Essay on Choosing Psychology as a Career

Essay on Choosing Psychology as a Career

Length: 1552 words (4.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


Psychology is the study of the mind, its biology, and behavior if the individual. The father of psychology, Wilhelm Wundt, used objective measurement and controlled analyzing to find and emphasize separation between psychology and philosophy (McLeod). Wundt opened the Institute for Experimental Psychology at the University of Leipzig in Germany in 1879, using his background in physiology to study reactions and sensations (McLeod). There is no doubt that he, along with the later help of Sigmund Freud, launched what is now modern psychology. Psychology and its research helped the world understand the inner workings of the mind and how it affects everyone around us.
Many associate psychology with sitting in a chair in a small office as someone taking notes, asking how you feel about a certain event or feeling, analyzing your deepest secrets and memories. However, it branches off into many other fields. A clinical psychologist’s main job is “to reduce the distress and improve the psychological wellbeing of clients” (Bond). This can include anything from depression, eating disorders, and addiction, to mental illness, family and personal relationships, and learning disabilities (Bond). A clinical psychologist usually will choose to have an emphasis in a certain field such as children and learning disabilities and work in schools or social work facilities, or mental illness and work in a hospital (Bond). According to Vicki Cohen, people “typically are referred or come to therapy because they have a symptom”. These are defined by emotional, social, and or physiological.
Therapy is the most commonly used treatment for symptoms. A variety of therapy treatments are offered for patients based on their specific characteristics and what th...


... middle of paper ...


...2014.
Edu Portal. "Psychologist: Educational Requirements." Education-Portal. Education-Portal, 20 Feb. 2014. Web. 20 Feb. 2014.
"Forensic Psychologist: Job Description." | Prospects UK. Ed. AGCAS. N.p., Aug. 2012. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
Inner Body. "Becoming a Clinical Psychologist." InnerBody. Inner Body Careers, 23 Feb. 2014. Web. 23 Feb. 2014.
Layne, Elizabeth. "What Are the Working Conditions for Psychologists?" Everyday Life. Global Post, 13 Feb. 2014. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
"Licensed Educational Psychologist (LEP) Requirements - California Board of Behavioral Sciences." Licensed Educational Psychologist Requirements. Department of Consumer Affairs, 12 Mar. 2014. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
"What Do Practicing Psychologists Do?" Http://www.apa.org. American Psychology Association, Apr. 2013. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
"What Is a School Psychologist?" NASP. NASP, n.d. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Career in Psychology: Personal Narrative Essay

- My entire life I have always been on the search of a career that would fit my persona, fit who I truly am, and to become someone who will constantly have the ability to help people through their difficult problems that they face. Throughout my life I have been deemed the type of person that people felt comfortable coming to with their problems. Maybe people feel this way because they sense that I have a sympathetic ear. Well, all I can say is that human behavior has always seemed interesting to me and that is probably why I made the decision to go down the psychology career pathway....   [tags: Freedom Writers, Acheiving Goals]

Powerful Essays
929 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Forensic Psychology Career

- This paper involves researching and preparing a report on a business career of your choice. I would expect you to use multiple resources and to also properly document those resources with footnotes as required. The paper should be a minimum of two to three double spaced, typed pages, not including your resources/works cited page. You should have a minimum of two outside resources. The text and Wikipedia may be used as resources but they do not count toward the two outside resources. This is my Business Career Paper which is on the career of my choosing....   [tags: Career Path, Education]

Powerful Essays
1081 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Cognitive Psychology : Psychology And Psychology

- “Cognitive psychology is the study of mental processes such as attention, language use, memory, perception, problem solving, creativity and thinking.” The processes of cognitive psychology also utilize the aspects of other psychological disciplines including: educational, social, personality, abnormal, developmental, and economic psychology. A cognitive psychologist’s main objective is to assess a person’s mental ability. My primary interest in researching this particular field in psychology is due to the fact that I am interested in the brain and how the brain causes us to become who we are....   [tags: Psychology, Cognitive psychology, Cognition]

Powerful Essays
1015 words (2.9 pages)

Psychology : Psychology And Psychology Essay

- Often when asked to compare, will confuse the Psychiatry and Psychology professions. Even more often people will go so far as to say they are interchangeable. While these two professions can overlap and do have many similarities, they are not the same. In this paper, I will focus on three main points of comparison between both practices. These points will be Education and Licensure requirements, Objective of Practitioners, and various approaches utilized. According to the American Psychological Association website, Psychology can be defined as "......   [tags: Psychology, Clinical psychology, Psychiatry]

Powerful Essays
1001 words (2.9 pages)

Essay on Exploring Psychology Careers : Psychology

- Exploring Psychology Careers Erin McLinsky PSY/305 April 25, 2016 Dr. Sheila Rapa Exploring Psychology Careers There are numerous benefits to students who decide to major in psychology. According to Landrum and Davis (2007), some of the benefits to majoring in psychology include, “having a well-defined vocabulary and basic knowledge of the critical subject matter in psychology; valuing the intellectual challenges required to use scientific thinking and the disciplined analysis of information to evaluate alternative courses of action; taking a creative and amiable skeptic approach to problem solving; applying psychological principles to personal, social, and organizational issues at work...   [tags: Psychology, Clinical psychology]

Powerful Essays
1230 words (3.5 pages)

Choosing A Career Path Is Not Easy Essay

- Choosing a career path was not easy. I wanted to be able to do so many task that did not fit into certain criteria. My main goal in life is to be able to help those that need support. Getting a psychology degree was a leverage because I could get my degree in this field and use it to help others out. I wanted to be a psychodynamic therapist when I started classes, but after finding out there are more career paths available, I decided to enter the work force of being a victim advocate. By being a victim advocate, I will be able to support crime victims when they most need it....   [tags: Criminology, Crime, Victim, Homelessness]

Powerful Essays
807 words (2.3 pages)

Psychology Is The Scientific Study Of Psychology Essay

- Clinical Psychology Psychology is a broad field it consists of many specializations and sub-fields that psych majors can specialize and eventually practice in. According to Kuther & Morgan (2013), Psychology is termed as the scientific study of behavior. It observes deeper in emotions, cognitive patterns, brain chemistry, social interaction, development, and many more objectives. This field consists of learning about the mind and brain investigating and studying mental disorders, studies in research, behavior, consciousness, techniques that are effective, and further on....   [tags: Psychology, Psychiatry, Clinical psychology]

Powerful Essays
1592 words (4.5 pages)

Psychology And Social Behavior : Psychology Essay

- My intended major is Psychology and Social Behavior. I am choosing this major because I have personally always been attracted to the field of psychology. I have always been amazed by the research and the studies that can offer us an insight in the human psyche. I have also always been fascinated by the analysis of the human personalities, and their social behavior. My interest started in the 80’s when I took my first psychology class “psy 101”. I have always been intrigued by the use of psychology in our daily lives....   [tags: Psychology, Sociology, Clinical psychology]

Powerful Essays
998 words (2.9 pages)

Evaluating Career Theory and Application Essay examples

- It is easy to dissect an individual’s life to analyze and critique their choices based on our own opinions and experiences. Is that fair. No. We may see their actions clearly but the reasoning behind these is what the focus should be when it comes to judging one’s behavior or circumstances. Regular judgments are made about a person based on their profession. In our society, it would behoove us to look at the paths that lead to becoming a medical doctor instead of a drug dealer or prostitute. Application of career theories to life allow for analyzing past and future career decisions in all fields....   [tags: Career Theory]

Powerful Essays
971 words (2.8 pages)

Career Choices Essay

- Economics is the term used to describe the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services. In addition, economics is the study of scarcity, Our economy is important because it gives us an opportunity to understand better, how business, society, and the world are doing overall financially. Our economy as it stands now is barely standing. The government is in debt by trillions, and furthermore, This means an increased competitive job market. However, one needs to consider many different factors when choosing a career to give them the best chance of being happy and fulfilled....   [tags: Career Research ]

Powerful Essays
1868 words (5.3 pages)