Cause and Effect and Non-Renewable Resources Essay

Cause and Effect and Non-Renewable Resources Essay

Length: 1612 words (4.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

From the words of Mahatma Ghandi, “Earth provides enough to satisfy every man's needs, but not every man's greed.” This quotation holds highly true, despite society’s lack of recognition towards the concept. We religiously use non-renewable resources to meet our wants and needs at a rate too rapid for the source to replenish, which is causing depletion levels to rise. As this is done, we are also releasing emissions into our atmosphere that destroy the ozone layer and increase the effects of global warming. An excellent replacement of energy sources that inflate our global environmental crises is the use of tidal energy. This form of energy makes use of tidal flow to conduct electricity to be used across communities in a reliable way, yet it is majorly overlooked by society. By making tidal energy our world’s main power source, we would be able to live more sustainable lives in terms of energy production and the reduction of coal mining, as well as realizing that this innovative development is comparable to that of discovering the wheel.
The ability to produce electricity in a way that is emission free and completely renewable allows tidal energy to earn the reputation of being a highly sustainable choice for communities to invest in. Once a tidal energy plant has been built across an estuary, which is the part of a river where the tide meets the stream, the energy production process is able to begin. First, the tides must pass through the installed machinery and tunneling. The tidal waves that the production process uses are present between ten and twenty hours per day, and are therefore producing kinetic energy for the majority of each day. As the tide falls in and out, the motion causes water to move through the b...


... middle of paper ...


... Energy Company. Ecotricity, n.d. Web. 16 Apr. 2014.
"Energy Resources: Tidal Power." Energy Resources: Tidal Power. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Apr. 2014.
Finder, Idea. "Invention of the Wheel." Wheel History - Invention of the Wheel. The Great Idea Finder, 2005. Web. 15 Apr. 2014.
Gabbard, Alex. "Coal Combustion: Nuclear Resource or Danger." (2008): n. pag. Http://web.ornl.gov/info/ornlreview/rev26-34/text/colmain.html. Web. 16 Apr. 2014.
"Mining Impacts." Greenpeace International. Greenpeace, 2010. Web. 15 Apr. 2014.
Pelc, Robin, and Rob Fujita. "ScienceDirect." Renewable Energy from the Ocean. Science Direct, 2013. Web. 16 Apr. 2014.
Retiere, C. "Tidal Power and Aquatic Environment of La Rance." N.p., 2010. Web. 16 Apr. 2014.
Vine, Ivy. "How Does Electro Magnetic Induction Work? - Yahoo Answers." How Does Electro Magnetic Induction Work? Yahoo!, 2012. Web. 16 Apr. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Renewable Resources : Renewable Energy Essay

- Renewable Resources The sun exists as one of the highest abundant sources of energy. Yet the world neglects to implement solar technology as a dependable resource. Daily, Americans make the switch to solar energy and cut dependency from local utilities. One of the greatest advantages of harvesting solar energy stands that the sun shines for long durations throughout the day and the sun rises every day; hence, reliability. Other natural renewable resources are available such as hydro, wind, geothermal, biomass and nuclear energy....   [tags: Fossil fuel, Wind power, Global warming]

Powerful Essays
1647 words (4.7 pages)

Renewable Energy : Fossil Fuels Essay

- Renewable energy is the key to replacing the use of fossil fuels, by increasing the use of natural resources to power energy sources. By promoting the use of renewable energy it would result in a decrease in negative environmental impacts. Fossil fuels are the main contributor to global warming, air pollution, acid rain, and oil spills (Pacific Environment, 2014). The dependence upon fossil fuels for energy has created a major environmental catastrophe, resulting in the loss of many ecosystems. As stated in Ibraham Dincer’s review; if humanity expects to continuously depend upon energy systems the environmental impacts need to be contemplated rather than pushed aside (Dincer, 2000)....   [tags: Renewable energy, Wind power, Hydroelectricity]

Powerful Essays
1431 words (4.1 pages)

Essay on The Effects Of Renewable Energy Sources On The Environment

- Renewable energy sources have plenty of benefits that can help not only the environment, but ourselves too. Countries all over the world (some quicker than others) are making the switch to renewable energy sources such as wind, solar, and hydroelectric power and eliminating the use of burning fossil fuels for power. We are all aware of the dangers that accompany the use of burning fossil fuels for energy. They have had a negative impact on the earth’s ozone layer and have contributed to a large amount of habitats for animals to be disturbed due to the process of mining for coal or drilling for petroleum....   [tags: Renewable energy, Wind power, Fossil fuel]

Powerful Essays
734 words (2.1 pages)

Energy Resources Essay

- When it comes to resources we have two kinds. We have nonrenewable and renewable resources. These resources can be good or bad for the use of our environment. We need to find new ways to support our environment before we run out of our nonrenewable resources. Coal is a nonrenewable resource which means that it cannot easily be renewed. To create the resource coal it will take billions and billions of years. Coal is formed from dead plants in swamps and other such areas in the world. Before the plants had died they absorbed energy from the sun through photosynthesis....   [tags: environemtn, renewable, nonrenewable]

Powerful Essays
1282 words (3.7 pages)

Renewable Energy Is Worth It? Essay

- Energy it’s what makes the modern world work and what every human on this planet relies on. The energy crisis is clouded with fossil fuels that we use every day without think about their consequences. Energy can be obtained without burning fossil fuels that release global warm emissions into the atmosphere. Renewable energy is the future of energy and also helps create a new job market and millions of jobs. Renewable energy also helps reduce and prevent any more damage to our planet’s atmosphere, But people still ask the age old question of is renewable energy really worth it....   [tags: Wind power, Energy development, Fossil fuel]

Powerful Essays
997 words (2.8 pages)

Energy Sources Of Renewable Energy Essay

- The United States currently relies heavily on coal, oil, and natural gas for its energy. While the price of natural gas per barrel continues to plummet, the United States is constantly seeking new sources of renewable energy. Renewable energy consists of any type of natural resource (solar power, ocean power, wind power, rain, snow, etc.) that naturally and automatically replenishes itself. Renewable energy is important because it is infinite and everlasting, meaning our children and our children’s children will be able to utilize these resources long after we are gone....   [tags: Wind power, Fossil fuel, Peak oil]

Powerful Essays
994 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about Energy Efficiency and Sustaining Resources For the Future

- Energy Efficiency and Sustaining Resources For the Future Do Americans or human beings as a whole need to be more energy cautious. I think we need to become better educated and make knowledgeable decisions in how we use our energy and at what rate in which we use it. The brutal truth of the matter is that our resources of energy we are using are not going to last forever. In the United States we consumed 94,231 trillion Btu during 1997. The state of New York alone used 4.24% of that total energy, or about 4,000 trillion Btu of energy (“How much?”, Internet)....   [tags: Oil Natural Resources Energy Essays Papers]

Powerful Essays
2356 words (6.7 pages)

Renewable Energy : Alternative Energy Essay

- 333745 Alternative Energy “If we put all our energy and resources into continued fossil fuel extraction, we will have lost an opportunity to have invested in renewable energy.” ( David Suzuki ) The past few decades, alternative energy has increasingly replaced the utilization of fossil fuels. Fossil fuels are composed from decayed plants and animals that are converted to crude oil, coal, and natural gas. As a source of energy fossil fuels are finite and have many negative side-effects, some of which include: incremented levels of carbon dioxide, output of toxic substances, heat-trapping gases that cause global warming, and by-prod...   [tags: Wind power, Energy development, Fossil fuel]

Powerful Essays
1046 words (3 pages)

Impact of Climate Change on Building Merchant Industry and Its Effect on the Marketplace

- An Analysis of the Impact of Increased Climate Change on Building Merchant Industry, Its Effect on the Marketplace and the Future Strategies of E.H. Smith Introduction One of the frightening environmental concerns is the build-up of carbon-dioxide (CO2) in the atmosphere that has resulted from heavy use of fossil fuels. This carbon dioxide blankets traps the sun's radiation, which leads to an increase in the earth's average temperature. In the UK, climate change is likely to give rise to warmer temperatures, wetter winters and drier summers, as well as higher sea levels resulting in flooding of coastal areas (Boyd et al 1998)....   [tags: Environment Marketing Business Cause Effect]

Free Essays
1759 words (5 pages)

Renewable Energy Essay

- Renewable Energy I am an environmentalist who is in favor of using renewable sources of energy rather than non - renewable sources. There are several types of renewable resources of energy. 1. Solar energy. 2. Wind energy. 3. Hydroelectric energy. 4. Geothermal energy. 5. Biomass energy. It is better to use renewable resources of energy rather than non - renewable sources in the long term. Eventually the limited supplies of non renewable sources of energy will finish. You would then need to find another mean....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
429 words (1.2 pages)