Classic Fairy Tales: Annotated Bibliography Essay

Classic Fairy Tales: Annotated Bibliography Essay

Length: 1399 words (4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

In his evaluation of Little Red Riding Hood, Bill Delaney states, “In analyzing a story . . . it is often the most incongruous element that can be the most revealing.” To Delaney, the most revealing element in Little Red Riding Hood is the protagonist’s scarlet cloak. Delaney wonders how a peasant girl could own such a luxurious item. First, he speculates that a “Lady Bountiful” gave her the cloak, which had belonged to her daughter. Later, however, Delaney suggests that the cloak is merely symbolic, perhaps representing a fantasy world in which she lives.
In his analysis of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland, Richard Kelly describes Wonderland as a nonsensical place where Alice is “treated rudely, bullied, asked questions with no answers, and denied answers to asked questions.” Kelly gives special attention to the “dream garden.” Kelly equates the dream garden with the Garden of Eden, “a longing for lost innocence.” Alice peers through a passage and sees the “beautiful garden with bright flowers and cool fountains.” Unfortunately, she is too large to fit through the door, so she can only ponder its significance. When Alice shrinks to the proper size and finally enters the garden, however, she finds that it is not what she thought it would be. According to Kelly, “it proves to be a parodic Garden of Life, for the roses are painted, the people are playing cards, and the death-cry “Off with her head!” echoes throughout the croquet grounds. Kelly later implies that Alice’s dream garden represents Carroll’s “romantic vision of an Edinic childhood” but which is “corrupted by adult sin and sexuality.” The “hope and joy” that fills Alice lasts for a short time and then is “trample[d] . . . with the hatred and fury of the beheading Que...


... middle of paper ...


... 1-1. Literary Reference Center. Web. 4 February 2012.
McGovern, Edythe M.. Magill’s Survey of World Literature, Revised Edition, January 2009, 1-1. Literary Reference Center. Web. 4 February 2012.
Murray, Thomas J.. Masterplots II: Juvenile & Young Adult Fiction Series, March 1991, 1-2. Literary Reference Center. Web. 4 February 2012.
Recommended Reading: 500 Classics Reviewed, June 1995, 1-1. Literary Reference Center. Web. 4 February 2012.
Salwak, Dale. Masterplots II: Juvenile & Young Adult Fiction Series, March 1991, 1-2. Literary Reference Center. Web. 4 February 2012.
Weigel, Jr., James. Magill’s Survey of World Literature, Revised Edition, January 2009, 1-1. Literary Reference Center. Web. 4 February 2012.
Weigel, Jr., James. Magill’s Survey of World Literature, Revised Edition, January 2009, 1-2. Literary Reference Center. Web. 4 February 2012.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Analasys of Russian Fairy Tales Essay

- Fairy tales, as we call them in english are stories we read to small children. This title however, is actually quite misleading. While some of the stories do, in fact have fairies in them, many of them revolve around the doings of giants, ogres, imps, kings and whatnot, and never even mention a fairy. In Russian fairy tales, however, they are a bit more honest. These Russian stories are divided up into many categories. The word skazka means "story". In russian, they have lshebniyi skazki, or “magical tales,” skazki o zhivotnykh, or “tales about animals,” and bytovye skazki, or “tales of everyday life,” to name only a few of the many categories russian "fairy tales" can be titled under....   [tags: fairy tales, Russia, ]

Better Essays
546 words (1.6 pages)

Essay on Gender Stereotypes in Fairy Tales

- Fairy Tales have been around for generations and generations. Our parents have told us these stories and we will eventually pass them down to ours. In this time of age the most common fairytales are Cinderella, Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and The Beast and many more. Children idolize their favorite character and pretend to be them by mimicking everything they do in the stories. The character’s behavior is what is viewed as appropriate in society. These fairy tales show a girl and a boy fall in love and live “happily ever after”....   [tags: Gender Roles, Fairy Tales]

Better Essays
1317 words (3.8 pages)

Fairy Tales: Changing with the Culture and Community Essay

- Once upon a time, there was a literary genre commonly know as fairy tales. They were mystical and wonderful and a child’s fantasy. These fairy tales were drastically misunderstood throughout many centuries, however. They endured a hard life of constant changing and editing to fit what the people of that time wanted. People of our own time are responsible for some of the radical changes endured by this undeserved genre. Now, these fairy tales had a young friend named Belle. Belle thought she knew fairy tales very well, but one day she found out just how wrong she was....   [tags: culture, fairy tales, cinderella, critical theory]

Better Essays
1688 words (4.8 pages)

Childhood Stories: Versions of Fairy Tales Essay

- Childhood was a very interesting time of life for me. Through everything that I had gone through growing up, still I always remembered the story tales that had been read to me over the years. Although The Three Little Bears and The Three Little Pigs were different stories, they both contained few similarities as well as many differences. The similarities in these two stories would be the significance of the number three and two characters invading the privacy and territories of unexpected families....   [tags: childhood, fairy tales, ]

Better Essays
1351 words (3.9 pages)

Essay about The Effects of Fairy Tales in Anne Sexton's Cinderella

- Fairy tales have always been focused towards children ever since Walt Disney took over the industry of remaking these stories. He took out all of the gore and some of the violence to make it more acceptable for children. With Anne Sexton's version of Cinderella, she brings back the gore and violence to its full capacity just like with the original Brothers Grimm story. Sexton's poetic version of Cinderella gives a humorous and eye-opened twist to this classic fairy tale. What brings all of these stories together is the way they all socialize women to make them naive....   [tags: how fairy tales socialize women]

Better Essays
1064 words (3 pages)

Fairy Tales and Gender Roles Essay example

- Fairy Tales and Gender Roles Some things about fairy tales we know to be true. They begin with "once upon a time." They end with "happily ever after." And somewhere in between the prince rescues the damsel in distress. Of course, this is not actually the case. Many fairytales omit these essential words. But few fairytales in the Western tradition indeed fail to have a beautiful, passive maiden rescued by a vibrant man, usually her superior in either social rank or in moral standing. Indeed, it is precisely the passivity of the women in fairy tales that has led so many progressive parents to wonder whether their children should be exposed to them....   [tags: Fairy Tales Gender Socialization Essays]

Better Essays
1166 words (3.3 pages)

The Power of Fairy Tales Essay example

- Introduction: I have known about fairy tales since I was a little girl. I grew up watching all of the Disney movies. My dad would also read and tell my sister and me bedtime stories that were fairytales. When I was younger, I would dress up like princesses such as Ariel from “The Little Mermaid” and “Cinderella.” I have always loved fairy tales because they are magical and young girls like me looked up to the princesses and had crushes on the princes. I would love to know more about fairy tales and the authors who wrote them....   [tags: Fairytales, Fairy Tale Books]

Better Essays
1662 words (4.7 pages)

The Point of Fairy Tales Essay examples

- It might be surprising too many but Fairy tales have been so frequently reinterpreted in many cultures since they first originated. As far as we know, Fairy tales date back as early as 350 B.C. Scholars think that such stories were originally passed down orally from generation to generation and were an immediate success through out the decades. According to …. (2013) Fairy tales started off being intended for adults but eventually became a tradition of stories that parents generally read to their children....   [tags: Bella in the Wild, a modern fairy tale]

Better Essays
1027 words (2.9 pages)

Oscar Wilde and His Fairy Tales Essay

- Oscar Wilde and His Fairy Tales I. Introduction Wilde, Oscar (Fingal O’Flahertie Wills) (b. Oct. 16, 1854, Dublin, Ire ?d. Nov. 30, 1900, Paris, Fr.) Irish wit, poet and dramatist whose reputation rests on his comic masterpieces Lady Windermere’s Fan (1893) and The Importance of Being Earnest (1899). He was a spokesman for Aestheticism, the late19th-century movement in England that advocated art for art’s sake. However, Oscar Wilde’s takeoff of his enterprise and, his shaping of his characteristic style of works could be both considered originating from his fairy tales....   [tags: Oscar Wilde Fairy Tales Literature Essays]

Better Essays
5124 words (14.6 pages)

Essay about Fairy Tales

- Fairy Tales Wilhelm and Jacob Grimm are famous for their renditions of some of the most beloved children's fairy tales. Among the hundreds is the well known (Schneewittchen) Snow-drop. This fairy tale is in many aspects common, imperfect, and vulgar, as are most of the fairy tale translations of the Grimm Brothers. These characteristics are what depict the Grimm fairy tales. The tales were primarily written to entertain and relate to the common peasantsof the 1800's. The stories are not what you would call a perfect fairy tale in that the end is not always as you would predict, but there is always a happy ending....   [tags: Fairy Tale Change Evoution Essays]

Better Essays
1154 words (3.3 pages)