The Butterfly Effect, and A Sound of Thunder by Ray Bradbury Essay

The Butterfly Effect, and A Sound of Thunder by Ray Bradbury Essay

Length: 1125 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Many science fiction shows, films, and novels today have been influenced by science fiction novels from the past. A few examples are Frequency,The Butterfly Effect, and A Sound of Thunder relating to A Sound of Thunder by Ray Bradbury. These films all express Bradbury’s idea of the butterfly effect and that time traveling can change the past, therefore changing the future. Although they share the same idea, they each have different outcomes.
A Sound of Thunder was written in 1952 by Ray Bradbury. It was set in the year of 2055 during a presidential election. In the story, Eckels and a group of rich men travel back in time to kill a dinosaur. However, after seeing the dinosaur, Eckels cowardly strays off of the important floating path. When the group returns to Time Safari Incorporated, they realize that Eckels has made the terrible mistake of stepping on a prehistoric butterfly. This tiny change to the past not only modifies their present language, but also causes the unwanted candidate, Duetscher, to win the election. (“A Sound of Thunder”, 2005.) This made Travis, the guide, angry because earlier on in the story he warned Eckels that by stepping on one mouse from the past it could possibly lead to the Unites States never even existing in this excerpt:
"All right," Travis continued, "say we accidentally kill one mouse here. That means all the future families of this one particular mouse are destroyed, right?"
"Right"
"And all the families of the families of the families of that one mouse! With a stamp of your foot, you annihilate first one, then a dozen, then a thousand, a million, a billion possible mice!"
"So they're dead," said Eckels. "So what?"
"So what?" Travis snorted quietly. "Well, what about the foxes that'll need tho...


... middle of paper ...


...ration, 11 Sept. 2011. Web. 10 Dec. 2011. .
Kehr, Dave. "Movie Review - The Butterfly Effect - FILM REVIEW; A Man With a Past Best Forgotten Goes to All Lengths to Remember - NYTimes.com." Movie Reviews, Showtimes and Trailers - Movies - New York Times - The New York Times. The New York Times Company, 23 Jan. 2004. Web. 10 Dec. 2011. .
O'Connel, David. "Frequency Film Review." Screen Fanatic. On Topic Media PTY LTD, 21 Nov. 2008. Web. 13 Dec. 2011.
Taylor, Andy. "Andy's Anachronisms -- A Sound of Thunder by Ray Bradbury." Andy's Anachronisms -- Time Travel Reviews. A. Taylor, 18 Aug. 2005. Web. 15 Dec. 2011. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Science Fiction: the Art of the Possible in Ray Bradbury's Sound of Thunder

- ... “‘Today, before our journey, we sent Lesperance here back with the Machine. He came to this particular era and followed certain animals... Time doesn't permit that sort of mess-­a man meeting himself...You felt the Machine jump just before we stopped. That was us passing ourselves on the way back to the Future. We saw nothing’”. Trip after trip back in time, all of the passengers were searching for a thrill. While doing so, they observed a whole new world. These individuals discovered knowledge on both their time and the time of the dinosaurs....   [tags: science fiction, time travel, safari]

Strong Essays
1103 words (3.2 pages)

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly Essay

- The Butterfly Diving Bell sits on my bedside table . It was a busy day when I finished and I'm struggling with how to express my appreciation for the best of the author , Jean - Dominique Bauby . As a beautiful French dessert , each crafted wonderful phrases should be savored. Posted by Bauby bears a sense of humor combined with depression that required for reading and slow digestion . He must have been a Morrissey fan . For those who are not familiar with Mr. Bauby , he was a former general editor of Elle magazine Parisian version ....   [tags: The Diving Bell and the Butterfly]

Free Essays
995 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about The Butterfly Effect

- THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT Director: Eric Bress Actors: Ashton Kutcher, Amy Smart Year: 2004 The concept the movie’s based on is that something so small as the fluttering of a butterfly's wings could result into something big. Every time he changes just a small detail in the past, it has dramatic effects later on in the future. The film begins with a scene where Evan Treborn protagonised by Ashton Kutcher is hiding under a desk writing a note, explaining that if there were anything to save her life, we would do it....   [tags: movie analysis, ashton kutcher]

Strong Essays
2067 words (5.9 pages)

The Butterfly Effect Essay

- The “Butterfly Effect” is a metaphor that encapsulates the concept of sensitive dependence on initial conditions in the chaos theory; namely that small differences in the initial condition of a dynamic system may produce large variations in the long term behavior of the system. This is a great theory that can be applied to specific aspects of life and life in general. I believe it can be applied to my life in the sense that every event that has occurred in my life; big, small, good or bad. I would not change anything, because they all came together to bring me to where I am today....   [tags: Personal Experience]

Strong Essays
735 words (2.1 pages)

The Butterfly Effect Essay

- The Butterfly Effect If you hold a piece of string between your hands you have an "end" in each hand, but in more ways than one each end can also be called a beginning: The beginning of the string, the beginning of the transition from string to hand, or the beginning of the transition from string to air. Quantum physics has taught us that nothing is absolutely any one thing. The string--be it nylon, hemp, or cotton--has electrons, and those electrons, busy critters, move, flux, and orbit, constantly redefining the space of that piece of string....   [tags: Personal Narrative Essays]

Free Essays
786 words (2.2 pages)

THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT Essay

- “Butterfly Effect” was perhaps one of the best films I have ever seen. I found it mysterious, interesting and fascinating. I wanted to write my reaction paper about “Butterfly Effect” because of the similarity to the film we saw in class called “Donnie Darko”. Both films investigate the issue of destiny thoroughly. Both film had a male character that has memories, dreams or black outs which make them at first confused. But later on, they realized the power they have in order to change their destiny....   [tags: essays research papers]

Strong Essays
718 words (2.1 pages)

Essay about Excessive Themes in David Henry Hwang's M. Butterfly

- Excessive Themes in David Henry Hwang's M. Butterfly It has been said that the mind is the theatre of conflict. But what happens when perceptions clash and heads butt. In the play M. Butterfly, by David Henry Hwang, he uses the title as his primary metaphor, but he convolutes the play by having too many themes working around it which can distort the reaction of the audience. The tenor is the butterfly and the vehicle is the M, now the problem with this is that the tenor and the vehicle imply too many things, making it far too abstract to make a clear description of reality....   [tags: Hwang M. Butterfly Essays]

Strong Essays
1290 words (3.7 pages)

Film Review: The Butterfly Effect Essay

- Film Review: The Butterfly Effect This turbulent quest for identity is ideal for those seeking a deep and eerie brain teaser with not just twists, but smart twists. Rather like the mood of Donnie Darko but lacking real quality of its actors it's a long course of tragedies experienced by the adolescent Evan Trebhorn who has had a pretty tough life. All in all he has been molested as a boy, has participated in serious teen vandalism and has watched his dog burned to death whilst he is hit by a large wooden plank....   [tags: Free Essays]

Free Essays
379 words (1.1 pages)

Essay on Butterfly Effect Movie Review

- Movie Review of The Butterfly Effect It’s not everyday that one may watch a film that can be categorized in all of the genres of drama, thriller, sci-fi, and love. However, in J. Mackye Gruber and Eric Bress’s movie, The Butterfly Effect, they do just that. Throughout the film, a young man, Evan Treborn, played by Ashton Kutcher, who like his institutionalized dad before him, has memory blackouts that he must deal with. After several years had passed, Evan discovers a supernatural technique to alter his entire life and find his vanished and harrowing memories....   [tags: essays research papers fc]

Strong Essays
948 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Butterfly Effect in Bone

- Directed and written by Eric Bress and J. Mackye Gruber, the movie “Butterfly Effect” is about a young man (Kutcher) who blacks out harmfull memories of significant events of his life. As he grows up he finds a way to remember these lost memories and a supernatural way to alter his life. This movie teaches a simple lesson about life: one little thing in the past can change the whole outcome of life later. The book Bonesetter’s Daughter, by Amy Tan, also has something to do with past, as it is narrated by two people, mother and daughter, who talk about themselves, constantly referring back to the memories of their childhood....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
1253 words (3.6 pages)