Essay about Child Labor in Haiti

Essay about Child Labor in Haiti

Length: 1330 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The employment of children under the age to which it is illegal or inhumane is considered child labor. Its causes and consequences are myriad, touching every aspect of Haitian society. Children who are working are more likely to become physically and mentally underdeveloped than children who go to school. Haiti is certainly below the poverty line ranking as the 20th poorest country in the world and is considered to be one of the most under developed countries in the world (Pasquali). Not only is child labor itself a social issue, but it leads into more acts of cruelty bestowed upon the innocent children of Haiti. It is unjust to not only advocate such things but to just sit there knowingly and not take action. Many have proposed organizations such as Unicef, Restavek Freedom, or Kids Around The World have proposed ideas on how to help or set up funds that go towards the needs of the children. Although these thoughts and ideas are good, they are plans of action that only affect the immediate children under such conditions. To solve this problem, the people of the world, would need an international restriction on the working age. With these restrictions in place worldwide, we would be able to enforce the laws for the betterment of Haiti but for countries across the world.
History/Background Information
Most people most people perceive child labor and visualize it as it was from the late 1700’s to the early 1800’s in country’s like England and the United States. During this time period, “power-driven machines” succeeded in the triumph of hand labor, dominated industries in the making of most manufactured items. Industrialism was becoming the turn of the century. Machinery was something that “did not require adult strength.” Chi...


... middle of paper ...


... Thomson Reuters Foundation. Thomson Reuters Foundation, n.d. Web. 15 Nov. 2013.

---. "Home - Media Menu - Restavek Freedom Foundation." Home - Media Menu - Restavek Freedom Foundation. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Nov. 2013.

Martin, Michel. "Author: Inhumane Child Labor Arrangements Common In Haiti." Tell Me More (NPR) 18 Sept. 2008.: Newspaper Source. Web. 29 Oct. 2013.
Menezes, Gabi. UNICEF and partners work to protect vulnerable children at Haiti's border” UNICEF. UNICEF, 3 Feb. 2011. Web. 29 Oct. 2013.
Pasquali, Valentina. "The World's Richest and Poorest Countries." Global Finance. Apr 2013: n. page. Web. 14 Nov. 2013.

---. "TEACHERS." Scholastic Teachers. Ed. Milton Fried. Scholastic Inc., n.d. Web. 15 Nov. 2013.

Weitzel, Greg A. "Rebuilding hope in Haiti, one playground at a time." Parks & Recreation Mar. 2013: 12+. Student Resources in Context. Web. 29 Oct. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Birth Of A Child From Haiti Essay

- On February 6, 2014, my mother got a phone call saying a woman named Jasmine had chosen our family to adopt her daughter. She was thirty six weeks pregnant, and lived on the Missouri-Kansas border. We knew next to nothing about this woman, the baby’s biological father, or why she had chosen to give her baby up for adoption. Nearly two years later, my not-so-little sister Lilian is happy, healthy, and the best surprise we have ever had. In second grade my mother had my second little sister, and with the pregnancy and recovery came major complications....   [tags: Family, Mother, Foster care, Father]

Strong Essays
1198 words (3.4 pages)

Causes and Consequences of Human Trafficking in Haiti Essay

- Throughout the globe, whether a country is highly developed or unstable, all countries must face the issue of humanitarian crisis. These misfortunes can be triggered by human action or can occur involuntarily. Ranging from natural disasters, to diseases, to internal or external conflict, each has been proven to be detrimental to the stability of the society. Haiti has recently gotten attention for being simultaneously affected by multiple crises; each of which helps to place Haiti in a trap which they cannot lift themselves out of without foreign intervention and aid....   [tags: Human Rights ]

Strong Essays
1486 words (4.2 pages)

The Eradication Of The United States Essay

- According to E.B. Skinner, author of A WORLD Enslaved, 2008, “There are now more slaves on the planet than at any time in human history. True abolition will elude us until we admit the massive scope of the problem, attack it in all its forms, and empower slaves to help free themselves,” (Pg. 62). Approximately 250,000 restavecs work in Haiti today; most were born into extreme poverty. A restavec is a young, child slave. Poverty in Haiti provides few options for young people and results in greater vulnerability of children....   [tags: Slavery, Haiti, Labor, Human trafficking]

Strong Essays
1444 words (4.1 pages)

Haiti: Earthquake, Aftermath and Condition Essay

- RESULTS Statistics: • 222,570 people died and 300,572 were injured • 1.5 million children under 18 were directly or indirectly affected by the quake • The total value of damage and losses caused by earthquake is estimated at US$7.8 billion — US$4.3 billion represents physical damage and US$3.5 billion are economic losses — some 120 percent of the 2009 gross domestic product (GDP) of Haiti • 60 percent of government, administrative and economic infrastructure has been destroyed, as well as parliament and the judicial sector Source: The United Nations’ Special Envoy to Haiti reported October 1, 2010 Haiti: A government with very little power and resources The Haitian government’s lack of p...   [tags: NGO, Slums, Housing]

Strong Essays
2033 words (5.8 pages)

Essay on Referencing William Lloyd Garrison’s Fervor

- The international problem of abusive labor practices, especially child labor, which is a form of modern-day slavery, violates the inalienable rights of personal freedom that William Lloyd Garrison, one of the founders of the American Anti-Slavery Society, spent his life defending. However, to evoke labor change in today’s complex international arena, we cannot simply preach North American ideals to other nations. To end abusive labor practices worldwide, we must persuade by appealing to more universal desires, including the desire for wealth, hitting foreign leaders and business owners in their wallets rather than simply their consciences....   [tags: Personal Freedom, Child Labor]

Strong Essays
1266 words (3.6 pages)

Essay on Causes And Consequences Of Human Trafficking

- Causes and Consequences of Human Trafficking in Haiti Throughout the globe, whether a country is highly developed or unstable, all countries must face the issue of humanitarian crisis. These misfortunes can be triggered by human action or can occur involuntarily. Ranging from natural disasters, to diseases, to internal or external conflict, each has been proven to be detrimental to the stability of the society. Haiti has recently gotten attention for being simultaneously affected by multiple crises; each of which helps to place Haiti in a trap which they cannot lift themselves out of without foreign intervention and aid....   [tags: Slavery, Haiti, Humanitarian aid]

Strong Essays
1377 words (3.9 pages)

Post-Colonial Female Gender Roles and Feminism in Haiti Essay

- Haiti is widely known as a poor country with the peasantry sitting on the bottom rung of the social ladder. There are many things can make you a second class citizen, such as the color of your skin, the amount of money or property you own, where you were born, or your gender. Gender roles and marginalization have existed in Haiti existed since the era of slavery and the issues have persisted throughout the country’s post-revolutionary history. In more recent history, there have been more Haitian women who have become politically active and a Haitian feminism movement has emerged....   [tags: poor country, second class citizen]

Strong Essays
1644 words (4.7 pages)

Essay on Review Of ' The Mountain '

- Review of the Mountain When I started to read Miracle on Voodoo Mountain, I was quite moved by the faith and honor that Megan Boudreaux portrayed. In my mind, I could think only of how scared she must have been to leave here loved ones behind and venture a world away. Without a concrete plan of how she was going to survive, she put her faith in God and followed her dreams. I cannot say that I found the book to be as amazing as I originally thought it would be, but I have learned many things about Haiti and the culture, and I am thankful for the experience....   [tags: Mind, Thought, Haiti, Slavery]

Strong Essays
1450 words (4.1 pages)

The Country 's Capital Is Port Au Prince Essay

- I chose Haiti, which is located in Central America. According to the world fact book it is location in the “Caribbean, western one-third of the island of Hispaniola, between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, west of the Dominican Republic, ”. It boarder the Dominican Republic. The country’s capital is Port-au-Prince. The fact book also says the climate is tropical with a mostly rough and mountainous terrain. Haiti has a few natural resources including bauxite, copper, calcium carbonate, gold, and marble....   [tags: Haiti, Dominican Republic, Hispaniola, Caribbean]

Strong Essays
1023 words (2.9 pages)

Child Labor and its Effects Essay

- In today’s world, one would believe that the majority of Americans would oppose supporting a business that exploits the use of child labor to produce its goods. However, the odds are we all have in one way or another supported these businesses the last time we went shopping. Whether it is a toy for a child or a jacket to keep you warm, it was probably was made using child labor in one of the many different parts of the globe. The use of child labor is a major factor of the global economy in today's age of globalization where U.S....   [tags: Child Labor]

Strong Essays
1550 words (4.4 pages)