Children, School Meals, and Nutritious Food Essay examples

Children, School Meals, and Nutritious Food Essay examples

Length: 1522 words (4.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


Imagine that you are a gardener, and you want your sapling to grow into a big tree. You need to put efforts into it by providing sufficient nutrients and water on a regular basis. This is the same theory that applies to children in our nation. The school meal nutrition issue has caught the eye of the government, and it is well discussed in the nation. Although many people debate if the government should involve in the school lunch issues, the government has already made some regulations on the nutrition of public school meals and it should consider educating children about healthy diets as well.
It took a long time for the government to recognize that providing school meals is necessary, and this program significantly influences the life of students. In 1946, President Truman signed the National School Lunch Act to permit the National Lunch Program. Before this act was effective, many poor children suffered hunger in schools because they did not have money to buy lunches. The government notices the fact that children are nutritionally unbalanced has become apparent (Gunderson). This program is particularly created for children from low income families, in order to end hunger in school, so these children receive lunch for free. It was a benefit for many people throughout the country at the time, and it continues now.
People who think parents should prepare lunches for their children forget to regard the family condition in many cases. Julie Gunlock, who is the Director of the Culture of Alarmism project at the Independent Women’s Forum, argues that the government should not intervene in school lunch regulation because parents have responsibilities to feed their children. Although she consists of various research results in her ...


... middle of paper ...


...1 Nov. 2013.
Conklin, Martha T., PhD,RD, Laurel G. Lambert, PhD,RD,LD, and
Janet B. Anderson, MS, RD. "How Long Does it Take Students to Eat Lunch? A Summary of Three Studies." School Nutrition Association. N.p., n.d. Web. 02 Nov. 2013.
Gunderson, Gordon W. "National School Lunch Program (NSLP)." USDA. N.p., n.d. Web. 01 Nov. 2013.
Gunlock, Julie. "School Lunch: Should the Government Be Feeding Schoolchildren Lunch? (Debate)." Independent Women's Forum. N.p., 12 Dec. 2012. Web.
13 Oct. 2013.
Nixon, Ron. "New Rules for School Meals Aim at Reducing Obesity."
The New York Times. The New York Times, 25 Jan. 2012. Web. 13 Oct. 2013.
Thompson, Carolyn. "Some School Districts Quit Healthier Lunch Program." USA Today. Gannett, 28 Aug. 2013. Web. 31 Oct. 2013.
Zelman, Kathleen M., MPH, RD, LD. "Slow Down, You Eat Too Fast." WebMD. WebMD, n.d. Web. 03 Nov. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Eating Nutritious Food For Kids

- American philosophy thus far has been to educate children once they have entered into the school system. From cute cartoon vegetables, to flashy internet games, hoping to convey the importance of eating nutritious food to kids, there have been many attempts to influence what American children are eating. According to a 2007 USA TODAY article by Martha Mendozab who is an Associated Press writer and has won a Pulitzer Prize for her work in investigative journalism, the Associated Press reviewed 57 government programs dedicated to nutrition education....   [tags: Nutrition, Health, Health insurance]

Powerful Essays
1424 words (4.1 pages)

New School Lunch Standards Implemented As A Result Of A Nutritious Lunch Children

- School Nutrition “New School lunch standards implemented as a result of First Lady Michelle Obama’s anti-obesity campaign have led to more than 1 million children leaving the lunch line, according to a new report.” (Elizabeth Harrington 3). Because of The Healthy and Hunger-Free Kids Act “ New meals are required to offer a whole grain,protein,fat free or low fat milk, fruits and vegetables”(Arit John 10). Even if the government regulates school lunches to prevent obesity and diabetes, the government should not be able to regulate them because students are not happy with the new school nutrition requirements, schools should be responsible for providing a nutritious lunch children wi...   [tags: Nutrition, High school, Health, Obesity]

Powerful Essays
1481 words (4.2 pages)

Schools Should Provide Nutritious Lunches Essay

- School lunches leave students with limited options, leaving no room for improvement in the fight for childhood obesity that one in three children suffer from. (8) Having the same, repetitive, items that are high in fat, sugar, preservatives, and additives(1) increase chances of cardiovascular disease and type 2 diabetes in students to name a few.(2) Even with the additional ameliorates directly from the White House, they only affect federally funded schools, excluding private schools. (4) With these weaknesses in our school lunch system, reform is definitely needed to conquer these common issues....   [tags: School Reform Essays]

Powerful Essays
1116 words (3.2 pages)

The Effects Of Fast Food And Lack Of Nutritious Foods Essay

- Title Take a look at any decent size group of children in America. Notice anything about them. It is extremely likely that at least one child out of the group is obese. It was not always like this. Children used to be much healthier than they are now. However, the effects of fast food and lack of nutritious foods is taking a toll on our nation’s youth. Some researchers even believe there is a link between certain childhood diseases and obesity in children. A child being obese effects an entire family and makes it hard on every one....   [tags: Nutrition, Obesity, Childhood obesity, Childhood]

Powerful Essays
1458 words (4.2 pages)

Feasability Study on Selling Squashkins Essay

- Background of the Study Most of the retail stores and restaurants especially fast food offer high calorie food, but low in nutritional value even in school canteens many served foods are junk foods. Junk foods are any prepared foods that are low in nutritional value and high in fat, sugar and sodium, often highly processed or pre-packaged snack like potato chips, hamburger, fries, candy, cookies, donuts, sugary breakfast cereals, ice-cream, soda and fruit drinks. According to Frogdoc (2007) In Amazon UK, parents are always looking for innovative product to make feeding their young children safer and neater....   [tags: children, nutritious, food]

Powerful Essays
1315 words (3.8 pages)

School Food Menus Should Be Changed Public Schools Essay

- In America itself only about two percent of kids eat a healthy diet. The topic I selected is if changes should be made to the regulation for food being served in public schools. I say yes, the school food menus should be changed in all public schools. The main reason I selected this article is because America is unhealthy in general and obesity is on the rise mainly due to the fact of unhealthy food. Also I went to public schools for over a decade and have seen the unhealthy food that is being served....   [tags: Nutrition, Obesity, Junk food, High school]

Powerful Essays
1830 words (5.2 pages)

American Fast Food Is The Most Sought After Food Essay

- American fast food is the most sought after food in the world. Many societies everywhere throughout the world seem to have joined this sort of sustenance in their eating routine. It is pretty much around us all the time; one may travel around the globe to Dubai and find a Burger King there, or sail to Europe and discover how identical McDonald 's there are in comparison to the ones in the United States. There is really no reason to have fast-food besides the obvious- it is convenient and cheap. We no longer live in the stone age where women would be expected to feed the family by remaining at home to cook, clean and take care of the kids, while the man of the house earned bread and butter....   [tags: Nutrition, Food, Fast food, Fast food restaurant]

Powerful Essays
1739 words (5 pages)

Fast Food Is The Most Well Liked Food Essay

- American fast food is the most well liked food in the world. Many cultures all over the world appear to have incorporated this kind of food in their diet. Such a thing is noticeable because it’s easy to find certain popular fast food places like Mcdonald 's and Burger King not only in America, but also in countries in Europe and Asia (Marion). People eat fast food because it is convenient and cheap. We no longer live in the old days when women would stay home to cook, clean and take care of the kids....   [tags: Nutrition, Food, Fast food, Obesity]

Powerful Essays
1631 words (4.7 pages)

A Research and Self-Reflection on Peanut Butter Essay

- ... These skills that I have gained will help me through out my life. I am hoping to study medicine and will engage in numerous research studies. I feel that I have leanred the foundations that will equip and assist me to write research proposals in university. Medical research wll be an active part of my studies and I am grateful that I have learnt the basics. I am excited to further my studies in this methodology in my career. 6900kJ for a boy aged 7 and 6400kJ for a girl aged 7. This requirement will differ based on gender, amount of exercise done through out the day, height and weight....   [tags: affordable and nutritious food]

Powerful Essays
953 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on The Issue Of Food Security

- In recent years, provincial and territorial governments across Canada have begun to develop programs and policies to address the issue of food security. These programs have the potential to play a role in reducing acute health care costs through preventative measures, support economic development and create jobs by developing local agri-food industries, raise the quality of life of residents by increasing access to safe, nutritious food, and promote environmental wellbeing through sustainable agriculture techniques or the promotion of local food....   [tags: Agriculture, Food, Food security, Poverty]

Powerful Essays
1014 words (2.9 pages)