Essay on The Chilean Mine Accident: What Happened

Essay on The Chilean Mine Accident: What Happened

Length: 2776 words (7.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Chilean mining accident

The recent 2010 Copiapó mining accident, to us known as the Chilean mining accident began on 5th of August 2010 as a large collapse at the San José copper-gold mine in the Atacama Desert. During the collapse there were thirty three men inside the mine; trapped 700 meters underground; five kilometers from the entrance. It is not surprising that the public thought that the miners would not have survived the collapse or starve to death. Thou it sounds like there is no escape, the miners survived underground for a record of sixty nine days.
The mine that collapse had a history of instability that had caused previous accidents, including death. Chile has a long tradition of mining, during the 20th century they made it as the world top producer of copper. According to a review of data collected by the state regulatory agency (Sernageomin data), since the year 2000, it is found out that there is an average of 34 deaths every year due to mining activity in Chile, with a peak of 48 in the year 2008. (Ethiraj, 2010)
More to the accident, when the collapse occurred there were two groups of miners. A dust cloud rose during the collapse, causing enduring eye irritation; blinding the miners for six hours. A first group of miners were near the entrance of the mine and escaped straight away without incident. The main group of thirty three miners was deep inside the mine—that consist of local workers and some subcontracted employees from a different company; who was unfortunate because they would not normally have been with them (Ethiraj, 2010).

The Company Background

The mine is owned by Empresa Minera San Esteban, a company notorious for having a poor safety record and suffered a series of accident, with s...


... middle of paper ...


...rtrie, C. (2010, August 24). Aussie drill expert called to Chile mine rescue. Retrieved April 8, 2011, from ABC News: http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/08/24/2991575.htm?section=world
Michael Warren, F. (2010, October 15). After chile’s mine rescue, what next? Retrieved April 10, 2011, from The Chronicle : http://ghanaian-chronicle.com/opinions/after-chile’s-mine-rescue-what-next/
Ross, L. (2010, October 13). Tears of joy as Chile miners complete their great escape. Retrieved April 7, 2011, from London Evening Standard: http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/standard/article-23887231-tears-of-joy-as-chile-miners-are-finally-rescued.do
Yang, J. (2010, October 10). From collapse to rescue: Inside the Chile mine disaster. Retrieved April 7, 2010, from TheStar: http://www.thestar.com/news/world/chile/article/873382--from-collapse-to-rescue-inside-the-chile-mine-disaster

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about Mine in Chile Suffered a Cave-In on August 2010

- On August 5, 2010 the San José mine, a small copper operation in northern Chile owned by Minera San Esteban Primera, suffered a cave-in leaving 33 workers trapped underground at a depth of 300 meters. The following Saturday a second cave-in forced rescuers to suspend works for several hours. Some brief background on the accident. It was revealed that accidents in major mines are rare, but local organizations, such as the federation of Chilean mining workers (FMC) and the confederation of copper workers (CTC) questioned Minera San Esteban's safety record, where several fatal accidents were previously reported at the small company....   [tags: copper mine,rescue,FMC]

Powerful Essays
878 words (2.5 pages)

Leadership Lessons From The Chilean Mine Rescue Essay

- Leadership Lessons From the Chilean Mine Rescue The Chilean Mine Rescue continued about 69 days after the infamous mine collapse in August 2010, trapping 33 miners. The incident drew the attention and help from around the world. Chilean president partook in the rescue of the miners. The mission required the rescue completion as soon as possible as the area where the trapped miners were, was small and only meant to feed for 10 miners to last two days with enough water for a month. The president assigned Andre Sougarret as the chief of the mine rescue operation....   [tags: Leadership, Management, Rescue, Path-goal theory]

Powerful Essays
723 words (2.1 pages)

Chilean Copper Mine Collapse Essay

- 30 Miners were trapped in a mine for more then 2 months. In this paper I will analyze the audience and try to select the appropriate communication for the families as well as the employees of the company. Knowing your Audience and Communication Release On August 5, 2010, a gold and copper mine caved in trapping more then 30 miners. The collapse happened about 2,300 feet below the surface. They were trapped down there for 17 days before anyone was able to find out if they were still alive. They drilled a hole down into the cave that the miners had been trapped in to see if in fact anyone had survived the collapse....   [tags: families, communication, company owner]

Powerful Essays
877 words (2.5 pages)

Face-to-Face Communication in Special Situations Essay

- In addressing the families and co-workers about the 30 workers that are trapped in the Chilean Copper Mine. I feel that it is best to understand that they people are scared and the best form of communication would be face to face. In face-to-face communication you are able to show empathy and comfort in a scary time. When the message, about the workers that are trapped 300 meters underground, is delivered to the family members a worker from the company needs to do these one by one. Bringing these 30 miners families to the site may cause an up roar so it is best to get to these families individual to create less mayhem....   [tags: copper mine, chilean miners, face to face]

Powerful Essays
884 words (2.5 pages)

Essay about Chile Mine

- 5th August 2010, 33 Chilean miners were trapped 2,000 feet underground for over two weeks. The miners were working at a depth of around 450m (1,475ft) at the San Esteban mine, near the city of Copiapo, when the rock above them collapsed. This was a headline around the world and forever pain for the miners and their family members. Major incident is uncommon in Chile, the top mine producer country. The rescue works started after 17 days after the incident but progress has been hampered because the main entrance is blocked....   [tags: Crisis, Crisis Management]

Powerful Essays
1216 words (3.5 pages)

Essay about Chilean Copper Mine Collapse

- Chilean Cooper Mind Collapse Latricia Ann Johnosn Ronald D. Baker BCOM 275 April 14, 2014 Chilean Cooper Mind Collapse Chilean Cooper Mind Collapsed August 5th 2010 in northern Chile. There were 33 miners trapped in a collapsed mine 2,300 feet below the ground level. They were told it would take four months before getting them out of the tunnel with out any hope of there being any survivors. Two weeks later after the initial collapse, the first successful bore whole was drilled to reached the survivors; all 33 of the miners were still alive....   [tags: incident announcement, families]

Powerful Essays
620 words (1.8 pages)

Essay on Communication in the Chilean Mine Collapse Incident

- ... The employees of the company needed to know that the company was working on getting the trapped workers out, without risking getting more of the employees trapped. The trapped miners needed to know that it was going to be a while, but that they were going to get water and nutrition and that their families would be taken care of. They also needed to know that it was taking so long so that they would not cause any more collapses. Before you send any messages to anybody you should look into the situation, find out what happened, what has started, and set a plan for what you are going to do about it....   [tags: audience, company, families]

Free Essays
554 words (1.6 pages)

The accident Essay

- The Accident Every once and awhile I'll look back on my life and I'll laugh. Particularly at the times I spent with my best friend Nate and all the mischief we caused. I look back now and I think what the HELL were we doing. How did we not die. Have you ever sat down and had a conversation with a male teen between the ages of 14-17. I should've been locked away for that period of my life, I swear I was temporarily insane. I had NO concept of "consequences" or "repercussions"....   [tags: essays research papers]

Powerful Essays
1343 words (3.8 pages)

The Accident Essay

- The Accident A young boy left his school via the back door, fifteen minutes after everyone else had left, and there was a reason for this. At his school Andros was, well he was different, nothing big, he just listened to different music, dressed differently and had, and this was probably the most noticeable thing about him, green hair. He liked the way he dressed, he liked what he listened to, and he liked his hair, too bad nobody else did....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
1609 words (4.6 pages)

Essay on accident

- Wild Ride Can you imagine being thrown from a car at 30mph. Well, I never thought I could until this happened to me in the summer of 1999. It was a gorgeous June afternoon, and summer had just begun. I had just gotten my license, and I couldn’t wait to go cruisin’ in my parents new yellow Ford Expedition. I had spent the day at my friends house, and now I was on my way home. I was almost home, I just had to turn onto the gravel road to get to my house. While I was turning, I was trying to put in a mix CD I had just made, and trying to turn the corner at the same time....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
706 words (2 pages)