Black September's Attacks on the 1972 Munich Games Essay

Black September's Attacks on the 1972 Munich Games Essay

Length: 588 words (1.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Good Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

A terrifying scene happened on Wednesday, September 6th 1972 in Munich, West Germany. A gang of Arab terrorists named Black September was a palestinian Liberation Organization (ABC News). The Black September broke into the Olympic village and started to fire their weapons at the Israelis. After 18 hours in a shootout with German police, 11 members of Israel's Olympic team and 4 Arab terrorists were killed along with police. Many were injured. For example, helicopter pilots. The games were meant to be a inocent ancient tridation but the Black September made the truth come out. The Munich Games enforced the anti-semitic views the Nazi party held.
The Nazi party became stronger when Hitler came into power. Hitler was an extremely smart man who used insidious tactics to get what he wanted. For example, using propaganda and persuading others to keep him in power by promising them safety/protection. Hitler kept his racist opinion secret while hosting the Summer Olympics in Berlin on August 1936. The nazi regime used the Games to impress many foreign leaders and journalists with an image of...

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Terrorist Attacks Of September 11 Essay

- The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 were horrific and traumatic events that affected not only the United States but had global ramifications as well. The events of that day produced immediate and long term effects on numerous aspects of society. The human tragedy in the loss of human life was immeasurable. The societal effects of 9/11 continue to be present even today as the war against terror continues. It is difficult to measure the societal impacts, but the economic cost of the attacks, have been and continue to be measured....   [tags: September 11 attacks, United States, September 11]

Good Essays
724 words (2.1 pages)

The Terrorist Attacks Of September 11th Essay

- In the beginning of issue guide it summarizes the Terrorist attacks of September 11th. How it sets off of a chain of events and questionable efforts to deal with what occurred that day. The article explains after the attacks on the world trade center, our nation lost comfort in thinking our state of security was actually secure, that we were vulnerable. The government gave a false impression to citizens that to overcome what happened that day was to come together, to show the strength and our allegiance to the U.S....   [tags: Terrorism, September 11 attacks, Al-Qaeda]

Good Essays
1077 words (3.1 pages)

The Bombing Of The September 2001 Terror Attacks Essay

- Initially the text opens up painting a scene of the morning of the September 2001 Terror Attacks. It mentions how terrorists coordinated various hijackings of aircraft across the country and used it to attack various landmarks such as the World Trade Centers and the Pentagon. As it continued it mentioned how investigators attempted to connect the various pieces together to determine what caused these attacks to occur and who performed them. It was found that if various departments had communicated more effectively such as the FBI and the CIA, then there was a potential for these attacks to be averted all together....   [tags: September 11 attacks, World Trade Center]

Good Essays
719 words (2.1 pages)

The Effects Of Flashbulb Memory And The September 11 Attacks Essay

- Flashbulb memory is when a person learns or experiences a very surprising and emotional arousing events (Matlin, 155). As it is a long lasting memory that people report vivid details about a traumatic event, it has been the subjects of recent scientific studies. Recent findings have mentioned a relationship between flashbulb memory and the September 11, 2001 attack. An article published in the American Psychological Association entitled “Seared in Our Memories” written by Bridget Murray Law analyzes different studies on the topic to explore how accurate people vividly remember about the 9/11 attack, and on how much is accurate or fabricated through various encounters....   [tags: World Trade Center, September 11 attacks]

Good Essays
1258 words (3.6 pages)

Essay on The September 11th Attacks On The World Trade Centers

- We 've all heard the infamous story about the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Centers in New York City. Many of these are theories, facts, and maybe even lies. The official story is one that is very cold and gruesome. On September 11, 2001, 19 militants associated with the Islamic extremist group "Al-Qaeda" hijacked four airlines and carried out suicide attacks in the United States (9/11). Over 3,100 people were killed during the attacks in New York, and Washington D.C. including more than 450 police officers and firefighters....   [tags: September 11 attacks, Al-Qaeda, Osama bin Laden]

Good Essays
1478 words (4.2 pages)

The Threat Of The Terrorist Attacks Of September 11th, 2001, By George W. Bush

- Claim Analysis - This isn 't a 'legal ' matter, this is war After the terrorist attacks of September 11th, 2001 there was an uproar of negative attitudes and hatred toward people living in the Middle East. Racism towards people who practiced Islam and participated in the wearing of head coverings called "Hijab" was everywhere you looked. The families of victims of the attacks had good reason to be upset and wanting to avenge their family member that perished in the World Trade Center, Pentagon, or United Airlines Flight 93....   [tags: United States, Al-Qaeda, September 11 attacks]

Good Essays
1092 words (3.1 pages)

Zero Dark Thirty : Documentary Based Film On The September 2001 Terrorist Attacks

- Zero Dark Thirty is a documentary based film on the September 2001 terrorist attacks. The majority of this movie Takes place in the Middle East where the CIA in stationed and trying to find the whereabouts of Osama Bin-Laden.The search is led by Maya, a CIA agent who, at first, seems a bit squeamish. There have been countless representations of this historical event including photographs and films. I personally think a film can get the point across that the author is trying to portray better than a stationary photograph....   [tags: September 11 attacks, Osama bin Laden, Terrorism]

Good Essays
1112 words (3.2 pages)

Essay on Who to Blame for the September 11 Attacks

- The event that occurred on September 11, 2001 was a tragic and heartbreaking scene for the American people. Americans were distraught and an outbreak of fear and devastation swept the nation. Conspiracies have alluded to blaming the government for this catastrophe; however, some controversies put the sole blame on George W. Bush. Many Americans used him as a scapegoat due to emotional instability or timorous feelings towards the attacks. In response to the attacks that took place on September 11, 2001, George W....   [tags: twin towers, terrorist attacks, george bush]

Good Essays
1852 words (5.3 pages)

The Day Of September, 2001 Essay

- The 11th day of September, 2001 was not just any ordinary day. It was an annihilating day for both me and my country. That day symbolized the burial of my grandfather, who died the week prior. My grandfather, played a fundamental role in my life. He encouraged me both spiritually and educationally. This is also the day that the Islamic terrorist group Al-Qaeda decided to attack the United States. They achieved the attack, though the hijacking of four planes; this caused the complete destruction of the Twin Towers (North and South) of the World Trade Center located in New York City....   [tags: September 11 attacks, World Trade Center]

Good Essays
1043 words (3 pages)

Essay on The September 11th Terroritst Attacks

- First shock, then terror, followed by sorrow and lastly rage were my emotions on September 11th, 2001 when a hijacked airliner crashed into the Twin Towers in New York City. Tunh. Tunh. Tunh. All circuits are busy; please try again at a later time. This message kept repeating as I tried to call my cousin in New York, who was working in the South Tower. At the time the American Airlines flight 11 just moments earlier crashed into the North Tower. I sat in my house in shock and terror. Then at 9:05 am, about twenty minutes after the first collision, United Airlines flight 175 crashed into the South Tower....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1078 words (3.1 pages)