Climate Change and Global Warming Essay

Climate Change and Global Warming Essay

Length: 1008 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

CO2 and greenhouse gas emissions are at an all-time high. In May 2013, the levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere exceeded 400 parts per million. This is “approaching the halfway mark between preindustrial amounts and a doubling of those levels” (Washington Post J). This is a very large increase in the amount of CO2 in our atmosphere over a short period of time. One might ask what consequence could come of having such a large volume of CO2 floating around our atmosphere. The Union of Concerned Scientists says that CO2 is considered a greenhouse gas. Greenhouse gasses are gasses that trap radiant energy in the lower atmosphere. Energy travels from the sun to Earth, which is then either absorbed by the atmosphere and ground. The energy that does not get absorbed into the ground is reflected back into the atmosphere and then either goes into space or gets trapped by greenhouse gasses. More heat energy will be trapped if there are more greenhouse gasses floating around in Earth’s atmosphere (UCS). Due to the nature of greenhouse gasses, doubling the CO2 levels in our atmosphere is projected to result in warming of four to seven degrees during this century. (Washington Post J). The current CO2 levels are troubling because if there is more heat being trapped in the atmosphere, then the Earth’s climate would also be expected to increase.

Average global temperatures have been increasing at an accelerating rate over the past few decades. NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies has been analyzing and recording the average global temperatures since 1880. NASA scientists say that 2013 tied with 2009 and 2006 as the 7th warmest year. The 10 warmest years in 134-year record have occurred since 2000 with the exception of 1998 and 2010 and...


... middle of paper ...


...Scientific Credibility - In One Pie Chart."Why Climate Deniers Have No Scientific Credibility - In One Pie Chart. DeSmogBlog, 15 Nov. 2012. Web. 14 Feb. 2014.
(G)Rice, Doyle. "Arctic Gets a Break in 2013, but Warming Still Ongoing." Gannett News Service. 12 Dec. 2013: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 07 Feb. 2014.
(E) Sobel, Adam, and The Opinions Expressed in This Commentary Are Solely Those of Adam Sobel. "Record Cold Doesn't Disprove Global Warming." CNN. Cable News Network, 07 Jan. 2014. Web. 20 Feb. 2014.
(B)Spotts, Pete. “Climate Change: Scientists Now 95 Percent Certain We Are Mostly to…” Christian Science Monitor. 20 Aug. 2013: n.p. Sirs Issues Reseracher. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
"Why Does CO2 Get Most of the Attention When There Are so Many Other Heat-trapping Gases?" Union of Concerned Scientists. Union of Concerned Scientists, 1 May 2009. Web. 18 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Climate Change Is Global Warming Essay

- ... 1.4 degrees Fahrenheit doesn’t seem like a big difference but picture this, an ice cube is in the freezer at 32 degrees Fahrenheit, what will it do. It will be frozen. Now raise that temperature up to 33.4 degrees Fahrenheit, what will it do. The ice cube will melt. Even though the numerical change in temperature does not seem like much, when put into perspective, the changes could be greater than we think. Ice is a key player in affecting climate and the majority of land ice is found in the poles, the Arctic and Antarctic....   [tags: Greenhouse gas, Climate change, Global warming]

Strong Essays
739 words (2.1 pages)

Climate Change : Global Warming Essay

- ... The 300 or so trees at the Puxi campus store a total of approximately 15,884 kilograms of carbon. Each tree’s height and breast height (or circumference of trunk) was measured closely in order to calculate the amount of carbon that it stores. To find the height of the trees, we used the “triangle paper method”. After folding a right triangle with a piece of paper, we would hold the triangle in front of one eye, where we would be looking upon the hypotenuse. Then, we would move back from the tree until we could sight the top of the tree at the top tip of the triangle....   [tags: Carbon dioxide, Global warming, Climate change]

Strong Essays
1110 words (3.2 pages)

Climate Change : A Global Warming Essay

- Eric Fisher Dianna Trang AP English III 7 April 2015 Climate Change One of the most important issues lying in our world today and in the future is climate change. Whether you’re a denier or an acceptor, several scientific studies have found that a storm is coming for us in the future, so to speak. We often ask ourselves, what are these effects we hear of. This leads us to the purpose of this paper, to show that climate change will have drastic effects across the globe. As time progresses, these effects that are constantly spoken of on national news as well as through documentaries have grown to become reality....   [tags: Global warming, Climate change, Climate, Weather]

Strong Essays
1920 words (5.5 pages)

Essay on Climate Change : Global Warming

- ... We need to save our nature, or else nature will be disappearing and the natural resources will get depleted. There will be no non-renewable resources left. Climate change is one of the most discussed topics, all over the world as it has adverse effects on our atmosphere that it is causing a huge disaster and loss for both human and environment. Carbon components which are released in the atmosphere are causing huge damage to the ozone layers many of the UV rays are penetrating into the earth’s surface due to which harmful ultraviolet rays are causing many health problems and they are also the one of the reasons for forest fires....   [tags: Global warming, Climate change, Carbon dioxide]

Strong Essays
1206 words (3.4 pages)

Essay on When Did Global Warming Become Climate Change?

- "If we want to address global warming, along with the other environmental problems associated with our continued rush to burn our precious fossil fuels as quickly as possible, we must learn to use our resources more wisely, kick our addiction, and quickly start turning to sources of energy that have fewer negative impacts." -- David Suzuki Earlier this year one of my friends asked, “So which essay topic did you decide on?” To which I responded, “Global warming.” Then my friend responded, “That is impossible....   [tags: Climate Change vs Global Warming]

Free Essays
364 words (1 pages)

The Effects Of Global Warming On The Earth 's Climate Change Essay

- ... Global warming seems like something that will happen in 100 years’ time. Most people do not think about global temperatures, but local ones. Therefore, climate change affects ecosystems, not just through increases in the mean, but also through changes in the extremes. Earth is already showing many signs of worldwide climate change. Even more, scientists are now able to say that climate change increases the risk of a particular weather pattern by a measurable amount and, in any case, that a particular episode is almost impossible to imagine without global warming....   [tags: Carbon dioxide, Global warming, Climate change]

Strong Essays
1010 words (2.9 pages)

Global Warming And Its Effect On Climate Change Essay example

- Imagine living in a world where the life you live in is slowly, literally melting around you. How would you feel if I told you that in reality it is. The time has come to face the truth and deal with global warming and its cause on climate change around the world. Most people don’t exactly what global warming is or how it is affecting every living aspect around them. During recent research, a “…study, conducted in November (of 2013) found about two in three Americans (63%) believe global warming is happening.” (Prigg 3) Global Warming is a gradual increase in the overall temperature of the Earth’s atmosphere generally attributed to the greenhouse effect caused by increased levels of carbon...   [tags: Greenhouse gas, Global warming, Climate change]

Strong Essays
1399 words (4 pages)

The Effects Of Human And Natural Activity On Global Warming And Climate Change

- Bill McKibben is a passionate environmentalist, focusing on the effects of human and natural activity related to global warming and climate change. McKibben has written several articles on books on these topics, many of which have received much national and even worldwide attention. McKibben was born in 1960, and grew up in Boston, Massachusetts (Wikipedia). While studying at Harvard, McKibben began to become engrossed in the environment as well as with writing (Wikipedia). McKibben has gone on to become very influential in the environmental conservation field and has received many awards for his writing and ideology (Wikipedia)....   [tags: Carbon dioxide, Global warming, Climate change]

Strong Essays
877 words (2.5 pages)

The Effects Of Global Warming On The Earth 's Climate Change And The Issues That Will Arise

- ... When making a group decision there are conflicts of interest among the people. However Diamond believes that a group may fail to anticipate a problem before the problem actually arrive. Second, when the problem does happen, the group may fail to recognize it or may fail to try and solve the problem. Lastly, they may try to solve it but not succeed. Thus all these scenarios lead to failure. According to the Conserve Energy Future’s website there are 15 major current environmental problems. The first problem discussed is pollution, pollution of air, water and soil....   [tags: Greenhouse gas, Global warming, Climate change]

Strong Essays
1190 words (3.4 pages)

Essay on Global Warming And Climate Change

- ... If we do not take more swift action to address global warming and climate change, then we may possibly be the cause of our own demise. The Past Holds the Key to the Future To understand how we got to this place we need to take a glance into the past. The rise of the Industrial Revolution in the late 1700’s propelled the Western world into a future of mass production manufacturing (Associated Staff, 2009). This significant shift led to the development of special machinery and steam engines, changed transportation, improved communication and increased the volume and variety of goods and services (Associated Staff, 2009)....   [tags: Global warming, Greenhouse gas]

Strong Essays
1136 words (3.2 pages)