Can God Heal The Hurt Essay examples

Can God Heal The Hurt Essay examples

Length: 1333 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Everyone has been sick, either physically or emotionally, at some point in their lives. Where do we turn when this illness becomes more than we can bear? Most people will make an appointment with their doctor and be given some sort of medication, as this is the day of advanced medicine. Well, what happens when the medicine doesn’t work? Where do we turn? Do we look for second opinions or do we look for different treatment options? This is becoming a major concern in our country as people are getting frustrated with the results, or lack thereof, of modern medicine. Through some of the research I have already done, I’ve discovered that people are very set on proving, beyond a doubt, that a given treatment works before they will try it. The fact that the efficacy of prayer is hard to prove, it is causing some doubt as whether prayer should be included in treatment plans. My question to be researched then is, how do we know that prayer is beneficial for our physical healing?
I am hoping to reach those who are concerned about their current health status and are questioning where to turn. I would like to show some encouragement to those who are lost in their medical journey; to show them that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Another group I would like to reach are the skeptical doctors, like mine. Maybe if they could see some research into the subject, they may not be as close minded. This is a topic close to home for me, as I to have been frustrated with medicine as a whole. I am currently battling an illness that doctors cannot diagnose. My lab values change every time they think they have an answer, prompting them to start all over. Through my research I am hoping to find encouraging information as to the power of prayer....


... middle of paper ...


...ar. 2005: 109-117. Web. 20 Mar. 2014.

Coyne, Jerry A. “Science and Religion Aren’t Friends.” USA Today. USA Today 10 Oct. 2010. Web. 20 Mar. 2014.

Rupple, Paul. “The Fatal Flaw in Double Blind Prayer Experiments.” Thinking Eternally. Thinking Eternally 16 Jul. 2010. Web. 20 Mar. 2014.

Jantos, Marek, and Kiat, Hosen. “Prayer as medicine: How Much Have We Learned?” Medical Journal of Australia 10:51 (2007):186. Web. 20 Mar. 2014.

Benson, Herbert, et al. “Study of the Therapeutic Effects of Intercessory Prayer in Cardiac Bypass Patients: A Multi-center Randomized trial of Uncertainty and Certainty of Receiving Intercessory Prayer.” American Heart Journal 151:4 (2006). Web. 20 Mar. 2014.


Harrigan, John. “Health Promoting Habits of People Who Pray For Their Health.” Journal of Religion and Health 50.3 (2011): 602-607. Academic Search Premier. Web. 20 Mar. 2014.




Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

When The Hurt Runs Deep By Kay Arthur Essay

- Before I began reading for this project I asked myself. What do I want to take away from it, and why. To be honest, at first, I didn’t know what I wanted from reading the book When the Hurt Runs Deep by Kay Arthur. After opening myself up to the truth I realized deep within me I sought answers to my life. My heart longed to know the reason behind why certain things occur but an even greater question arose out of my inner thoughts and up to the surface: Have I truly moved past all the hurt that runs deep....   [tags: Truth, Meaning of life, Question]

Strong Essays
1123 words (3.2 pages)

God Is The God Of Restoration Essay

- Today, I realized that God isn 't just a God of rule or the God of fixing my mistakes. You see, while those things are great, God is the God of restoration... Especially during a breather. I messed up. I allowed my life to spiral out of control, pride to be a way of life, people to get closer than they should and created an environment with my emotions that damaged me and those around me. Codependency took me places I never thought I 'd go and kept me there longer than I ever planned to stay. The idea of doing anything to gain the acceptance and affirmation of another became an adrenaline rush for me....   [tags: Jesus, New Testament]

Strong Essays
1007 words (2.9 pages)

Hatred Hell into Lovely Heaven Essay

- ... All of you should know that love’s enemy is hatred. When love gives so many benefits, hatred gives bad results. One of the different results is love makes peace while hatred can cause a war. All people should know the fact that hating other people is bad, but why many people still hate each other. To love others is not a piece of cake, before humans can love others they need to love themselves, and before they can love themselves rightly they should love God (Matthew 22:37-39). Therefore, the key of loving others is by loving God wholly....   [tags: glorigying God, Jean Valjean]

Strong Essays
1219 words (3.5 pages)

Essay Life, Death, And Resurrection Of Jesus Christ

- “I believe in the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ. I believe that he suffered, died, and was buried, and that on the third day he rose again in fulfillment of the scriptures. I believe he ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father. I believe he will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead and his Kingdom shall have no end.” Those are a few of the lines from the Nicene Creed, which I learned as a small Catholic before ever realizing what they meant....   [tags: Jesus, Christianity, Trinity, God in Christianity]

Strong Essays
2421 words (6.9 pages)

Heal the World by Michael Jackson Essay

- ... In this scene, the video shows us a little lovely girl, and she looks very lovely, this scene will make audiences who watch this video want to protect the little girl. In the meantime, the song starts. With the sweet voice of Michael Jackson, we saw three important frames, in the first scene, we saw soldiers stand in behind dust, and this means they are in a war. In the second scene, a little boy stand beside a tank, he wears a black jacket, on his face, we cannot see any expression, he looks very helpless, he cannot do anything to stop the war....   [tags: victims of war, hunger, children, soldiers]

Strong Essays
1365 words (3.9 pages)

Can Not Heal Themselves? Essay

- cannot heal themselves. When a ligament is hurt, the ligament will dissolve itself rather than repairing itself. The same is true when it comes to cartilage. When a piece of cartilage breaks off, new cartilage will not replace the missing cartilage. The only way to repair cartilage is to sew the torn cartilage back onto the existing cartilage. If an individual would hurt a ligament while performing a motion over and over again, the individual would be forced to live without a ligament, get an autograft from some other region of their body, or use a graft from a cadaver....   [tags: Muscle, Cardiac muscle, Glycogen, Muscular system]

Strong Essays
999 words (2.9 pages)

Essay on A Theological Response to Natural Suffering

- A Theological Response to Natural Suffering In his book, The Sacred Canopy, Peter Berger asserts that ``Religion has played a strategic part in the human enterprise of world building,`` and `` implies the farthest reach of his ( man`s) infusion of reality with his own meaning.`` (Berger, 1967, 27) Thus, theology, another term for religion, is the foundation of human sense of the meaning of life and closely related to our daily life. The 921 earthquake occured on September 21, 1999 that caused the most serious damage in Taiwan since 1935....   [tags: Earthquake Religion Suffering God Papers]

Free Essays
4544 words (13 pages)

God Is A God Of God Essay

- 1. God created the universe, and human beings. He did not create us because he was bored, or wanted us to bring Him glory. He just chose to create us, there is no purpose behind it. We are created by God so we should live for His glory, and also, giving God glory will give our lives purpose and meaning. We are born to glorify God by enjoying Him. We need to understand Him. the more we know about God, the more we know ourselves. “Our spirit is a reflection of God’s nature and allows us to relate to him personally.” So we need to have well and always remember to glorify God....   [tags: Jesus, Bible, Christianity, God in Christianity]

Strong Essays
2193 words (6.3 pages)

God Is A God? Essay example

- An important topic is being discussed, and it concerns the various concepts of God. Indeed, throughout history humanity have asked the same question to no avail, is there really a God. However, “Philosophers have offered three answers to the “is anyone in charge” question: 1) there is a God, 2) there is no God, and 3) we can’t know whether there is a god or not a God (Roots of Wisdom Pg. 167). The belief that there is a god is called theism. Conversely, the belief that there is not a god is called atheism....   [tags: God, Good and evil, Omnipotence, Omniscience]

Strong Essays
1404 words (4 pages)

Essay on God Is A Just God

- One believes that faith in Jesus Christ is needed because Jesus Christ is going to be faithful to His calling. Jesus is the Word of God, and God said, when He send out His Word, it will perform what He sent it out to do., Iit will not return void. Jesus is our salvation and must be faithful to His calling. Even when His flesh is crying out, it want to give up and quit, the spirit of God that is Within him cry out not my will but your will be done. . Wright wrote that God is a just God and know that balance is a vital (p.53).There are righteous people and unrighteous people;, something must be done....   [tags: Jesus, God, God in Christianity, Holy Spirit]

Strong Essays
1068 words (3.1 pages)