 pages)

Feminism : Is Feminism Still Relevant? Essay

- Feminism We live in a world where feminism exist. It has existed for many years now. The questions at hand are “Is feminism still relevant?” and “How do young women view feminism?” In order to answer these questions you first have to define the word feminism. I am sure there are many different opinions and facts on the topic. As a young women myself, I plan to explain how I view feminism versus other young women today. With that being said I will give you my opinions and state some facts further along in the essay....   [tags: Feminism, Women's suffrage, Women's rights]

Term Papers
1138 words (3.3 pages)

Mary Astell Essays

- December 7, 2013 Mary Astell “If all men are born free, how is it that all women are born slaves?” This quote was from one of Mary Astell’s pieces of literature and it was a question she wanted all women to ask themselves. Mary Astell is known as “the first English feminist” and I chose her as my topic for this paper, because I believe in a lot of her beliefs about how women should be treated equally to men and be allowed to pursue whatever they wish- whether that be a career or a degree. I though she’d be an interesting topic and her views on feminism have made an impact on they way women think today, which means that I think she should be included in the canon of major English writers....   [tags: literature, feminism, career, equality, courage]

Term Papers
1843 words (5.3 pages)

The Faults Of Feminism And Feminism Essay

- The Faults in Feminism The term “feminism” tends to have a negative connotation in today’s culture. Feminism is now focusing on female dominance and male disrespect. Women are fighting for equality, yet using personal bias to define equality, claiming identical rights for all will produce an equal culture. The mainstream feminist movement is using this corrupted view of equality to force rights of women. Contrary to popular belief, true feminism fights for true equality for women, as well as other people groups....   [tags: Feminism, Gender role, Gender, Women's suffrage]

Term Papers
800 words (2.3 pages)

Feminism Is Not A Dirty Word Essay

- ... However, radical feminism is not to be confused with misandry, which is the belief that women are superior to men, which in turn contradicts what feminism is all about.However, they are still working to make it a more leveled playing field. Finally a libertarian feminist, as said by the same source, “conceives of freedom as freedom from coercive interference. It holds that women, as well as men, have a right to such freedom due to their status as self-owners.” To me, libertarians are kinda a mix of the other two and is actually similar to liberal feminism....   [tags: Feminism, Feminist theory, Radical feminism]

Term Papers
1272 words (3.6 pages)

Feminism And The Feminist Theory Essay

- Feminism is the advocacy of women’s rights with the support of men and women to obtain gender equality. It is where the feminist theory originates. Feminist theory explains the role of women in society throughout history and today, socially, economically, and politically. Those who advocate and support this movement are feminist. The goal is to gain equality for men and women, but the approach to obtain this is different. To understand this theory, I will break down the history and ideology of feminism, as it is the root to feminist theory....   [tags: Feminism, Gender, Women's rights, Women's suffrage]

Term Papers
757 words (2.2 pages)

Essay The Necessity to Speak

- The Necessity to Speak On September 11th 2001 America was attacked. Two planes taken over by terrorists crashed into the twin towers of the World Trade Center and one plane crashed into the Pentagon. For many it was disbelief, something out of a movie, but as the fateful day progressed reality struck hard. Thousands of people were lost in the rubble and hundreds more died trying to save them. For America it was a day of mourning, an event no one will ever forget. America's immunity to attack was broken and paranoia ran high....   [tags: The Necessity to Speak Sam Hamill Essays]

Term Papers
2468 words (7.1 pages)

Feminism Essay

- Feminism There has been a great deal of discussion over the Feminist & Gender Studies Program changing its name to Gender & Sexuality. The basis of this debate is over the exclusion of the word "feminist" from the title. It is important to question how this modification will affect the direction of the program and the feminist movement as a whole. The categorization of this area of study must be sensitive to the complex social issues it represents. Bringing the term "gender" to the fore-front, and focusing less on women, is a necessary "part of the attempt by contemporary feminists to stake claim to a certain definitional ground, to insist on the inadequacies of existing bodies of men" (Sco...   [tags: Feminism Sociology Essays]

Term Papers
1514 words (4.3 pages)

Feminism Essay

- I have been exposed to many forms of feminism. Many different ideas, concepts, and situations have been brought to my attention, enabling me to formulate my own loose definition of feminism, and to take those concepts with me to utilize in my life as a woman in order to obtain the life I deserve. To first understand feminism, one must be aware of the factors and forces that made—and still make—the fight for women’s rights such a relevant necessity. For example, women are mistreated and undervalued in athletics....   [tags: essays research papers]

Term Papers
984 words (2.8 pages)