Preview
Preview

BYU Honor Code Essay

:: 7 Works Cited
Length: 988 words (2.8 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Yellow      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

A big disappointment comes just days before Brigham Young University (BYU) basketball team was to kick start the NCAA tournament. 19-year-old sophomore Brandon Davis was dismissed from the team for having consensual premarital sex with his girlfriend. He did not violated any government laws, however the University’s Honor Code states “live a chaste and virtuous life” (). The BYU Honor Code prohibits many behaviors ordinarily considered part of normal society such as: drinking coffee, alcohol, herbal tea, and swearing among others. Generally, when an Honor Code violation makes the news, it is usually for cheating on tests or unlawful activities. Hearing that students cannot have premarital sex was startling, because it is not what crosses one’s mind when hearing of athletes violating an Honor Code. BYU is located in Salt Lake City, Utah and is owned by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS Church). Most students are Mormons; even those who are not are still required to abide by the same rules. This leaves a wide margin of judgment by the university. BYU’s Honor Code is too strict which places them in position to hide the infractions lie and antiquated for college students at BYU in the 21st century.
Honor Code has evolved over the years and its becoming more strict in its ways and flaws. “Taggert accused the administration of using the code to punish rather than to help students improve themselves” (Bergera). It lists of forbidden acts are antiquated and invade the students’ sense of privacy without truly defining the quality of honor. Other seemingly arbitrary codes such as no herbal tea, no short skirts and no beards are strictly enforced. Even Jesus Christ could not have attended BYU without shaving first. As a m...


... middle of paper ...


...h." Brigham Young University. Signature
Books, LLC, 1985. Web. 25 Mar. 2011.
Branch, Jonh. "Kept Off Court, but Welcomed by B.Y.U. Fans and Teammates." The New York
Times. 12 Mar. 2011. Web. 23 Mar. 2011.
Daines, Gordon. "BYU History (LTPSC) » Collection Highlights FAQ University Archives »
The Honor Code at Brigham Young University." Harold B. Lee Library. Brigham Young University, 9 Jan. 2009. Web. 6 Mar. 2011
Goodman, Jeff
Lee, Tony. "BYU's Hoopster Affair May Boost Mitt Romney." Human Events 67.10 (2011): 7.
Academic Search Premier. EBSCO. Web. 5 Apr. 2011.
Richardson, Valerie. "Should Sex Acts Net Suspensions or Extra Credit?” Washington Times,
LLC, 4 Mar. 2011: A01. Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 31 Mar. 2011.
Yasinskas, Pat. "BYU and the Honor Code « SethBeccard.com." SethBeccard.com. Wold Press,
7 Mar. 2011. Web. 18 Mar. 2011.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
BYU’s Honor Code Needs a Make Over Essay - A big disappointment comes just days before Brigham Young University (BYU) basketball team was to kick start the NCAA tournament. 19-year-old sophomore Brandon Davies was dismissed from the team for having consensual premarital sex with his girlfriend Danica Mendivil (Mackall). Davies did not violate any government laws, however the University’s Honor Code states students to “live a chaste and virtuous life” (2010-2011 Undergraduate). The BYU Honor Code prohibits many behaviors ordinarily considered part of normal society such as: drinking herbal tea, coffee, alcohol, and swearing among other things....   [tags: Ethics ]
:: 2 Works Cited
1182 words
(3.4 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
BYU Student gets booted Essay - B.Y.U. Student Gets Booted Could you imagine being twenty years old , trying to discover yourself, and then being punished for it. Weather you saw it happen on MTV or you heard about it in the news most of us have heard about ex-Real World cast member Julie Stoffer, and the controversy surrounding her appearance on the popular MTV reality show. Julie Stoffer was born on July 11th 1979 in Provo, Utah. The daughter of devote members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Julie followed in her parents footsteps and decided to attend Brigham Young University....   [tags: essays research papers] 1241 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The honor code Essay - How will the honor code impact my academic and campus life. Throughout my years at Xavier and beyond I intend to follow the Xavier Honor Code so I can become a cooperative and responsible person. By being a student at Xavier I notice I will have to take responsibility of my actions and faults. In order for Xavier to trust me and to allow me to continue attending their school, I will have to follow their rules and be respectful. Not only should I do these things, but also I have to respect myself in order to respect others....   [tags: essays research papers] 530 words
(1.5 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
The Code of Chivalry Essay - ... As shown, chivalry is not just any word because it comes from various words that also reflect its meaning. Within the concept of chivalry there existed a set of laws or rules that people called Code of Chivalry (). To have chivalric deeds a person had to commit to these set of codes. In the most basic terms, the code of chivalry are guidelines for qualified knights. Knights were obliged once committed to follow the code of chivalry without breaking any of the laws or rules (). There were severe consequences like death for those knights who broke these code of chivalry ()....   [tags: virtues, honor, and courtly love] 1036 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Chivalric Code of Medieval Knights Essay - Today when people hear, “chivalry,” the modern idea connected with the word is romance. Many would picture a man holding a door open for a woman, or think of the phrase, “Chivalry is dead!” In reality, chivalry was a more so of a code of conduct, and the concept of it only being tied to romance is actually a very small part of it. This conduct was a mix between where the individual’s social status was, how knights dealt with treaties, and the glory, freedom, and respect that came with it. Two French rulers began this around the late eighth and early ninth century....   [tags: code of conduct]
:: 8 Works Cited
989 words
(2.8 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Values are the Army's Code of Honor Essays - Values are the Army's Code of Honor I believe it is a great idea to put the Army's core values on a plastic dog tag and require us to wear them around our necks. It's a great reminder to us of who and what we are. But more importantly it's a reminder to soldiers of what to look for in their leaders. Maybe that's what has so many leaders irate enough to write letters and articles about how offensive it is when they are reminded of the Army's values. No one ever learned values by being given a card, tag or anything else with a list of values on it....   [tags: Papers] 565 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Code of Honor in the Epic of Beowulf Essay - Beowulf: Code of Honor After fighting and winning many battles, Beowulf's life enters a new stage when he finally becomes king of his homeland, Geatland. Even in his old age, his code of honor still obligates him to fight against an evil, fiery dragon. For fifty years he has governed his kingdom well. While Beowulf is governing, the dragon "...kept watch over a hoard, a steep stone-barrow" (Norton 55). Under it lays a path concealed from the sight of men. Over centuries no one had disturbed the dragon’s kingdom until one day when a thief broke into the treasure, laid hand on a cup fretted with gold, which infuriated the dragon....   [tags: Epic Beowulf essays] 1062 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Pros and Cons of The Belmont Honor Code Essay - The Pros and Cons of The Belmont Honor Code To thine own self be true, as Shakespeare writes, is the fundamental principle that defines honesty. Although a variety of factors influence one's decision to be honest, the primary reason to choose integrity is to be true to oneself. Part of being true to oneself is recognizing the need for individualism. Individualism is the state in which a person is able to take in the events of the surrounding world and discern for himself which practices he or she will participate in....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Essays]
:: 4 Works Cited
1294 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Essay on Honor Killings - Honor Killings Human rights violations against women have, for too long, been denied the attention and concern of international organizations, national governments, traditional human rights groups and the press. Meanwhile, hundreds of millions of girls and women around the world continue to endure debilitating and often fatal human rights abuses. These are only a few instances of abuse which occur every single day all around the world. Human rights violations against women must be documented, publicized and stopped....   [tags: Violence Death Murder Honor Women Essays] 2129 words
(6.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Honor Essay - A Question of Honor Since my most important objectives in life are growing in my relationship with God and becoming a respected man of irrefutable integrity, I find that my lifestyle complements the moral expectations and responsibilities required of cadets attending the United States Air Force Academy. My parents have instructed me in principles that closely parallel the Academy's Honor Code, and I have chosen to integrate those into all aspects of my lifestyle. Without a doubt, I will not experience any difficulty adopting the Honor Code as a way of life for I currently practice this and will continue to do so....   [tags: College Admissions Essays] 384 words
(1.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]