The Changing American Family by Natalie Angier Essay

The Changing American Family by Natalie Angier Essay

Length: 1168 words (3.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

“Christmas must be crazy.” This is the traditional comment that I have received time and time again for my remarkably nontraditional family, which consists of five stepbrothers, one stepsister, two half-sisters, my little brother, my stepmother and father, my mother and her fiancee (with his own set of children!) as well as the legions of extended family and my host family in Ecuador, not including the numerous friends on campus and elsewhere who affectionately refer to me as 'Mom', 'Mother', or 'Momma', and who are considered practically family by this point. However, Christmas still goes quite smoothly, and I must ask: Is my rather large, rough family circle really that atypical of modern American society? The NYT issue of Science Times titled “The Changing American Family” by Natalie Angier asserts that our family structure is indeed changing, and we as Americans no longer subscribe to the traditional nuclear family modeled by shows such as Leave it to Beaver or the “blended” but still idealized model of The Brady Bunch. And, when we examine America's families, we find that the shift is happening not only from decade to decade, but constantly, especially with the passing of new laws and new understandings surrounding human rights and identities.
First, we must examine the assertions of “The Changing American Family”. From a pure research angle, the NYT article uses several graphs (regarding marriage rates, divorce rates, birthrates, gay and lesbian couples raising children, and children with incarcerated parents) from different sources, including Pew Research Center, the U.S. Census Bureau, and a couple national bureaus for economic and marriage research as well as the Center for Disease Control and Prevention. The graphs ran...


... middle of paper ...


...b. 21 Feb. 2014.
"About The Pew Charitable Trusts." About The Pew Charitable Trusts. Pew Charitable Trusts, n.d. Web. 21 Feb. 2014.
Angier, Natalie. "The Changing American Family." The New York Times. The New York Times, 25 Nov. 2013. Web. 18 Feb. 2014.
Craig, William L. "A Christian Perspective on Homosexuality." Reasonable Faith. Reasonable Faith Translations, n.d. Web. 21 Feb. 2014.
"Definition of Dyad." Sociology Definitions. Boundless, n.d. Web. 21 Feb. 2014.
Delaney, Tim. "Pop Culture: An Overview." Philosophy Now. Philosophy Now, 2007. Web. 21 Feb. 2014.
Morse, Jennifer R. "Marriage & Relationships." The Problem With Living Together. Focus On The Family, 2001. Web. 21 Feb. 2014.
Smith, Emily E. "The Kardashians: Family Values, Hollywood Style." Acculturated: The Kardashians Family Values Hollywood Style Comments. Acculturated, 7 May 2013. Web. 21 Feb. 2014.


Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Is The American Family? Essay

- Is the American family in really in crisis or is it just evolving at a more advanced rate than society. According to the sociologist, Michael Kimmel, “[t]hough the family feels like one of the most fragile of social institutions, it is also perhaps among the most resilient” (Kimmel 143). It seems fragile because of the decline of marriages rates, the increase in divorce rates, and the increase in cohabitating couples. However, the family is one of the most resilient social institutions, “able to adapt to changing economic, social, and cultural circumstances and remain the foundation of society” (Kimmel 142)....   [tags: Family, Marriage, Divorce, Cohabitation]

Strong Essays
1148 words (3.3 pages)

The Return of Martin Guerre by Natalie Davis Essay

- The Return of Martin Guerre by Natalie Davis The Return of Martin Guerre written by Natalie Davis gives the audience a rare glimpse into the world of peasant life in sixteenth century France. It also allows a modern day audience a chance to examine and to compare their own identities and questions of self. What makes the story so interesting to modern day viewers and readers is how relevant the story and the people in it are to our own times. This story is about a history of everyday people rather than royalty and generals, history's usual subjects....   [tags: Natalie Davis Martin Guerre]

Strong Essays
1452 words (4.1 pages)

The American Revolution: The Changing Role of Women Essay

- The Changing Role of Women: Identify the new ways that women were involved in society in the United States. Be sure to include organizations that developed, meetings they held and actions they took, and results of those actions. As the century immediately following the American Revolution, the 19th century experienced a rise in feminism as it harbored the first feminist movement in America. Although some women chose to embrace their “roots” by retaining their domestic sphere of influence, many women began to show discontent with the limited number of rights women held....   [tags: american history]

Strong Essays
1066 words (3 pages)

Changing Role of Women in Archie Comics Essay

- Plan of Investigation The purpose of the essay is to answer the question: How has Archie Comics reflected changing gender norms in the United States of America from World War II to the present of women in contemporary American society, in its eventual challenge of the position of men as the dominant sex, and in its inclusion of previously marginalized sexual orientations. As entertainment primarily targeted to middle-class America, Archie is a helpful avenue by which to understand acceptable views....   [tags: Changing Gender Norms in Archie Comics]

Strong Essays
2851 words (8.1 pages)

Natalie Munroe's Blog and Freedom of Speech

- One of the most important and difficult professions is teaching. Teachers play a vital role in nurturing the intellectual and social development of various students during their maturing years. Teachers employ more time with the students on a daily basis than parents do. Thus, parents entrust the teachers with an enormous responsibility to guide their children to become useful members of society; however, this task becomes difficult for a teacher when she faces the lack of respect and discipline from her students....   [tags: Teachers, Education, Development]

Strong Essays
829 words (2.4 pages)

Childhood Obesity, By Dr. Natalie Azar Essay

- pediatricians, people and children will stay overweight without even realizing it. Another factor in childhood obesity, discussed by Dr. Natalie Azar on Today, was the parents denial of their children being overweight. She says, “Parents have this idea that children are going to outgrow obesity and I think that 's why they are more reluctant to acknowledge it," which may be contributing to childhood obesity. Parents need to realize obesity isn’t always something that can be outgrown. They 're unintentionally harming their children 's health by thinking this way....   [tags: Nutrition, Obesity, Health, Public health]

Strong Essays
1292 words (3.7 pages)

Evolution of The American Epic as Compared to the Changing Landscape of the Ganges River

- Evolution of The American Epic as Compared to the Changing Landscape of the Ganges River Much has changed in America since the time the Founding Fathers signed the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution. As the nation has changed, so have the novels that have described the changes taking place. These “American epics” have accounted for social and political conflicts within the nation and have addressed the need for change in America. Due to the changing American landscape, the epics have had different descriptions of national character, social problems, and the rising social aggression taking place....   [tags: American America History]

Free Essays
5087 words (14.5 pages)

Natalie Goldberg’s Long Quiet Highway: Waking Up in America Essay

- Natalie Goldberg’s Long Quiet Highway: Waking Up in America “I don’t think fate is a creature, or a lady, like some people say. It’s a tide of events sweeping us along. But I’m not a Fatalist, because I believe you can swim against it, and sometimes grasp the hands of the clock face and steal a few precious minutes. If you don’t you’re just cartwheeled along. Before you know it, the magic opportunity is lost, and for the rest of your life it lingers on in that part of your mind which dreams the very best dreams—taunting and tantalizing you with what might have been.” (from the film Flirting, 1990) “Every moment is enormous, and it is all we have” (Goldberg xii)....   [tags: Long Quiet Highway]

Strong Essays
2717 words (7.8 pages)

Changing The American Language Essay example

- My brother and i are alike in that we both often have very strange dreams. A couple of months back, he dreamed that he was driving in Mexico with his best friend Jacob, when he got pulled over by the Mexican police. When asked if he was drunk, he replied with, "Of course not, sir. I dislike drunk drivers. I disapprove of drunk drivers. I discringe drunk drivers." Hearing this, the police simply let him go. As he was driving away, however, Jacob turned to him and said, "Dude...discringe?" After reciting this story to me the next morning, he asked, "Amber...is discringe a word?" When i told him that it wasn't, he decided that from then on it would be, and ever si...   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
959 words (2.7 pages)

Changing American Families Essay

- Changing American Families The children are leaving for school just as father grabs his briefcase and is off to work. Meanwhile, mother finishes clearing the breakfast dishes and continues on with her day filled with PTA, housework, and the preparation of a well-balanced meal to be enjoyed by all when father gets home promptly at 6:00 p.m. This would have to be a scene from "Father Knows Best", Leave It to Beaver" or that of a family during or before the sixties. Only a small minority of contemporary families fit the mold of being a "nuclear" family today....   [tags: Papers]

Strong Essays
1424 words (4.1 pages)