Essay about Bryan Bartlett's Life and Accomplishments

Essay about Bryan Bartlett's Life and Accomplishments

Length: 1012 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Between the 1921, APFA (American Professional Football Association) season and the 2013, NFL (National Football League) season, more than 125 Green Bay Packers players attempted a pass, and the team had 51 different starting quarterbacks (“Records”). A quarterback is “a back in football who usually lines up immediately behind the center and directs the offense of the team” (“Quarterback”). Out of all the starting quarterbacks for Green Bay, only two are enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Arnie Herber and Bryan Bartlett “Bart” Starr (“Records”). Born in Montgomery, Alabama in 1934, Starr played for the Crimson Tide in college, and was selected in the 17th round of the 1956 NFL draft by Green Bay, the 200th overall selection. He is known not only for his feats as a quarterback, but also for his involvement in the community, and for being an excellent role model. The preeminent quarterback in Green Bay Packers history is Bart Starr, as evidenced by his passing statistics, playoff success, and many awards.
Bart Starr’s passing statistics confirm that he was an exceptional quarterback during his time with the Packers. Starr completed 1,808 passes for a total of 24,718 yards during his 16 year career with Green Bay (“Bart”). In the history of the Packers, Starr is second in terms of career passing yards to only Brett Favre, a quarterback who started 96 more games than Starr. In addition, Starr led the league three times in completion percentage, and led the league four times in passing percentage, both team records (“Records”). It was truly incredible the amount of success Starr had, but much of it can be attributed to his work ethic and dedication to perfection. Starr’s father was a U.S. Air Force master sergeant, and ran hi...


... middle of paper ...


...l Website of the Green Bay Packers. The Green Bay Packers, 22 Aug. 2013. Web. 09 Mar. 2014.
Hendricks, Martin. "Best Packers Quarterback? Reach for Bart Starr." Jsonline.com. Milwaukee Wisconsin Journal Sentinel, 24 Sept. 2013. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
"History of Rawhide." Rawhide.org. Rawhide Boys Ranch, n.d. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
“Individual Records: Passing.” NFL.com. NFL, 2007. Web. 13 Mar. 2014.
"NFL Career Leaders." Pro-Football-Reference.com. Pro Football Reference, n.d. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
"NFL Legend Bart Starr to Receive 2007 Turn for Peace Award." Anasazi.org. ANASAZI Foundation, n.d. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
"Quarterback." Dictionary.com. Dictionary.com, n.d. Web. 09 Mar. 2014.
"Records & History." Packers.com. The Green Bay Packers, 22 Aug. 2013. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.
Winters, Kelly. "Starr, Bart." Encyclopedia.com. HighBeam Research, 2004. Web. 12 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Just Mercy By Bryan Stevenson

- The novel, Just Mercy, by Bryan Stevenson is an incredible read. In this book, Mr. Stevenson discusses his journey as an attorney for the condemned on death row. He speaks of many of the cases he has taken on, and the people he has represented. One story he focuses on in particular is his case representing Walter McMillian. This man was condemned to death row before he was even convicted of the crime. Mr. Stevenson spends so much time advocating for Walter’s innocence, until one day he is finally released from death row....   [tags: Crime, Criminal justice, Prison, Life imprisonment]

Strong Essays
2281 words (6.5 pages)

The Commencement of W.J. Bryan Essay

- The Commencement of W.J. Bryan In 1905, the first school house was built where William Jennings Bryan Elementary now stands. It was a tiny one-room wooden building, which housed ten boys and girls. There were no screens on the door to keep the mosquitoes out. It was located between a pine thicket and a guava grove, and on each side of the little beaten path to the door, coleus were planted. In 1907, the school opened for the third term. At that time, the school was named Arch Creek District School and still had only 10 students....   [tags: William Jennings Bryan Elementary School Essays]

Free Essays
3577 words (10.2 pages)

The Life and Accomplishments of Louis Pasteur Essay

- The Life and Accomplishments of Louis Pasteur According to the Encyclopedia Britannica (2013) Louis Pasteur was both a chemist and a microbiologist. This human was a man of many great accomplishments who made many contributions to the field of science, technology and medicine. Louis Pasteur was a pioneer of his field and should be greatly respected. Without his contributions we would not have many of the cures to some of the most deadly viruses and diseases. We would also not be able to enjoy a lot of the food and drinks that we consume daily without the threat of possibly becoming sick....   [tags: vaccinutions, pasteurization, science, medicine]

Strong Essays
1367 words (3.9 pages)

Reading Just Mercy By Bryan Stevenson Essay

- By only looking at the title of this biography I assumed that is was another story about incarcerating someone for a crime, and the lawyer works extremely hard to defend their client, and they lose in others they win, but this novel proved me wrong. As an individual pursuing a career in the legal field, reading Just Mercy, by Bryan Stevenson gave me a new outlook on life, learning about true heartache behind bars. I always knew that being on death row was devastating for the ones who are in line waiting to face their death and for their families but after reading these different stories my mindset changed....   [tags: Crime, Criminal justice, Law, Police]

Strong Essays
1386 words (4 pages)

The Life and Accomplishments of Maya Angelou Essays

- The Life and Accomplishments of Maya Angelou Maya Angelou has inspired me in more ways than one, and I had to write about her. When Maya speaks people listen. She has this wisdom that only few have, especially when life wasn’t always great. She turned tragedy into triumph, and helped others in doing so. So, Maya has proven too many women, especially black women that you succeed, even if you have had a child in your teen years. She’s proof that with determination nothing is unattainable. I chose to write the paper as a timeline of Maya Angelou’s life....   [tags: Biography ]

Strong Essays
1735 words (5 pages)

George Barker's Life and Accomplishments Essay

- George Barker was a famous England poet. A quote from one of his poems says it best. “She is a procession no one can follow after” is taken from “A Sonnet to My Mother.” This quote refers to how special George’s mother was to him as his poetry was to the England. George’s poetry was important to the world (Barker 2006). George Barker’s early life began in England. Barker was born on February 26, 1913. He was born in Essex, England. His mother was Irish, and his dad was English. George and his parents were poor and lived in an area of west London....   [tags: english literature, george barker, poetry]

Strong Essays
996 words (2.8 pages)

Comparing and Contrasting the Careers, Views and Accomplishments of William Jennings Bryan and Woodrow Wilson

- Comparing and Contrasting the Careers, Views and Accomplishments of William Jennings Bryan and Woodrow Wilson Two very influential men, Thomas Woodrow Wilson, born 1856, and William Jennings Bryan, born 1860 came onto the scene at one of the most critical points in American history. Thomas Woodrow Wilson was what you would call a late bloomer, yet in his later years that late "bloom" turned out to be a remarkable blossom. In other words, the impact he had on human society was colossal. William Jennings Bryan was a brilliant orator....   [tags: William Jennings Brown Woodrow Wilson Compare cont]

Strong Essays
1338 words (3.8 pages)

Essay on The Life and Accomplishments of Eli Whitney

- The Life and Accomplishments of Eli Whitney Historians believe that one of the greatest pioneers in the birth of automation, American inventor, pioneer, mechanical engineer, and manufacturer Eli Whitney. He is best remembered as the inventor of the cotton gin. He made his first violin when he was only 12. Eli started college when he was 23, in 1788. He left for Georgia and got his first look at cotton business. He graduated from Yale in 1792, and went to Savannah, Georgia to teach and study law....   [tags: Biography Biographies Essays]

Free Essays
846 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on The Life and Accomplishments of Thomas Paine

- The Life and Accomplishments of Thomas Paine Thomas Paine came as a English man who didn't have much of anything, not many friends, not much money, but with the help of others wishing to keep him alive and give him a chance at a new life. Thomas Paine grew from a sick, unshaven, almost penniless, dirty man to a clean shaven man who helped band thousands of Englishmen together to fight for Independence. Thomas Paine was born in England on January 29, 1737. Paine travelled to American 1774, He landed, then went to Pennsylvania....   [tags: Biography Biographies Essays]

Strong Essays
894 words (2.6 pages)

Accomplishments Essay

- During my life I had some accomplishments. But, I will tell you the truth I cannot call them as my great accomplishments. At this point of my life I had the two greatest events. My first event was my high school graduation. The second event, which was the biggest and the most unforgettable was my wedding day. First event that I accomplished was when I got my high school diploma. Even though finishing high school was not an easy task for me, those days were the best moments of my life. I always knew that if I would finish high school and then hold the diploma in my hands I would always make my parents and of course feel very proud....   [tags: Personal Narrative, Informative]

Free Essays
323 words (0.9 pages)