Coming Home Essay

Coming Home Essay

Length: 2090 words (6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Marriage: n. The uniting of a man and woman as husband and wife (Webster’s Standard Dictionary 178). Up until the 1970‘s, homosexuals were highly looked down upon and could not come out about their sexual feelings for fear of undergoing abuse socially. Presently, same-sex marriage has caused the unity of two people to become a far more complicated, constitutionally and politically questioned issue than once imagined.
Same-Sex Marriage: A Brief Background
If marriage is defined as the union of a man and a woman, then it becomes severely difficult for a man and another man to marry, or two women. The first state to allow same-sex marriage, Massachusetts, had a large impact on homosexuals in America. Since 2003, a multifold of gay couples have taken the opportunity to legally wed in this unique state (Friedman). Currently, many states are being fought over between supporters and opposers of same-sex marriage; the key states are New Hampshire, Iowa, North Carolina, Minnesota, West Virginia, Indiana and Pennsylvania (Gallagher). The support and opposal of same-sex marriage has drastically changed in the past decade. Seven or eight years ago American opinion polls display that the people opposed gay marriage by a 2-1 margin (Klarman). Furthermore, another poll taken in April 2005 told differently; according to a CNN/USA Today, Gallup poll, 68% of Americans felt that same-sex marriage should not be recognized as valid; 28% felt they should be valid, and 4% had no opinion. However, current opinion polls have presented that a slender majority of Americans support gay marriage (Klarman). Beside the fact that not everyone supports same-sex marriage, more homosexuals have come out to the people in their lives. “The number of Americans ...


... middle of paper ...


...Gay Marriage, Empathy Is A Two- Way Street.” Dallas Morning News (Dallas, TX). 10 Nov 2009: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 13 Apr 2012.
Friedman, Laurie S.. Gay Marriage: An Opposing Viewpoints Guide. Farmington Hills, MI: Greenhaven Press, 2008.
Gallagher, Maggie. “Gay Marriage: New York’s GOP Let’s Down the Base.” Wall Street Journal. 30 Jun 2011: A. 15. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 13 Apr 2012.
Jacobs, Deborah. "It's time to stop fighting about same-sex marriage." Forbes.com. N.p., 2011.
Web. 27 Apr 2012.
.
Klarman, Michael. “Why Gay Marriage Is Inevitable.” Los Angeles Times. 12 Feb 2012: A. 27. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 12 Apr 2012.
Olson, Walter. “Gay Marriage: An Amen for Albany.” Wall Street Journal. 30 Jun 2011: A. 15. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 13 Apr 2012.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Coming Home Again : On Being A Cripple, And Dumpster Diving

- For this weeks reading I chose the essays Coming Home Again, On Being a Cripple, and Dumpster Diving. The reason I chose to read these three specific essays were because amongst all the titles to chose from, these ones stuck out to me the most. From the titles I anticipated what each essay would be about. I assumed the essay Coming Home Again would be about the dilemma and adjustment of returning home from being gone for a long period of time. I can relate to that, so I picked that one. On Being a Cripple, I anticipated it would be the story of someone’s troubles with an illness....   [tags: Writing, Short story, Essay, Essays]

Term Papers
822 words (2.3 pages)

Who Doesn 't Love Coming Home? Essay example

- Who doesn’t love coming home to the smell of a home cooked, southern meal. My all-time favorite meal is my grandma’s fried pork chops with fresh green beans, rice and gravy on the side, and her famous chocolate cake for dessert. Everytime I go to Charleston to visit my Grandma, she bakes me a chocolate cake because she knows I like them so much. Ever since a young age, I have always loved chocolate. There is an old photo of me sitting on the bare, wooden floor in a hallway at my Grandma’s house....   [tags: Cooking, Family, Food, Cake]

Term Papers
1029 words (2.9 pages)

Coming Home from a Tough Day Essay

- I came home from work, tired and exasperated beyond measure because employees who have to dictate every step to handle . I enter the house and leave the car keys on the table stand at the entrance, head up and myself in the mirror , sighing . Look as tired as I feel . I am a woman twenty-nine years old, tall and supple breasts where my friends would kill if given the chance , as the bottom of a suitable size is not too much, but well toned from hours that you spend in the gym. A brown hair to the middle back , rich and light waves that fit my face shape heart large eyes , emerald green that makes many to hang a moment when ii notice and full lips that promise....   [tags: personal narrative]

Term Papers
1413 words (4 pages)

Essay about Coming for to carry me home

- “If any one wishes to be impressed with the soul-killing effects of slavery, let him go to Colonel Lloyd's plantation, and, on allowance-day, place himself in the deep pine woods, and there let him, in silence, analyze the sounds that shall pass through the chambers of his soul,--and if he is not thus impressed, it will only be because there is no flesh in his obdurate heart." Fredrick Douglass (Douglass 11). In his autobiography Twelve Years as a Slave, Solomon Northup, who was kidnapped and sold to slave masters, describes the brutality of slavery....   [tags: Slavery, Music]

Term Papers
1564 words (4.5 pages)

Coming Home Essay

- Marriage: n. The uniting of a man and woman as husband and wife (Webster’s Standard Dictionary 178). Up until the 1970‘s, homosexuals were highly looked down upon and could not come out about their sexual feelings for fear of undergoing abuse socially. Presently, same-sex marriage has caused the unity of two people to become a far more complicated, constitutionally and politically questioned issue than once imagined. Same-Sex Marriage: A Brief Background If marriage is defined as the union of a man and a woman, then it becomes severely difficult for a man and another man to marry, or two women....   [tags: Homosexuality ]

Term Papers
2090 words (6 pages)

Nationality: My Experience Coming Home Essay

- "Nationality". Not usually a difficult question, doesn't really require much thought. Yet that little white and yellow immigration card caused me more confusion than anything before. But up here, thousands of feet in the air, this was the perfect place to answer. * * * Born in Sydney in the late 90's and growing up through the 2000's was a fantastically boring experience. My childhood dotted with memories of complete and utter desolation. Not the bad civil war type desolation, mind you, just a feeling of complete normality so profound it left me with the uneasy feeling of just being average....   [tags: Australia, personal reflections]

Term Papers
657 words (1.9 pages)

Drones Coming Home Essay

- The military has been at the forefront of technological advances since all of time. They invented the microwave which is now in kitchens everywhere. They are now using drones in the military and they can soon be near you. Drone use isn’t as scary as media outlets make it seem, they have more uses than firing missiles. Drone use has rapidly expanded over the last ten years. The Unmanned Aerial Vehicle has many more uses than fighting against insurgents in the Middle East but their use has been severely restricted by the U.S government....   [tags: Technological Advancements, Military]

Term Papers
1081 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Charlie's Coming Home - Original Writing

- Charlie's Coming Home - Original Writing It was a warm summer's day and Charlie had just been released from prison after serving a 3-year sentence for arson. His best friend Larry was waiting for him. He was taking Charlie to his house so he could make a start on sorting out his life. Charlie wanted to find a job and a new house. The first thing he wanted to do was go and get his car. It was a Honda S2000; it was red and had all extras. After he'd dropped his bag at Larry's he went to the job centre to see if there were any jobs going....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
665 words (1.9 pages)

Essay on Chang Rae Lee's Coming Home to Food All Over Again

- In Chang Rae Lee’s essay “Coming Home Again," he uses food as a way to remember the connection he had with his mother. Food was their bond. As a child, he always wanted to spend time in the kitchen with his mother and learn how to cook. Much later, when his mother became sick, he became the cook for the family. “My mother would gently set herself down in her customary chair near the stove. I sat across from her, my father and sister to my left and right, and crammed in the center was all the food I had made - a spicy codfish stew, say, or a casserole of gingery beef, dishes that in my youth she had prepared for us a hundred times” (164)....   [tags: Rebellious Teenager, Korean Food]

Term Papers
1444 words (4.1 pages)

Contrasting Photos: A Soldier's Home Coming Essay

- War has always been inevitable throughout the history of the world. The outcomes can differ greatly; it’s usually either a win or a loss. Wins or losses are just definite statements, but photos can represent these statements. Alfred Eisenstaedt’s “V-J Day in Times Square” shows an American sailor kissing a young woman right in the middle of Times Square, despite their surroundings. This iconic photo was taken after the U.S. declared victory over Japan in World War II, and was published in Life magazine a week later....   [tags: photo, war, pathos, pride, devastation]

Term Papers
631 words (1.8 pages)