Body Piercings Essay

Body Piercings Essay

Length: 1173 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Body piercings have been around since before Biblical times and even earlier. Body piercings have a very interesting and vast history. The piercing methods have been used for a very long time. There are many different types of bodily piercings that a person can get. The purpose of this paper is to inform the reader about the history of body piercings, popular types of body piercings, modern day piercing, and facts about body piercings.
Body piercings originated in the Middle East around 4000 years ago. The earliest known form of piercing was the nose piercing. Mogul Emperors brought piercings to India in the 16th Century. Ayurveda, which is a traditional medicinal practice native to India, believed that piercing the left nostril of a woman acted as an acupuncture to ease the pain of child birth (Painful Pleasures Inc.). The art of body piercing was also practiced in parts of Africa. The size of the nose ring in African tribes signified the wealth of the family. After a marriage the husband gave the wife a nose ring, which was security in case of a divorce. In ancient times, piercings have also denoted socio-political status. Body piercings mainly represented some kind of social status. Septum and nipple piercings was a mark of the strength and power of a Roman gladiator. Figures like the Pharaoh were the only ones allowed to have belly button piercings, to showcase their God-like status. The Bible mentions body piercings as well. Body jewelry was a symbol of wealth and beauty in the Old Testament. Back then, anyone of a low social status who had a piercing was punished or even executed (WATConsult).
There are many different types of body piercings. The most common types are ear piercings, nose piercings, and lip piercings. The n...


... middle of paper ...


...nt body piercings a person can get. This paper informed the reader of the history of body piercings, the popular types of body piercings, modern day body piercings, and facts about body piercings.



Works Cited

Guiness World Records Limited. Guiness World Records 2014. London: Guiness World Records, 2013. Print.
Martell, Arlene. How Body Piercing Works- the Ins and Outs of this Cutting Edge Process. 25 August 2008. Web. 9 February 2014.
National Conference of State Legislatures. Tatoos and Body Piercings for Minors. 2012. Web. 10 February 2014.
Northwestern University. Body Piercing Statistics. 1 January 2014. Web. 10 February 2014.
Painful Pleasures Inc. History of Body Piercings. 2013. Web. 9 February 2014.
Typesofpiercings. A List of The Different Types of Piercings. 2012. Web. 9 February 2014.
WATConsult. How Body Piercings Evolved? 2014. Web. 9 February 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Body Piercings Essay

- Body piercings have been around since before Biblical times and even earlier. Body piercings have a very interesting and vast history. The piercing methods have been used for a very long time. There are many different types of bodily piercings that a person can get. The purpose of this paper is to inform the reader about the history of body piercings, popular types of body piercings, modern day piercing, and facts about body piercings. Body piercings originated in the Middle East around 4000 years ago....   [tags: social issues, india]

Strong Essays
1173 words (3.4 pages)

Body Modifications: Tattoos and Body Piercings Essay

- How far is too far when it comes to body modifications, such as tattooing and body piercing. Until those who tattoo and pierce to excess, realize the stigma they are placing on the art, the United States government should regulate where and to what degree tattoo artists can legally tattoo or pierce. To answer the question of why people tattoo, one would have to look back to how the early civilization made a living and their opinions on the world around them. Prehistoric people may have been the first to mark the human body for practical purposes....   [tags: Health ]

Strong Essays
1800 words (5.1 pages)

Tattoos, Body Piercings, and Other Body Modifications Essay

- “The colors and pictures we apply to our skin communicate our values and aspirations as well as our hopes and personal histories. Even when we adopt the “natural look” and don't adorn our skin at all, we are making a social statement. Our skin talks even when we don't; it is not a neutral canvas.” (Jablonski, 164) We as a species are obsessed with our appearance and are equally preoccupied with altering it to our own varied desires. Each person wants nothing less than perfection, but each has an unique idea of what that means....   [tags: body modification practices]

Strong Essays
2758 words (7.9 pages)

Essay on Losing Touch with the True Meaning of Body Piercings

- ... Piercings do not only harm the skin, but they can harm an individual’s thought process and decision making as well. Piercings have significant negative effects on an individual’s mental state. In The Journal of Nervous and Mental disease, it was cited that self –mutilation “occurs in such culturally sanctioned practices as tattooing; body piercing; and healing, spiritual, and order-preserving rituals” (Favazza et. Al 1). Individuals that receive piercings often undergo the process in order to relieve stress, guilt, and boredom (Favazza et....   [tags: modern fads, socially accepted self mutilation]

Strong Essays
1440 words (4.1 pages)

Essay about Tattoos vs. Body Piercings

- Tattoos vs. Body Piercings Your 18th birthday is one of the most important birthdays. You are finally of legal age to get a tattoo or a body piercing. The difficult question you now face is which one do you choose. You would love either, so the decision is mainly based on the expense, aftercare, permanence, and the pain of each. Both are great ways of self-expression but body piercing is an overall better idea. The aftercare of a tattoo is complex for the first couple of weeks. The tattoo cannot be soaked in water for 7-10 days, it cannot be exposed to the sun for 2-3 weeks, and it is detrimental that the skin is not picked or scratched in the area around the tattoo also....   [tags: Compare Contrast]

Strong Essays
807 words (2.3 pages)

Freedom of Self- Expression: Tattoos and Body Piercings at 16 Should be Permitted

- Most parents would agree that children should have permission to get tattoos and body piercings. I believe that teens should have the authority to get them on our own. The current Texas law states that any person under the age of 18 must have parental permission before getting a tattoo or any body piercing. Identification is required to verify the persons age. I feel that by the age of 16, any student should have the authority to express themselves in a way such as tattoos and body piercings. There are various aspects through which people, especially youth, identify themselves....   [tags: rhetorical essay, rhetoric]

Strong Essays
1234 words (3.5 pages)

Tattoos Should Be Allowed in the Workplace Essays

- In today’s world there are several occupations one may choose from once receiving an education. Whether a person wants to be a doctor, a teacher, or a business person, one should be able to use their education to gain access to that job. Getting a job is no easy task, for there are many people who are also searching for that same job. Employers will interview many people just to find the right one and often times will have many stand-out applications to evaluate. When it comes down to making a decision, something as simple as having a tattoo could ruin every hope one has of getting the job....   [tags: body piercings]

Strong Essays
1506 words (4.3 pages)

Essay Perception of Body Ormanatation in Culture

- Body art and ornamentation is something that has been with us for centuries. All cultures in the world relate to some form body art and ornamentation. Body art and ornamentation is basically visual and as such for one to understand the message being communicated it is imperative that one understands symbolic representations of the culture in question. Previous studies on the topic body art and ornamentation have shown both differences and similarities in regard to meaning, perception as well as differences on the part of the body found....   [tags: tattoos, body art, ornamentation, piercings]

Strong Essays
1652 words (4.7 pages)

Body Modification Essay

- Body Modification: A Rising Sensation A heavily tattooed woman pinched my nose and picked up a gargantuan needle with her other hand. “Whoa...hold on,” I muttered. “What’s the matter?” “You have got to be kidding me. You can’t pierce me with that!” “Uh...why not?” “It’s waaaay too big. You can’t just take a chopstick and jab a hole into my face with it...” “Listen...do you want this piercing or not. I have a whole line of people waiting outside to be in this chair.” I stared in horror at the fearsome needle taunting me to challenge its glinting tip....   [tags: Body Piercings Essays]

Free Essays
800 words (2.3 pages)

Essay on Tattoos And Piercings Should Be Accepted

- In the United States around 40% of millennials (ages 18-29) have at least one tattoo, while about 25% have piercings in places other than their ears. Through time people have been proceeding with body modifications because of cultural, or religious rituals. Now, it is seen as a normal coming of age experience that the younger generations have accepted. Therefore, the modern age has begun to grow more willing to show proudly their body modifications in public and employment settings. Tattoos and piercings should be accepted in a professional setting, lifting the restrictions of employment based off of appearance....   [tags: Employment, Body modification, Tattoo, Sociology]

Strong Essays
922 words (2.6 pages)